Pharmacist CE requirements by state
How pharmacists renew in each state: cycle, deadline basis, continuing education hours, and mandated topics. 43 of 51 jurisdictions verified so far; the rest are coming soon and are not estimated.
Jump to a state for pharmacists
Verified states
| State | Renewal | Deadline | CE per cycle | Mandated topics | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 30 contact hours | Immunization related continuing education; Consultant pharmacist live continuing education; Parenteral (sterile compounding) renewal training; Preceptor training; Nuclear pharmacy continuing education | September 10, 2026 |
| Alaska | Two-year | Board-specific schedule | 30 contact hours | Continuing education specific to immunizations or vaccines; Training on the use of an opioid overdose drug | September 10, 2026 |
| Arkansas | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 30 contact hours | None listed | September 10, 2026 |
| California | Two-year | Not stated by the board | 30 contact hours | Cultural competency and humility course; Board provided law webinar; Board provided ethics webinar; Advanced pharmacist practitioner continuing education | September 10, 2026 |
| Colorado | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 24 contact hours | None listed | September 10, 2026 |
| Connecticut | Annual | Same date for every licensee | 15 contact hours | Pharmacy law or drug law | September 10, 2026 |
| Delaware | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 30 contact hours | Medication safety and errors; Controlled substances distribution, dispensing or delivery, or recognition of impairment and dependency; Administering injectable medications, biologicals and adult immunizations | September 10, 2026 |
| Florida | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 30 contact hours | Medication errors; Controlled substances; HIV and AIDS; Human trafficking; Safe and effective administration of vaccines and epinephrine autoinjection; Collaborative pharmacy practice; Testing and treatment of minor, nonchronic health conditions | September 10, 2026 |
| Georgia | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 30 contact hours | None listed | September 10, 2026 |
| Idaho | Two-year | Tied to the licensee's birth date | Required, hours not stated | None listed | September 11, 2026 |
| Illinois | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 30 contact hours | Pharmacy law; Implicit bias awareness training; Sexual harassment prevention training; Immunization related continuing pharmacy education | September 11, 2026 |
| Indiana | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 30 contact hours | None listed | September 11, 2026 |
| Iowa | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 30 contact hours | Child abuse identification and reporting (mandatory reporter training); Dependent adult abuse identification and reporting (mandatory reporter training) | September 11, 2026 |
| Kansas | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 30 clock hours | Continuing education course provided by the board; Cardiopulmonary resuscitation certification | September 11, 2026 |
| Kentucky | Annual | Same date for every licensee | 1.5 CEUs (15 contact hours) | The opioid epidemic or opioid use disorder | September 11, 2026 |
| Louisiana | Annual | Same date for every licensee | 1.5 CEUs (15 contact hours) | Continuing pharmacy education related to medication administration | September 11, 2026 |
| Maine | Annual | Same date for every licensee | 15 contact hours | Board-approved courses on drug administration; Continuing education in the areas of practice covered by the collaborative practice agreement | September 11, 2026 |
| Maryland | Two-year | Tied to the licensee's birth month | 30 contact hours | Preventing medication errors, such as appropriate dispensing of opioids; CE credits related to vaccinations; Implicit bias and structural racism training | September 10, 2026 |
| Massachusetts | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 40 contact hours | Pharmacy law; Sterile compounding; Complex non-sterile compounding; Immunizations | September 11, 2026 |
| Michigan | Two-year | Tied to the original issue date | 30 contact hours | Pharmacy ethics and pharmacy law; Pain and symptom management; Implicit bias training; Training identifying victims of human trafficking; Opioids and other controlled substances awareness training | September 11, 2026 |
| Minnesota | Annual | Same date for every licensee | 30 contact hours every two years | Continuing education specified by the board to maintain pharmacist prescribing authority | September 11, 2026 |
| Mississippi | Annual | Same date for every licensee | 15 contact hours | Opioid abuse and prevention or another drug of abuse or addiction related issue | September 11, 2026 |
| Montana | Annual | Same date for every licensee | 1.5 CEUs (15 contact hours) | Current basic cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) certification | September 11, 2026 |
