Skip to main content
CredNet

Alaska Pharmacist license renewal and CE requirements

Alaska pharmacists must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Alaska Board of Pharmacy (Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing).

Pharmacist licenses renew biennially on a date set by the department. The renewal application, the renewal fee set in 12 AAC 02.310, and an attestation that all continuing education requirements have been met must be submitted on or before the license expiration date.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Board-specific schedule
CE per cycle
30
contact hours
Mandated topics
2
required subjects
Last verified
September 10, 2026
12 days ago

Summary

Alaska pharmacists must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Alaska Board of Pharmacy (Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing). Pharmacist licenses renew biennially on a date set by the department. The renewal application, the renewal fee set in 12 AAC 02.310, and an attestation that all continuing education requirements have been met must be submitted on or before the license expiration date. Alaska also mandates specific subjects. Continuing education specific to immunizations or vaccines: 1 contact hour every renewal cycle (pharmacists who administer vaccines or related emergency medications). Training on the use of an opioid overdose drug: a one-time requirement of 1 contact hour (pharmacists who independently dispense opioid overdose drugs such as naloxone).

Alaska Pharmacist renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineBoard-specific scheduleFirst renewal is prorated.
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle30 contact hours
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNot stated
First renewal exemptNo
Other accepted activitiesPresenting an approved continuing education program, credit for the actual presentation time, once per licensing period per presentation; American Red Cross or American Heart Association CPR certification course, maximum 1 contact hour in a 24 month period

Pharmacists certify 30 contact hours of board accepted continuing education completed during the concluding license period (12 AAC 52.320(a)). At a first renewal the requirement is half of the 30 hours, that is 15 contact hours, for each complete 12 month period the applicant was licensed during the concluding license period (12 AAC 52.320(c)). Pharmacy technicians need only 10 contact hours under 12 AAC 52.325, which is a separate credential and is not reflected here. The board's definitions section, 12 AAC 52.995(10), states that a contact hour is about 50 minutes and that one CEU equals ten contact hours, but Alaska states the pharmacist requirement in contact hours, so no conversion is needed. The regulations state no live or in person minimum, no cap on home study, and no carryover provision. A licensee whose failure to meet the requirement is due to illness or other extenuating circumstances may apply for an alternative schedule under 12 AAC 52.330.

Required CE topics for Alaska pharmacists

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Continuing education specific to immunizations or vaccinesOne hour of ACPE approved CE specific to immunizations or vaccines, counted as part of the 30 contact hours rather than on top of them. Separate from the initial ACPE accredited immunization course and the CPR and AED certification required by 12 AAC 52.992(a).1 contact hourEvery renewalpharmacists who administer vaccines or related emergency medications12 AAC 52.320(e); 12 AAC 52.992(a)(4)
Training on the use of an opioid overdose drugA single training session of one hour of continuing education specific to the use of an opioid overdose drug, completed before the pharmacist first independently dispenses one. The rule describes it as a single session, not a per cycle requirement.1 contact hourOne timepharmacists who independently dispense opioid overdose drugs such as naloxone12 AAC 52.994(a)(1)

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records forNot stated
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersThe board accepts any program from a provider accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education that yields a certificate showing the course date and the ACPE Universal Activity Number, plus Red Cross or American Heart Association CPR courses up to one contact hour per 24 months. Renewal is by attestation. The board randomly audits renewal applications and conducts the audit by accessing continuing pharmacy education data reported to the ACPE and NABP CPE Monitor Service, so CPE Monitor reporting is the board's primary verification channel. On written request the pharmacist must supply completion certificates for any hours not reported to CPE Monitor. Disallowed hours must be made up within 90 days, and the licensee must then supply certificates for the next two licensing periods.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Alaska RPh/PharmD need to renew?
Alaska pharmacists must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Alaska Board of Pharmacy (Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing). Pharmacists certify 30 contact hours of board accepted continuing education completed during the concluding license period (12 AAC 52.320(a)). At a first renewal the requirement is half of the 30 hours, that is 15 contact hours, for each complete 12 month period the applicant was licensed during the concluding license period (12 AAC 52.320(c)). Pharmacy technicians need only 10 contact hours under 12 AAC 52.325, which is a separate credential and is not reflected here. The board's definitions section, 12 AAC 52.995(10), states that a contact hour is about 50 minutes and that one CEU equals ten contact hours, but Alaska states the pharmacist requirement in contact hours, so no conversion is needed. The regulations state no live or in person minimum, no cap on home study, and no carryover provision. A licensee whose failure to meet the requirement is due to illness or other extenuating circumstances may apply for an alternative schedule under 12 AAC 52.330.
How often does a Alaska RPh/PharmD license need to be renewed?
Pharmacist licenses in Alaska renew every two years. Pharmacist licenses renew biennially on a date set by the department. The renewal application, the renewal fee set in 12 AAC 02.310, and an attestation that all continuing education requirements have been met must be submitted on or before the license expiration date.
What specific CE topics are required for Alaska pharmacists?
Continuing education specific to immunizations or vaccines: 1 contact hour every renewal cycle (pharmacists who administer vaccines or related emergency medications). Training on the use of an opioid overdose drug: a one-time requirement of 1 contact hour (pharmacists who independently dispense opioid overdose drugs such as naloxone). Citations: continuing education specific to immunizations or vaccines (12 AAC 52.320(e); 12 AAC 52.992(a)(4)) and training on the use of an opioid overdose drug (12 AAC 52.994(a)(1)).
Do Alaska pharmacists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates and the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation. The board accepts any program from a provider accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education that yields a certificate showing the course date and the ACPE Universal Activity Number, plus Red Cross or American Heart Association CPR courses up to one contact hour per 24 months. Renewal is by attestation. The board randomly audits renewal applications and conducts the audit by accessing continuing pharmacy education data reported to the ACPE and NABP CPE Monitor Service, so CPE Monitor reporting is the board's primary verification channel. On written request the pharmacist must supply completion certificates for any hours not reported to CPE Monitor. Disallowed hours must be made up within 90 days, and the licensee must then supply certificates for the next two licensing periods.
Is the first Alaska RPh/PharmD renewal exempt from CE?
No. Alaska applies the continuing education requirement to the first renewal as well.

Sources

Last verified September 10, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

All values come from the Alaska Administrative Code as published on the legislature's own site, www.akleg.gov, which serves the rule text as HTML through its print view. The board's own pages on www.commerce.alaska.gov return HTTP 403 to automated clients, so board_url is listed as the board's address only and no page there is cited; the specific calendar expiration date the department sets under 12 AAC 52.300(a) therefore could not be read and fixed_deadline_month_day is left null with basis recorded as other. Pharmacist collaborative practice authority under 12 AAC 52.240 was checked and carries no continuing education requirement of its own, only a written protocol filed with the board, so it is not listed as a mandatory topic. The board sets no jurisprudence, human trafficking, implicit bias or law CE requirement for renewal; the Alaska pharmacy jurisprudence examination in 12 AAC 52.098 is an entry requirement, not a renewal requirement. The topic key immunization is not on the canonical list.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Alaska Board of Pharmacy (Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing) before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.