Arkansas Osteopathic Physician (DO) license renewal and CE requirements
Arkansas osteopathic physicians (DO) must complete 20 CME credits of continuing education every year to renew their license with the Arkansas State Medical Board.
Arkansas medical licenses are renewed every year. The annual reregistration fee must be paid before or during the licensee's birth month, and the license expires automatically if the fee is not paid by the last day of the birth month. A delinquent licensee can be reinstated by paying the back fees plus a fifty dollar penalty for each year or part of a year of delinquency, and a license goes to revocation if the fee is unpaid for three consecutive years.
Summary
Arkansas osteopathic physicians (DO) must complete 20 CME credits of continuing education every year to renew their license with the Arkansas State Medical Board. Arkansas medical licenses are renewed every year. The annual reregistration fee must be paid before or during the licensee's birth month, and the license expires automatically if the fee is not paid by the last day of the birth month. A delinquent licensee can be reinstated by paying the back fees plus a fifty dollar penalty for each year or part of a year of delinquency, and a license goes to revocation if the fee is unpaid for three consecutive years. Arkansas also mandates specific subjects. Prescribing of opioids and benzodiazepines: 1 CME credit every renewal cycle (every physician and physician assistant, each year). Prescribing education for newly licensed prescribers: a one-time requirement of 3 CME credits (prescribers licensed after December 31, 2015, within the first two years of being granted an Arkansas license).
Arkansas Osteopathic Physician (DO) renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Annual (12 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Tied to the licensee's birth month |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 20 CME credits |
| Category 1 minimum | 10 CME credits |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | Not stated |
| First renewal exempt | Not stated |
| Other accepted activities | Internship, residency, or fellowship in an ACGME, AOA Council on Postdoctoral Training, AMA, AAMC, or AOA approved teaching institution (one credit hour per full day of training; no other credit may be claimed while in full time training); Education for an advanced degree in a medical or medically related field at an AMA, AAMC, or AOA approved teaching institution (one credit hour per full day of study); Full time research at a teaching institution approved by the LCME, the AOA Bureau of Professional Education, the AMA, the AAMC, or the AOA (one credit hour per full day); Serving as an instructor of medical students, house staff, other physicians, or allied health professionals in a formal training program; Publication or presentation of a medical paper, report, or book (one credit hour per hour of preparation, writing, or presentation; claimable once); Self instruction programs using videotapes, audiotapes, films, filmstrips, slides, radio broadcasts, or computers; Independent reading of scientific journals and books; Preparation for specialty board certification or recertification examinations; Participation on a hospital, institution, or government agency staff committee or a quality of care or utilization review committee |
17 CAR 140-1101(a), issued under Arkansas Code 17-80-104, requires 20 credit hours of continuing medical education per year. The board counts the year from birth month to birth month: hours reported at a renewal are those earned from the licensee's birth month of the previous year through the birth month of the current year. Fifty percent of the hours, that is 10 hours, must be in subjects pertaining to the physician's primary area of practice and designated as Category 1, which the rule defines as activity designated Category 1 by an ACCME accredited organization or a state medical society, explicitly approved for Category 1 by the AMA or the Arkansas State Medical Board, approved by the AOA Council on Continuing Medical Education, or designated as prescribed hours by the American Academy of Family Physicians. That definition covers both AMA PRA Category 1 and AOA credit, so the same 10 hour Category 1 floor applies to MDs and DOs. One credit hour is allowed per clock hour of participation. The board may grant an extension of time on written application for illness, military service, medical or religious missionary activity, residence in a foreign country, or other extenuating circumstances. The rules read do not state whether excess hours carry forward or whether a first renewal is prorated, so those fields are null.
