Skip to main content
CredNet

California Pharmacist license renewal and CE requirements

California pharmacists must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the California State Board of Pharmacy.

A pharmacist license renews biennially. The renewal payment must be completed before 5 pm Pacific time on the day the license expires to avoid the delinquency fee, and the license can be renewed online no more than 60 days before it expires. The board mails a renewal postcard about six weeks ahead, but the licensee is responsible for renewing whether or not it arrives. A pharmacist license not renewed within three years of expiration is canceled by operation of law and can only be replaced by passing the licensure examination again.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Not stated by the board
CE per cycle
30
contact hours
Mandated topics
4
required subjects
Last verified
September 10, 2026
12 days ago

Summary

California pharmacists must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the California State Board of Pharmacy. A pharmacist license renews biennially. The renewal payment must be completed before 5 pm Pacific time on the day the license expires to avoid the delinquency fee, and the license can be renewed online no more than 60 days before it expires. The board mails a renewal postcard about six weeks ahead, but the licensee is responsible for renewing whether or not it arrives. A pharmacist license not renewed within three years of expiration is canceled by operation of law and can only be replaced by passing the licensure examination again. California also mandates specific subjects. Cultural competency and humility course: 1 contact hour every renewal cycle. Board provided law webinar: 1 contact hour every renewal cycle. Board provided ethics webinar: 1 contact hour every renewal cycle. Advanced pharmacist practitioner continuing education: 10 contact hours every renewal cycle (pharmacists recognized as advanced pharmacist practitioners). The first renewal is exempt.

California Pharmacist renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineNot stated by the board
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle30 contact hours
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNot stated
First renewal exemptYes

Business and Professions Code 4231(b) bars renewal unless the pharmacist completed 30 hours of approved continuing pharmacy education, including at least one hour of a cultural competency course, during the two years preceding the renewal application. Two of the 30 hours must be the board's own law webinar (1 hour) and ethics webinar (1 hour) under 16 CCR 1732.5(b); both are free on the board's site and need no registration. A pharmacist recognized as an advanced pharmacist practitioner completes 10 hours on top of the 30, a total of 40 per cycle. CE is not required for the first renewal of a pharmacist license or of an advanced pharmacist practitioner recognition (B&P 4231(c)); after the first renewal the two run on the same schedule. A pharmacist renewing as inactive owes no CE, but must show 30 hours completed in the previous two years, including the mandatory subjects, before reactivating. Exemptions are available for full time students in a health professions school and for emergency or hardship, both on written request with supporting documentation. A renewal submitted without a numeric declaration of CE credits produces a CE Inadequate, License Held status and the license is issued inactive until the declaration is corrected. Pharmacy technicians have a separate and much smaller requirement (1 hour of cultural competency CE per two year period under B&P 4202) and are not covered by this record. The board states no live or in person minimum and no cap on home study.

Required CE topics for California pharmacists

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Cultural competency and humility courseRequired of all pharmacists renewing after January 1, 2024, and counted inside the 30 hours. The course must focus on patients who identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, gender nonconforming or queer or who question their sexual orientation or gender identity and expression, be approved by a board approved accreditation agency, cover recognized health disparities faced by Black, Indigenous and people of color, and show how sexual identity is affected through intersectionality. The board provides no course and recommends getting written confirmation from the provider that all four criteria are met, since the board may ask for it on audit.1 contact hourEvery renewalAll licenseesBusiness and Professions Code 4231(a) and 4231(b)
Board provided law webinarOne of the two board provided webinars that together make up 2 of the 30 hours. Free on the board's website, no registration. The board is not an ACPE provider, so this credit is not reported to NABP and does not appear on a CPE Monitor transcript.1 contact hourEvery renewalAll licensees16 CCR 1732.5(b)
Board provided ethics webinarThe second of the two board provided webinars. Both must be viewed to satisfy 16 CCR 1732.5(b). Not required of pharmacy technicians.1 contact hourEvery renewalAll licensees16 CCR 1732.5(b)
Advanced pharmacist practitioner continuing educationTen hours each renewal cycle in addition to the 30 required by section 4231, for a total of 40. The subject matter must be in one or more areas of practice relevant to the pharmacist's clinical practice. Section 4233 was amended by AB 1503 (Stats. 2025, Ch. 196) effective January 1, 2026, which is also when the credential's name changed from advanced practice pharmacist to advanced pharmacist practitioner. New advanced pharmacist practitioners are exempt for their first renewal period.10 contact hoursEvery renewalpharmacists recognized as advanced pharmacist practitionersBusiness and Professions Code 4233

