Delaware Pharmacist license renewal and CE requirements
Delaware pharmacists must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Delaware Board of Pharmacy (Division of Professional Regulation).
Pharmacist licenses expire on September 30 of even numbered years and are renewed every two years in DELPROS, the state's online licensure system. A renewal notice goes to the email address on record a few months ahead, and all board notices are sent by email only. A late renewal may be filed up to 60 days after expiration with a late fee, but practice during that window is illegal and every late renewer is selected for a CE audit. A license not renewed by the end of the 60 day period terminates and the pharmacist must reapply as a new applicant.
Summary
Delaware pharmacists must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Delaware Board of Pharmacy (Division of Professional Regulation). Pharmacist licenses expire on September 30 of even numbered years and are renewed every two years in DELPROS, the state's online licensure system. A renewal notice goes to the email address on record a few months ahead, and all board notices are sent by email only. A late renewal may be filed up to 60 days after expiration with a late fee, but practice during that window is illegal and every late renewer is selected for a CE audit. A license not renewed by the end of the 60 day period terminates and the pharmacist must reapply as a new applicant. Delaware also mandates specific subjects. Medication safety and errors: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle. Controlled substances distribution, dispensing or delivery, or recognition of impairment and dependency: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle. Administering injectable medications, biologicals and adult immunizations: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle (pharmacists trained and authorized as Immunizing Pharmacists).
Delaware Pharmacist renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Two-year (24 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Same date for every licensee, 09/30 each cycleFirst renewal is prorated. |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 30 contact hours |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | Not stated |
| First renewal exempt | No |
Active pharmacists complete 30 hours of board approved continuing education during each full licensure period, which runs October 1 to September 30 of even numbered years. The board states the same total in CEUs elsewhere on its site, as 3.0 CEs (30 hours), the usual 1 CEU to 10 contact hour convention; the hour figure is recorded here. At a first renewal the requirement is prorated at 1.25 hours for each month between the initial date of licensure and the biennial renewal date, which is the same 30 hours spread over a 24 month period. A license may sit inactive for up to four years; reactivating requires proof of 30 hours for the biennial period. The board states no live or in person minimum, no cap on home study and no carryover provision. The board points to Sections 1.3, 1.4 and 14.1.3.1 of its Rules and Regulations for the full text, which is published in the Delaware Administrative Code as 24 DE Admin. Code 2500.
Required CE topics for Delaware pharmacists
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Medication safety and errorsAt least 2 of the 30 hours must be in the area of medication safety and medication errors. | 2 contact hours | Every renewal | All licensees | 24 DE Admin. Code 2500, Sections 1.4 and 14.1.3.1 |
| Controlled substances distribution, dispensing or delivery, or recognition of impairment and dependencyAt least 2 of the 30 hours in either the distribution, dispensing or delivery of controlled substances, or the detection and recognition of symptoms, patterns of behavior or other characteristics of impairment and dependency resulting from the abusive or illegal use of controlled substances. The licensee chooses which of the two subjects. | 2 contact hours | Every renewal | All licensees | 24 DE Admin. Code 2500, Sections 1.4 and 14.1.3.1 |
| Administering injectable medications, biologicals and adult immunizationsAt least 2 of the 30 hours, required only of pharmacists who are trained and hold authorization as an Immunizing Pharmacist. | 2 contact hours | Every renewal | pharmacists trained and authorized as Immunizing Pharmacists | 24 DE Admin. Code 2500, Sections 1.4 and 14.1.3.1 |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | No, attestation only |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | Not stated |
| Board audits compliance | Yes |
| Approved providers | Courses must be board approved; a licensee unsure whether a course qualifies submits it for board review through a DELPROS Service Request. Continuing education is entered in the DELPROS CE Tracker, and at renewal the licensee attests to having completed it. The board does not want documentation uploaded unless the licensee is selected for audit. After each renewal the board randomly selects a percentage of licensees for a CE audit, and every licensee who files a late renewal is audited. On audit the licensee uploads the NABP CPE Monitor log for ACPE approved courses, which the board accepts as sufficient documentation, plus certificates of attendance, agendas, brochures, outlines or syllabi for any non ACPE approved course, showing name, course name, provider, dates and hours. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Delaware RPh/PharmD need to renew?
