Skip to main content
CredNet

Arkansas Physical Therapist license renewal and CE requirements

Arkansas physical therapists must complete 2 CEUs, which is 20 contact hours, every two years to renew their license with the Arkansas State Board of Physical Therapy.

Licenses must be renewed annually by March 1; a license not renewed by March 1 lapses and the licensee may not practice. Continuing education is verified only at odd-numbered-year renewals, covering the preceding two-year biennium.

Renewal cycle
Annual
Same date for every licensee
CE per cycle
2
CEUs every two years
Mandated topics
1
required subject
Last verified
September 7, 2026
15 days ago

Summary

Arkansas physical therapists must complete 2 CEUs, which is 20 contact hours, every two years to renew their license with the Arkansas State Board of Physical Therapy. Licenses must be renewed annually by March 1; a license not renewed by March 1 lapses and the licensee may not practice. Continuing education is verified only at odd-numbered-year renewals, covering the preceding two-year biennium. Arkansas also mandates specific subjects. Arkansas State Board of Physical Therapy Jurisprudence Exam: 0.1 CEUs every renewal cycle. No more than 1 CEU may be self-study or online.

Arkansas Physical Therapist renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleAnnual (12 months)
Renewal deadlineSame date for every licensee, 03/01 each cycle
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle2 CEUsCounted over a two-year window, separate from the renewal cycle.
Self-study or online capAt most 1 CEU
Carryover to next cycleNot stated
First renewal exemptNot stated
Other accepted activitiesPublished article or research within the two-year cycle, approved individually by the board, for up to one-half of the biennium requirement; Direct continuous supervision of a PT or PTA student from a CAPTE-accredited program, or mentoring in an accredited residency or fellowship (1 contact hour per 40 hours, maximum 5 hours for a PT); College or university courses in clinical application, clinical management, behavioral science, science, or scientific research (1 CEU per credit hour with grade C or higher); Passing the board's jurisprudence exam (counted as 1 online hour)

The board counts continuing education units: one CEU is 10 contact hours, so the 2 CEUs required of a physical therapist equal 20 contact hours per two-year biennium (Board Rule XI.A; CE Procedures I). The Board Rule says CEUs must be completed by December 31 in each biennium and are due at odd-numbered-year renewals; the CE Procedures say they must be obtained within the 24 months preceding the odd-numbered-year renewal. No more than 50 percent of continuing education may be taken through online courses (the 1 CEU value above expresses that half); live, interactive webinars count as in-person attendance. Program content must be clinical application, clinical management, behavioral science, science, or scientific research. The board will not accept previously submitted credit hours. Licensees who have not completed the requirement by December 31 of the year before the odd-year renewal pay a $50 per month penalty until it is completed. PTAs need 1 CEU per biennium. Carryover and any first-renewal exemption were not addressed in the sources read.

Required CE topics for Arkansas physical therapists

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Arkansas State Board of Physical Therapy Jurisprudence ExamA passing score (70 percent) on the board's online, open-book jurisprudence exam is required for initial licensure and for every odd-numbered-year renewal as part of continuing education. It is credited as one contact hour (0.1 CEU) and is counted as an online hour toward the 50 percent online limit. Fee $10. Proof of completion does not have to be submitted.0.1 CEUsEvery renewalAll licenseesArkansas State Board of Physical Therapy Rules, Section VI.E and XI.C.1.B

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records for4 years
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersProgram content and CEU accreditation must be approved by the board or a board-approved entity (Board Rule XI.C.2). Since January 1, 2023 licensees attest under oath at the odd-year renewal that they completed qualifying continuing education and submit proof only if audited; after each odd-numbered-year renewal the board randomly selects 10 percent of licensees for audit and gives them 20 days to submit proof (or the board can download records from the licensee's CE Broker account). Proof must show date, place, course title, schedule, presenters, contact hours, and a certificate, transcript, or grade report, retained for at least four years from completion.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Arkansas PT need to renew?
Arkansas physical therapists must complete 2 CEUs, which is 20 contact hours, every two years to renew their license with the Arkansas State Board of Physical Therapy. The board counts continuing education units: one CEU is 10 contact hours, so the 2 CEUs required of a physical therapist equal 20 contact hours per two-year biennium (Board Rule XI.A; CE Procedures I). The Board Rule says CEUs must be completed by December 31 in each biennium and are due at odd-numbered-year renewals; the CE Procedures say they must be obtained within the 24 months preceding the odd-numbered-year renewal. No more than 50 percent of continuing education may be taken through online courses (the 1 CEU value above expresses that half); live, interactive webinars count as in-person attendance. Program content must be clinical application, clinical management, behavioral science, science, or scientific research. The board will not accept previously submitted credit hours. Licensees who have not completed the requirement by December 31 of the year before the odd-year renewal pay a $50 per month penalty until it is completed. PTAs need 1 CEU per biennium. Carryover and any first-renewal exemption were not addressed in the sources read.
How often does a Arkansas PT license need to be renewed?
Physical Therapist licenses in Arkansas renew every year. Licenses must be renewed annually by March 1; a license not renewed by March 1 lapses and the licensee may not practice. Continuing education is verified only at odd-numbered-year renewals, covering the preceding two-year biennium.
What specific CE topics are required for Arkansas physical therapists?
Arkansas State Board of Physical Therapy Jurisprudence Exam: 0.1 CEUs every renewal cycle. Citations: Arkansas State Board of Physical Therapy Jurisprudence Exam (Arkansas State Board of Physical Therapy Rules, Section VI.E and XI.C.1.B).
Do Arkansas physical therapists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 4 years. Program content and CEU accreditation must be approved by the board or a board-approved entity (Board Rule XI.C.2). Since January 1, 2023 licensees attest under oath at the odd-year renewal that they completed qualifying continuing education and submit proof only if audited; after each odd-numbered-year renewal the board randomly selects 10 percent of licensees for audit and gives them 20 days to submit proof (or the board can download records from the licensee's CE Broker account). Proof must show date, place, course title, schedule, presenters, contact hours, and a certificate, transcript, or grade report, retained for at least four years from completion.

Sources

Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

Annual March 1 renewal, 2 CEUs per biennium, 50 percent online cap, jurisprudence exam, 10 percent audit, 20-day response, four-year retention, and the published-work and supervision alternatives were read from the board's rules PDF and CE Procedures PDF on the Arkansas Department of Health site. The former board domain arptb.org now redirects to healthy.arkansas.gov. The Board Rule frames the CE deadline as December 31 in each biennium (with a monthly penalty after December 31 of the year before renewal) while the CE Procedures say within the 24 months preceding the odd-year renewal; both agree on 2 CEUs per two years so this was noted rather than treated as a conflict. The rules do not state whether unused hours carry over or whether a first renewal is exempt. The online renewal portal (ark.org) and the renewal form PDF were not fetched.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Arkansas State Board of Physical Therapy before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.