Skip to main content
CredNet

Alabama Pharmacist license renewal and CE requirements

Alabama pharmacists must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Alabama State Board of Pharmacy.

Pharmacist licenses renew biennially in even numbered years and expire December 31 of that year. Renewal is submitted through the board's Gateway licensing portal.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Same date for every licensee
CE per cycle
30
contact hours
Mandated topics
5
required subjects
Last verified
September 10, 2026
12 days ago

Summary

Alabama pharmacists must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Alabama State Board of Pharmacy. Pharmacist licenses renew biennially in even numbered years and expire December 31 of that year. Renewal is submitted through the board's Gateway licensing portal. Alabama also mandates specific subjects. Immunization related continuing education: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle (pharmacists who administer immunizations). Consultant pharmacist live continuing education: 8 contact hours every renewal cycle (pharmacists holding consultant certification). Parenteral (sterile compounding) renewal training: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle (pharmacists holding parenteral certification). Preceptor training: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle (board approved preceptors). Nuclear pharmacy continuing education: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle (pharmacists certified in nuclear pharmacy).

Alabama Pharmacist renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineSame date for every licensee, 12/31 each cycleFirst renewal is prorated.
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle30 contact hours
Live or interactive minimum6 contact hours
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNot stated
First renewal exemptNot stated
Other accepted activitiesDistance based programs, video, or publications (for the non-live portion of the 30 hours); Attending a board meeting in person or virtually, 1 live hour per meeting, maximum 3 live hours per year for pharmacists

Pharmacists complete 30 hours of continuing education each two year renewal cycle, of which at least 6 hours must be live (in person or a real time virtual session, not pre-recorded). Hours may be earned at any point in the two year cycle; there is no annual minimum. CE must be approved by the board in advance, or be an ACPE or ACCME approved course with an assigned program number. The first renewal is reduced: a pharmacist licensed for one full calendar year completes 15 hours including 3 live hours, and a pharmacist licensed for less than one full calendar year owes no CE for the first renewal. Reinstatement after a lapse of up to five years requires 15 hours for each lapsed calendar year. The board did not state a carryover allowance or a cap on distance based hours beyond the 6 hour live floor.

Required CE topics for Alabama pharmacists

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Immunization related continuing educationThe board does not issue an immunization certification; any licensed pharmacist with adequate training may immunize, and those who do must complete 2 hours of immunization related CE each renewal cycle.2 contact hoursEvery renewalpharmacists who administer immunizationsNot stated
Consultant pharmacist live continuing educationEight live hours each renewal cycle. The board accepts any ACPE accredited live CE related to the practice of pharmacy. Separate from the 8 hour initial consultant certification course and examination.8 contact hoursEvery renewalpharmacists holding consultant certificationNot stated
Parenteral (sterile compounding) renewal trainingTwo hours of board approved CE per renewal cycle that includes a hands on component; a media fill or gloved fingertip test may satisfy one hour. Documentation retained at least 2 years for audit.2 contact hoursEvery renewalpharmacists holding parenteral certificationNot stated
Preceptor trainingTwo hours of board approved preceptor training each renewal cycle, waived for full time pharmacy school faculty who receive approved curriculum credit.2 contact hoursEvery renewalboard approved preceptorsCode of Ala. 34-23-73
Nuclear pharmacy continuing educationAt least 2 hours of nuclear pharmacy related CE during each renewal period; nuclear certification renews every two years with the pharmacist license.2 contact hoursEvery renewalpharmacists certified in nuclear pharmacyNot stated

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records for2 years
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersContinuing education must be approved by the board in advance (requests at least 30 calendar days before the course is offered) or be an ACPE or ACCME approved course with an assigned program number. Renewal is by attestation; the board randomly audits CE documentation and a pharmacist has 30 calendar days to produce records on request. The board prefers a consolidated NABP CPE Monitor transcript when documentation is required, for example on reinstatement, but does not state that CPE Monitor is the mandatory reporting channel at renewal.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Alabama RPh/PharmD need to renew?
Alabama pharmacists must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Alabama State Board of Pharmacy. Pharmacists complete 30 hours of continuing education each two year renewal cycle, of which at least 6 hours must be live (in person or a real time virtual session, not pre-recorded). Hours may be earned at any point in the two year cycle; there is no annual minimum. CE must be approved by the board in advance, or be an ACPE or ACCME approved course with an assigned program number. The first renewal is reduced: a pharmacist licensed for one full calendar year completes 15 hours including 3 live hours, and a pharmacist licensed for less than one full calendar year owes no CE for the first renewal. Reinstatement after a lapse of up to five years requires 15 hours for each lapsed calendar year. The board did not state a carryover allowance or a cap on distance based hours beyond the 6 hour live floor.
How often does a Alabama RPh/PharmD license need to be renewed?
Pharmacist licenses in Alabama renew every two years. Pharmacist licenses renew biennially in even numbered years and expire December 31 of that year. Renewal is submitted through the board's Gateway licensing portal.
What specific CE topics are required for Alabama pharmacists?
Immunization related continuing education: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle (pharmacists who administer immunizations). Consultant pharmacist live continuing education: 8 contact hours every renewal cycle (pharmacists holding consultant certification). Parenteral (sterile compounding) renewal training: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle (pharmacists holding parenteral certification). Preceptor training: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle (board approved preceptors). Nuclear pharmacy continuing education: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle (pharmacists certified in nuclear pharmacy). Citations: preceptor training (Code of Ala. 34-23-73).
Do Alabama pharmacists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 2 years. Continuing education must be approved by the board in advance (requests at least 30 calendar days before the course is offered) or be an ACPE or ACCME approved course with an assigned program number. Renewal is by attestation; the board randomly audits CE documentation and a pharmacist has 30 calendar days to produce records on request. The board prefers a consolidated NABP CPE Monitor transcript when documentation is required, for example on reinstatement, but does not state that CPE Monitor is the mandatory reporting channel at renewal.

Sources

Last verified September 10, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

The 30 hour total, the 6 live hour minimum, the first renewal reduction and the biennial December 31 even year expiration were all read on the board's own site (the Pharmacist page and the FAQ, which cites Code of Ala. 34-23-52 and Ala. Admin. Code 680-X-2-.36). The two year retention period, the random audit and the 30 day response window come from the text of 680-X-2-.36 read on the Cornell LII mirror, cited as third party because the state's own administrative code site (admincode.legislature.state.al.us) renders as a JavaScript application and serves rule text only as PDF, which was not downloaded. The board states no jurisprudence, opioid, human trafficking or other subject mandate for the base pharmacist license; every topic listed here is tied to a designation or activity layered on the license and is scoped with applies_to. The keys immunization, consultant_pharmacy, sterile_compounding, preceptor_training and nuclear_pharmacy are not on the canonical topic list. Alabama counts contact hours, not CEUs.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Alabama State Board of Pharmacy before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.