| Nebraska | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 30 contact hours | None listed | September 11, 2026 |
| Nevada | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 30 contact hours | Nevada pharmacy law continuing education; Life cycle of diseases, drugs and administration of immunizations; Certification in basic life support | September 11, 2026 |
| New Hampshire | Two-year | Tied to the original issue date | 30 contact hours | Current basic or higher cardiopulmonary resuscitation certification | September 11, 2026 |
| New Mexico | Two-year | Tied to the licensee's birth month | 3 CEUs (30 contact hours) | Patient safety as applicable to the practice of pharmacy; Pharmacy law offered by the New Mexico board of pharmacy; Safe and appropriate use of opioids; Pharmacist clinician continuing education for biennial registration renewal; Responsible opioid prescribing practices | September 10, 2026 |
| New York | Three-year | Tied to the licensee's birth month | 45 contact hours | Processes and strategies that may be used to reduce medication and prescription errors; Pharmaceutical compounding; Continuing education in areas of practice related to collaborative drug therapy management protocols | September 10, 2026 |
| North Carolina | Annual | Same date for every licensee | 15 contact hours | Clinical Pharmacist Practitioner practice relevant continuing education | September 10, 2026 |
| Ohio | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 3 CEUs (30 contact hours) | Pharmacy jurisprudence; Patient or medication safety | September 10, 2026 |
| Oklahoma | Annual | Tied to the licensee's birth month | 15 clock hours | None listed | September 10, 2026 |
| Oregon | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 30 contact hours | Pharmacy law; Patient safety or medication error prevention; Cultural competency; Pain management, provided by the Pain Management Commission of the Oregon Health Authority | September 10, 2026 |
| Pennsylvania | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 30 contact hours | Patient Safety, ACPE topic designator; Child abuse recognition and reporting; Administration of injectable medications, biologicals and immunizations | September 10, 2026 |
| Rhode Island | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 15 contact hours every year | Law, as classified by ACPE; Continuing education in the area of immunizations; Current basic cardiopulmonary resuscitation training; Board approved continuing education in areas of practice related to collaborative practice agreements | September 10, 2026 |
| South Carolina | Annual | Same date for every licensee | 15 contact hours | Approved procedures for monitoring controlled substances in Schedules II, III, and IV; Drug therapy or patient management; Administration of vaccinations; Hormonal contraceptives, Pharmacy Access Protocol | September 10, 2026 |
| South Dakota | Annual | Same date for every licensee | 12 contact hours every two years | Continuing education related to immunizations; Certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation | September 10, 2026 |
| Tennessee | Two-year | Tied to the original issue date | 30 contact hours | Educational training on the prescribing of hormonal contraceptives | September 10, 2026 |
| Texas | Two-year | Tied to the licensee's birth month | 30 contact hours | Texas pharmacy laws or rules; Human trafficking prevention training; Approved procedures of prescribing and monitoring controlled substances; Continuing education in disease states, drugs, and administration of immunizations or vaccinations; Current Basic Cardiac Life Support for Health-Care Providers certification; Pharmacist preceptor training | September 10, 2026 |
| Utah | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 30 contact hours | Pharmacy law or ethics; Disease state management and drug therapy, AIDS therapy, patient safety, or immunizations; Vaccine related topics; Administration of prescription drugs or devices; Hormonal contraceptive therapy | September 10, 2026 |
| Virginia | Annual | Same date for every licensee | 15 contact hours | None listed | September 10, 2026 |
| Washington | Two-year | Tied to the licensee's birth date | 30 contact hours | Training in suicide screening and referral; Health equity training | September 10, 2026 |
| West Virginia | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 30 contact hours | Drug diversion training and best practice prescribing of controlled substances; Continuing pharmacy education related to immunizations; Current basic life support certification including CPR | September 10, 2026 |
| Wisconsin | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 30 contact hours | None listed | September 10, 2026 |
Coming soon
8 jurisdictions are coming soon for pharmacists.
- Arizona
- District of Columbia
- Hawaii
- Missouri
- New Jersey
- North Dakota
- Vermont
- Wyoming