- Delaware pharmacists must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Delaware Board of Pharmacy (Division of Professional Regulation). Active pharmacists complete 30 hours of board approved continuing education during each full licensure period, which runs October 1 to September 30 of even numbered years. The board states the same total in CEUs elsewhere on its site, as 3.0 CEs (30 hours), the usual 1 CEU to 10 contact hour convention; the hour figure is recorded here. At a first renewal the requirement is prorated at 1.25 hours for each month between the initial date of licensure and the biennial renewal date, which is the same 30 hours spread over a 24 month period. A license may sit inactive for up to four years; reactivating requires proof of 30 hours for the biennial period. The board states no live or in person minimum, no cap on home study and no carryover provision. The board points to Sections 1.3, 1.4 and 14.1.3.1 of its Rules and Regulations for the full text, which is published in the Delaware Administrative Code as 24 DE Admin. Code 2500.
- How often does a Delaware RPh/PharmD license need to be renewed?
- Pharmacist licenses in Delaware renew every two years. Pharmacist licenses expire on September 30 of even numbered years and are renewed every two years in DELPROS, the state's online licensure system. A renewal notice goes to the email address on record a few months ahead, and all board notices are sent by email only. A late renewal may be filed up to 60 days after expiration with a late fee, but practice during that window is illegal and every late renewer is selected for a CE audit. A license not renewed by the end of the 60 day period terminates and the pharmacist must reapply as a new applicant.
- What specific CE topics are required for Delaware pharmacists?
- Medication safety and errors: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle. Controlled substances distribution, dispensing or delivery, or recognition of impairment and dependency: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle. Administering injectable medications, biologicals and adult immunizations: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle (pharmacists trained and authorized as Immunizing Pharmacists). Citations: medication safety and errors (24 DE Admin. Code 2500, Sections 1.4 and 14.1.3.1), controlled substances distribution, dispensing or delivery, or recognition of impairment and dependency (24 DE Admin. Code 2500, Sections 1.4 and 14.1.3.1), and administering injectable medications, biologicals and adult immunizations (24 DE Admin. Code 2500, Sections 1.4 and 14.1.3.1).
- Do Delaware pharmacists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates and the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation. Courses must be board approved; a licensee unsure whether a course qualifies submits it for board review through a DELPROS Service Request. Continuing education is entered in the DELPROS CE Tracker, and at renewal the licensee attests to having completed it. The board does not want documentation uploaded unless the licensee is selected for audit. After each renewal the board randomly selects a percentage of licensees for a CE audit, and every licensee who files a late renewal is audited. On audit the licensee uploads the NABP CPE Monitor log for ACPE approved courses, which the board accepts as sufficient documentation, plus certificates of attendance, agendas, brochures, outlines or syllabi for any non ACPE approved course, showing name, course name, provider, dates and hours.
- Is the first Delaware RPh/PharmD renewal exempt from CE?
- No. Delaware applies the continuing education requirement to the first renewal as well.
Sources
Last verified September 10, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- Continuing Education and Audit Information, Delaware Board of PharmacyState board page, accessed September 10, 2026
- License Renewal, Delaware Board of PharmacyState board page, accessed September 10, 2026
The 30 hour total, the three subject minimums, the 1.25 hour per month first renewal proration, the October 1 to September 30 even year period, the September 30 even year expiration, the 60 day late window and the audit mechanics were all read on the Delaware Division of Professional Regulation's own Board of Pharmacy pages. The board's Rules and Regulations, 24 DE Admin. Code 2500, could not be read directly: regulations.delaware.gov serves Title 24 through a JavaScript application that returns no text to an automated client, so Sections 1.3, 1.4, 1.6 and 14.1 are cited here only as the board itself cites them. That leaves retention period, carryover and any live hour minimum unconfirmed; none is mentioned on the board pages and all are recorded as null. Delaware is one of the states that accepts the NABP CPE Monitor log as audit documentation for ACPE approved courses, but it does not use CPE Monitor as the reporting channel: hours are entered by the licensee in the DELPROS CE Tracker. The topic key immunization is not on the canonical list; medication safety and errors is filed under the canonical key medical_errors and the controlled substance requirement under opioid_prescribing, though Delaware's wording is broader than opioid prescribing and covers impairment recognition as an alternative.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Delaware Board of Pharmacy (Division of Professional Regulation) before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.