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records for4 years
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersCourses must be approved continuing pharmacy education; the cultural competency course must come from an accreditation agency approved by the board. The board is not an ACPE accredited provider, so its own law, ethics and elective webinars are not reported to NABP and do not appear on a CPE Monitor transcript. The board expressly states it has no access to CE tracking databases including NABP's CPE Activity Monitor, so CPE Monitor is not the verification channel in California. The pharmacist declares the number of CE hours numerically on the renewal application, keeps certificates of completion for four years under 16 CCR 1732.5(e), and produces them if selected for one of the board's routine random audits, which are notified by mail. Failing an audit converts the active license to an inactive license under B&P 4231(e) until proof is supplied.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a California RPh/PharmD need to renew?
California pharmacists must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the California State Board of Pharmacy. Business and Professions Code 4231(b) bars renewal unless the pharmacist completed 30 hours of approved continuing pharmacy education, including at least one hour of a cultural competency course, during the two years preceding the renewal application. Two of the 30 hours must be the board's own law webinar (1 hour) and ethics webinar (1 hour) under 16 CCR 1732.5(b); both are free on the board's site and need no registration. A pharmacist recognized as an advanced pharmacist practitioner completes 10 hours on top of the 30, a total of 40 per cycle. CE is not required for the first renewal of a pharmacist license or of an advanced pharmacist practitioner recognition (B&P 4231(c)); after the first renewal the two run on the same schedule. A pharmacist renewing as inactive owes no CE, but must show 30 hours completed in the previous two years, including the mandatory subjects, before reactivating. Exemptions are available for full time students in a health professions school and for emergency or hardship, both on written request with supporting documentation. A renewal submitted without a numeric declaration of CE credits produces a CE Inadequate, License Held status and the license is issued inactive until the declaration is corrected. Pharmacy technicians have a separate and much smaller requirement (1 hour of cultural competency CE per two year period under B&P 4202) and are not covered by this record. The board states no live or in person minimum and no cap on home study.
How often does a California RPh/PharmD license need to be renewed?
Pharmacist licenses in California renew every two years. A pharmacist license renews biennially. The renewal payment must be completed before 5 pm Pacific time on the day the license expires to avoid the delinquency fee, and the license can be renewed online no more than 60 days before it expires. The board mails a renewal postcard about six weeks ahead, but the licensee is responsible for renewing whether or not it arrives. A pharmacist license not renewed within three years of expiration is canceled by operation of law and can only be replaced by passing the licensure examination again.
What specific CE topics are required for California pharmacists?
Cultural competency and humility course: 1 contact hour every renewal cycle. Board provided law webinar: 1 contact hour every renewal cycle. Board provided ethics webinar: 1 contact hour every renewal cycle. Advanced pharmacist practitioner continuing education: 10 contact hours every renewal cycle (pharmacists recognized as advanced pharmacist practitioners). Citations: cultural competency and humility course (Business and Professions Code 4231(a) and 4231(b)), board provided law webinar (16 CCR 1732.5(b)), board provided ethics webinar (16 CCR 1732.5(b)), and advanced pharmacist practitioner continuing education (Business and Professions Code 4233).
Do California pharmacists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 4 years. Courses must be approved continuing pharmacy education; the cultural competency course must come from an accreditation agency approved by the board. The board is not an ACPE accredited provider, so its own law, ethics and elective webinars are not reported to NABP and do not appear on a CPE Monitor transcript. The board expressly states it has no access to CE tracking databases including NABP's CPE Activity Monitor, so CPE Monitor is not the verification channel in California. The pharmacist declares the number of CE hours numerically on the renewal application, keeps certificates of completion for four years under 16 CCR 1732.5(e), and produces them if selected for one of the board's routine random audits, which are notified by mail. Failing an audit converts the active license to an inactive license under B&P 4231(e) until proof is supplied.
Is the first California RPh/PharmD renewal exempt from CE?
Yes. California does not require continuing education for a RPh/PharmD's first renewal.

Sources

Last verified September 10, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

The 30 hour total, the cultural competency hour, the first renewal exemption and the advanced pharmacist practitioner add on were read both on the board's own continuing education page and in Business and Professions Code sections 4231 and 4233 on leginfo. The biennial cycle is in B&P 4401 and on the board's CE page. What could not be confirmed is the anniversary the expiration date falls on: nothing on the board's pharmacist, renewal or expiration pages, and nothing in B&P 4400 through 4404, states whether a pharmacist license expires in the licensee's birth month or in the month of original issue, so renewal.basis is recorded as unknown rather than guessed. B&P 152.6 leaves license periods and renewal dates to each board in cooperation with the director, which puts the answer in Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations rather than the statute. The board's own renewal application form states it but is a PDF and was not downloaded. The law and ethics webinar requirement sits in 16 CCR 1732.5(b) and the four year retention in 16 CCR 1732.5(e); both were read in the board's restatement on its CE page rather than in the Code of Regulations itself, since California does not serve Title 16 on a state host that answers automated requests. California is unusual in that the board is not an ACPE accredited provider and explicitly has no access to NABP CPE Monitor, so ACPE reporting does not substitute for the licensee's own records. The topic key advanced_practice is not on the canonical list. NAPLEX and the California Practice Standards and Jurisprudence Examination are entry examinations and are not recorded as CE.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the California State Board of Pharmacy before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.