Skip to main content
CredNet

Delaware Physician (MD) license renewal and CE requirements

Delaware physicians (MD) must complete 40 CME credits of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Delaware Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline.

Delaware physician licenses expire on March 31 of odd numbered years, so the licensure period runs April 1 to March 31 on a two year cycle and every physician renews on the same date. Renewal is done in DELPROS, the state's online portal, and the renewal notice goes out by email a few months before expiration. At renewal the physician attests to completing the required CME and the mandatory training. A license that is not renewed by March 31 expires and it is illegal to practice on it, but a late renewal application may be filed in DELPROS for up to one year with a late fee and a certification that the physician did not practice while expired. After one year the license terminates and the physician must reapply as a new applicant.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Same date for every licensee
CE per cycle
40
CME credits
Mandated topics
2
required subjects
Last verified
September 7, 2026
15 days ago

Summary

Delaware physicians (MD) must complete 40 CME credits of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Delaware Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline. Delaware physician licenses expire on March 31 of odd numbered years, so the licensure period runs April 1 to March 31 on a two year cycle and every physician renews on the same date. Renewal is done in DELPROS, the state's online portal, and the renewal notice goes out by email a few months before expiration. At renewal the physician attests to completing the required CME and the mandatory training. A license that is not renewed by March 31 expires and it is illegal to practice on it, but a late renewal application may be filed in DELPROS for up to one year with a late fee and a certification that the physician did not practice while expired. After one year the license terminates and the physician must reapply as a new applicant. Delaware also mandates specific subjects. Mandatory training on recognizing child sexual and physical abuse, exploitation and domestic violence, and on reporting obligations: 1 CME credit every renewal cycle (everyone licensed by the Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline, physicians included). Controlled substance prescribing practices, treatment of chronic pain, or other topics related to prescribing controlled substances: 2 CME credits every renewal cycle (physicians who hold a Delaware Controlled Substance Registration. The two hours are a condition of renewing that separate registration, which expires June 30 of odd numbered years, rather than of renewing the medical license).

Delaware Physician (MD) renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineSame date for every licensee, 03/31 each cycleFirst renewal is prorated.
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle40 CME credits
Category 1 minimum40 CME credits
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNot stated
First renewal exemptNo
Other accepted activitiesSatisfactory participation in an approved medical or osteopathic resident or fellowship training program, which the board may accept in lieu of approved CME credits; Certification by the Medical Society of Delaware that the physician has completed the CME since the last renewal, which the board accepts as proof of completion

Board Rule 12.1, adopted under 24 Del. C. 1713(d), requires 40 hours per registration period of continuing medical education in Category I courses approved by the American Medical Association or equivalent courses approved by the American Osteopathic Association, earned since the last renewal. Because the rule requires the whole total to be Category I or the AOA equivalent, category_1_minimum is set equal to hours_per_cycle. The board's page states the 40 hours are earned during each full licensure renewal period between April 1 and March 31 of odd numbered years. The first renewal is scaled rather than uniformly exempt: a physician licensed less than one year at the first renewal owes no CME until the next renewal, and a physician licensed more than one year but less than two owes 20 hours. exempt_first_renewal is recorded as false because most first renewals still carry 20 hours; the under one year case is the exception. The board may waive the requirement on application for good cause, which it treats as lack of compliance due to causes beyond the physician's control. The rules read do not state a carryover allowance, a live or interactive minimum, or a cap on self study or online hours, so those fields are null. Failure to comply with the CME requirement is listed in Rule 17.11.2 as administrative misconduct carrying a 5,000 dollar fine.

Required CE topics for Delaware physician (md)s

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Mandatory training on recognizing child sexual and physical abuse, exploitation and domestic violence, and on reporting obligationsThe training must be completed before every renewal and attested to on the renewal application; not completing it delays renewal. To satisfy the Child Protection Accountability Commission requirements the training must address how to recognize child abuse and domestic violence, give Delaware specific information on reporting child abuse, and last at least one hour. From January 1, 2025 the state offers two routes through the Office of the Child Advocate: the full one hour Mandatory Reporting for Medical Professionals course, which is required for anyone in their first licensure period, or a 30 minute refresher paired with one of four 30 minute advanced courses on abusive head trauma, pediatric drug exposures, medical neglect, or sentinel injuries. MDs and DOs use the Physicians and Psychiatrists (MD/DO) track. The Medical Society of Delaware has approved the training for AMA PRA Category 1 Credit. One record entry covers both the child abuse and the domestic violence content because Delaware requires a single combined course.1 CME creditEvery renewalEveryone licensed by the Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline, physicians included24 Del. C. 1723; 16 Del. C. 903
Controlled substance prescribing practices, treatment of chronic pain, or other topics related to prescribing controlled substancesTwo hours of continuing education per full registration renewal period, which the Controlled Substance Advisory Committee describes as running July 1 to June 30 between odd numbered years. The same two hours may be counted toward both the controlled substance registration and the practitioner license if they were earned in one of the listed areas. Registrants attest at renewal and upload certificates only if selected for the committee's random audit; each certificate must be signed by the course presenter or a designated official of the sponsoring organization. This requirement was read on the committee's own pages, not in Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline Rule 12.0, which sets no subject mandate.2 CME creditsEvery renewalPhysicians who hold a Delaware Controlled Substance Registration. The two hours are a condition of renewing that separate registration, which expires June 30 of odd numbered years, rather than of renewing the medical licenseDelaware Controlled Substance Advisory Committee Rules and Regulations, Section 3.1.3

