Skip to main content
CredNet

Delaware Physical Therapist license renewal and CE requirements

Delaware physical therapists must complete 3 CEUs, which is 30 contact hours, every two years to renew their license with the Delaware Examining Board of Physical Therapists and Athletic Trainers.

Licenses renew biennially through the DELPROS portal. Each licensure period runs February 1 through January 31 of the odd-numbered year, and continuing education must be completed by January 31 of every odd-numbered year.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Same date for every licensee
CE per cycle
3
CEUs
Mandated topics
2
required subjects
Last verified
September 7, 2026
15 days ago

Summary

Delaware physical therapists must complete 3 CEUs, which is 30 contact hours, every two years to renew their license with the Delaware Examining Board of Physical Therapists and Athletic Trainers. Licenses renew biennially through the DELPROS portal. Each licensure period runs February 1 through January 31 of the odd-numbered year, and continuing education must be completed by January 31 of every odd-numbered year. Delaware also mandates specific subjects. Ethics: 0.2 CEUs every renewal cycle. Current CPR certification: 0.1 CEUs every renewal cycle. Hours do not carry over between cycles.

Delaware Physical Therapist renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineSame date for every licensee, 01/31 each cycleFirst renewal is prorated.
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle3 CEUs
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNo
First renewal exemptNo
Other accepted activitiesUniversity courses; Seminars and workshops; Professional publications; Clinical instruction of students (40 contact hours equals 0.1 CEU); First-time presentation of a course (maximum 0.3 CEU per hour presented); Passing the licensing examination (1.5 CEU); Proof of current CPR certification (0.1 CEU)

Delaware counts continuing education units: one CEU is awarded for every 10 hours of an approved course (one contact hour is 0.1 CEU), so 3.0 CEUs equal 30 hours per two-year period (24 Del. Admin. Code 2600-13.0). CEUs may not be carried over from one biennial period to the next. New licensees complete a prorated amount based on issuance date: licensed on or after February 1 but before August 1 of an odd year, 2.5 CEU; August 1 of an odd year to before February 1 of an even year, 2.0 CEU; February 1 to before August 1 of an even year, 1.5 CEU; August 1 to before October 1 of an even year, 0.5 CEU; on or after October 1 of an even year, the full 3.0 CEU applies to the following period. No cap on online or home-study hours was stated in the sources read.

Required CE topics for Delaware physical therapists

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Ethics0.2 CEU (two hours) of Ethics must be included in the 3.0 CEUs each renewal period.0.2 CEUsEvery renewalAll licensees24 Del. Admin. Code 2600-13.0
Current CPR certificationProof of current CPR certification from the American Red Cross, American Heart Association, National Safety Council, or another board-approved agency is part of the required CEUs and counts for 0.1 CEU. Audited licensees must upload a current CPR card.0.1 CEUsEvery renewalAll licensees24 Del. Admin. Code 2600-13.0

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records forNot stated
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersCEUs approved during the current licensing period by another agency such as a national governing body (APTA, BOC) or a fellow state licensing board are accepted; the Division posts an approved continuing education list. Licensees attest to completion at renewal (24 Del. C. 2607). The board performs random post-renewal audits: selected licensees must upload certificates of completion and a current CPR card to DELPROS within 20 days of the notice.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Delaware PT need to renew?
Delaware physical therapists must complete 3 CEUs, which is 30 contact hours, every two years to renew their license with the Delaware Examining Board of Physical Therapists and Athletic Trainers. Delaware counts continuing education units: one CEU is awarded for every 10 hours of an approved course (one contact hour is 0.1 CEU), so 3.0 CEUs equal 30 hours per two-year period (24 Del. Admin. Code 2600-13.0). CEUs may not be carried over from one biennial period to the next. New licensees complete a prorated amount based on issuance date: licensed on or after February 1 but before August 1 of an odd year, 2.5 CEU; August 1 of an odd year to before February 1 of an even year, 2.0 CEU; February 1 to before August 1 of an even year, 1.5 CEU; August 1 to before October 1 of an even year, 0.5 CEU; on or after October 1 of an even year, the full 3.0 CEU applies to the following period. No cap on online or home-study hours was stated in the sources read.
How often does a Delaware PT license need to be renewed?
Physical Therapist licenses in Delaware renew every two years. Licenses renew biennially through the DELPROS portal. Each licensure period runs February 1 through January 31 of the odd-numbered year, and continuing education must be completed by January 31 of every odd-numbered year.
What specific CE topics are required for Delaware physical therapists?
Ethics: 0.2 CEUs every renewal cycle. Current CPR certification: 0.1 CEUs every renewal cycle. Citations: ethics (24 Del. Admin. Code 2600-13.0) and Current CPR certification (24 Del. Admin. Code 2600-13.0).
Do Delaware physical therapists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates and the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation. CEUs approved during the current licensing period by another agency such as a national governing body (APTA, BOC) or a fellow state licensing board are accepted; the Division posts an approved continuing education list. Licensees attest to completion at renewal (24 Del. C. 2607). The board performs random post-renewal audits: selected licensees must upload certificates of completion and a current CPR card to DELPROS within 20 days of the notice.
Is the first Delaware PT renewal exempt from CE?
No. Delaware applies the continuing education requirement to the first renewal as well.

Sources

Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

The 3.0 CEU requirement, January 31 odd-year deadline, proration schedule, 0.2 CEU ethics component, CPR requirement, no-carryover rule, and 20-day audit response were confirmed on the Division of Professional Regulation's continuing education page; the biennial renewal and attestation language come from 24 Del. C. 2607. Regulation 2600 section 13.0 was read on the Cornell LII mirror because regulations.delaware.gov returned no text to the fetcher. Record retention period and any cap on online or home-study CEUs were not stated in the sources read. The topic key cpr_certification is not in the canonical list; no canonical key covers a CPR requirement.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Delaware Examining Board of Physical Therapists and Athletic Trainers before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.