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records forNot stated
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersCME must be Category I approved by the American Medical Association or an equivalent course approved by the American Osteopathic Association. Physicians enter their CME in the DELPROS continuing education tracker and attest at renewal; the board says not to upload CME documentation into DELPROS unless notified of selection for audit. After each renewal a percentage of licensees are randomly selected for a CME audit, and those selected must upload a certificate of attendance for each course entered in the tracker showing the physician's name, course name, course provider, course dates, and hours of attendance. Certification by the Medical Society of Delaware that the physician completed the CME since the last renewal is also acceptable proof. The board's rules read do not set a record retention period, so retention_years is null.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Delaware MD need to renew?
Delaware physicians (MD) must complete 40 CME credits of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Delaware Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline. Board Rule 12.1, adopted under 24 Del. C. 1713(d), requires 40 hours per registration period of continuing medical education in Category I courses approved by the American Medical Association or equivalent courses approved by the American Osteopathic Association, earned since the last renewal. Because the rule requires the whole total to be Category I or the AOA equivalent, category_1_minimum is set equal to hours_per_cycle. The board's page states the 40 hours are earned during each full licensure renewal period between April 1 and March 31 of odd numbered years. The first renewal is scaled rather than uniformly exempt: a physician licensed less than one year at the first renewal owes no CME until the next renewal, and a physician licensed more than one year but less than two owes 20 hours. exempt_first_renewal is recorded as false because most first renewals still carry 20 hours; the under one year case is the exception. The board may waive the requirement on application for good cause, which it treats as lack of compliance due to causes beyond the physician's control. The rules read do not state a carryover allowance, a live or interactive minimum, or a cap on self study or online hours, so those fields are null. Failure to comply with the CME requirement is listed in Rule 17.11.2 as administrative misconduct carrying a 5,000 dollar fine.
How often does a Delaware MD license need to be renewed?
Physician (MD) licenses in Delaware renew every two years. Delaware physician licenses expire on March 31 of odd numbered years, so the licensure period runs April 1 to March 31 on a two year cycle and every physician renews on the same date. Renewal is done in DELPROS, the state's online portal, and the renewal notice goes out by email a few months before expiration. At renewal the physician attests to completing the required CME and the mandatory training. A license that is not renewed by March 31 expires and it is illegal to practice on it, but a late renewal application may be filed in DELPROS for up to one year with a late fee and a certification that the physician did not practice while expired. After one year the license terminates and the physician must reapply as a new applicant.
What specific CE topics are required for Delaware physicians (MD)?
Mandatory training on recognizing child sexual and physical abuse, exploitation and domestic violence, and on reporting obligations: 1 CME credit every renewal cycle (everyone licensed by the Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline, physicians included). Controlled substance prescribing practices, treatment of chronic pain, or other topics related to prescribing controlled substances: 2 CME credits every renewal cycle (physicians who hold a Delaware Controlled Substance Registration. The two hours are a condition of renewing that separate registration, which expires June 30 of odd numbered years, rather than of renewing the medical license). Citations: mandatory training on recognizing child sexual and physical abuse, exploitation and domestic violence, and on reporting obligations (24 Del. C. 1723; 16 Del. C. 903) and controlled substance prescribing practices, treatment of chronic pain, or other topics related to prescribing controlled substances (Delaware Controlled Substance Advisory Committee Rules and Regulations, Section 3.1.3).
Do Delaware physicians (MD) have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates and the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation. CME must be Category I approved by the American Medical Association or an equivalent course approved by the American Osteopathic Association. Physicians enter their CME in the DELPROS continuing education tracker and attest at renewal; the board says not to upload CME documentation into DELPROS unless notified of selection for audit. After each renewal a percentage of licensees are randomly selected for a CME audit, and those selected must upload a certificate of attendance for each course entered in the tracker showing the physician's name, course name, course provider, course dates, and hours of attendance. Certification by the Medical Society of Delaware that the physician completed the CME since the last renewal is also acceptable proof. The board's rules read do not set a record retention period, so retention_years is null.
Is the first Delaware MD renewal exempt from CE?
No. Delaware applies the continuing education requirement to the first renewal as well.

Sources

Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

Delaware has no separate osteopathic board. The Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline states on its own page that it issues physician (M.D. and D.O.) licenses, its continuing education page is headed Physician MD, DO, and its rules accept AOA approved courses as the equivalent of AMA Category I, so de-physician_md and de-physician_do cite the same sources and carry the same values. The 40 hour Category I requirement, the 20 hour and zero hour first renewal tiers, the residency and Medical Society of Delaware alternatives and the good cause waiver were read in Section 12.0 of 24 DE Admin. Code 1700; that page is an Angular application that returns almost no text to curl or to an automated fetcher, so the rule was read in a real browser. The April 1 to March 31 odd numbered year period, the DELPROS attestation, the random post renewal audit, the audit document list and the one year late renewal window were read on the division's Continuing Education and Audit Information and License Renewal pages for the board. The mandatory child abuse, exploitation and domestic violence recognition and reporting training was read on the board's Mandatory Training page. The two hour controlled substance education requirement belongs to the separate Delaware Controlled Substance Registration, which expires June 30 of odd numbered years and is administered by the Controlled Substance Advisory Committee, not to the medical license itself; it is recorded here with that scope because most prescribing physicians hold the registration, and the same two hours may count toward both. The Controlled Substance Advisory Committee's Rules and Regulations Section 3.1.3 was not read directly; the two hour figure, the subject areas and the double counting allowance come from the committee's own web pages. No CME record retention period is stated in the sources read, and the board sets no carryover allowance, live or interactive minimum, or online cap, so those fields are null.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Delaware Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.