Required CE topics for Arkansas osteopathic physician (do)s
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Prescribing of opioids and benzodiazepinesAt least one hour of CME each year specifically regarding the prescribing of opioids and benzodiazepines. The rule states the hour may be included in the 20 credit hours per year and does not add an extra hour. | 1 CME credit | Every renewal | Every physician and physician assistant, each year | 17 CAR 140-1101(c) |
| Prescribing education for newly licensed prescribersA minimum of three hours of prescribing education approved by the board. The approved education covers prescribing rules and laws that apply in Arkansas, prescribing controlled substances, recordkeeping, and maintaining safe and professional boundaries, and the board must offer both online and in person options. The rule sits in the board's malpractice rule rather than the CME rule and does not say whether the three hours also count toward the annual 20 hours. | 3 CME credits | One time | Prescribers licensed after December 31, 2015, within the first two years of being granted an Arkansas license | 17 CAR 140-202(6)(b) |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | No, attestation only |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | 3 years |
| Board audits compliance | Yes |
| Approved providers | Each year the board includes with the renewal application a form on which the licensee certifies by signature, under penalty of perjury, that the CME requirement has been met (17 CAR 140-1101(e)). The board may randomly require a physician to demonstrate compliance before renewal, and the board's frequently asked questions page says random audits are performed monthly and that a licensee who is audited must submit certificates of CME completion. An AMA Physician's Recognition Award certificate covering the reporting period, or an American Osteopathic Association or Arkansas Osteopathic Medical Association certificate of CME completion or AOA individual activity report, is accepted as bona fide evidence of compliance. Records must be kept in an orderly manner for at least three years from the end of the reporting period and made available to the board on request. The board has partnered with CE Broker as a way to track continuing education, but the board states participation is voluntary. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Arkansas DO need to renew?
- Arkansas osteopathic physicians (DO) must complete 20 CME credits of continuing education every year to renew their license with the Arkansas State Medical Board. 17 CAR 140-1101(a), issued under Arkansas Code 17-80-104, requires 20 credit hours of continuing medical education per year. The board counts the year from birth month to birth month: hours reported at a renewal are those earned from the licensee's birth month of the previous year through the birth month of the current year. Fifty percent of the hours, that is 10 hours, must be in subjects pertaining to the physician's primary area of practice and designated as Category 1, which the rule defines as activity designated Category 1 by an ACCME accredited organization or a state medical society, explicitly approved for Category 1 by the AMA or the Arkansas State Medical Board, approved by the AOA Council on Continuing Medical Education, or designated as prescribed hours by the American Academy of Family Physicians. That definition covers both AMA PRA Category 1 and AOA credit, so the same 10 hour Category 1 floor applies to MDs and DOs. One credit hour is allowed per clock hour of participation. The board may grant an extension of time on written application for illness, military service, medical or religious missionary activity, residence in a foreign country, or other extenuating circumstances. The rules read do not state whether excess hours carry forward or whether a first renewal is prorated, so those fields are null.
- How often does a Arkansas DO license need to be renewed?
- Osteopathic Physician (DO) licenses in Arkansas renew every year. Arkansas medical licenses are renewed every year. The annual reregistration fee must be paid before or during the licensee's birth month, and the license expires automatically if the fee is not paid by the last day of the birth month. A delinquent licensee can be reinstated by paying the back fees plus a fifty dollar penalty for each year or part of a year of delinquency, and a license goes to revocation if the fee is unpaid for three consecutive years.
- What specific CE topics are required for Arkansas osteopathic physicians (DO)?
- Prescribing of opioids and benzodiazepines: 1 CME credit every renewal cycle (every physician and physician assistant, each year). Prescribing education for newly licensed prescribers: a one-time requirement of 3 CME credits (prescribers licensed after December 31, 2015, within the first two years of being granted an Arkansas license). Citations: prescribing of opioids and benzodiazepines (17 CAR 140-1101(c)) and prescribing education for newly licensed prescribers (17 CAR 140-202(6)(b)).
- Do Arkansas osteopathic physicians (DO) have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 3 years. Each year the board includes with the renewal application a form on which the licensee certifies by signature, under penalty of perjury, that the CME requirement has been met (17 CAR 140-1101(e)). The board may randomly require a physician to demonstrate compliance before renewal, and the board's frequently asked questions page says random audits are performed monthly and that a licensee who is audited must submit certificates of CME completion. An AMA Physician's Recognition Award certificate covering the reporting period, or an American Osteopathic Association or Arkansas Osteopathic Medical Association certificate of CME completion or AOA individual activity report, is accepted as bona fide evidence of compliance. Records must be kept in an orderly manner for at least three years from the end of the reporting period and made available to the board on request. The board has partnered with CE Broker as a way to track continuing education, but the board states participation is voluntary.
Sources
Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- Frequently Asked Questions, For the Practitioner, Medical Doctor / Osteopathic Doctor, Arkansas State Medical BoardState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
- Medical Doctor / Osteopathic Doctor, Arkansas State Medical BoardState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
- 17 CAR 140-1101, Continuing medical education, Arkansas State Medical Board RulesStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 7, 2026
- 17 CAR 140-202, Malpractice defined, Arkansas State Medical Board RulesStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 7, 2026
- Arkansas Code 17-95-408, Annual registration (Justia mirror of the 2025 Arkansas Code)Third-party summary, accessed September 7, 2026
Arkansas has no separate osteopathic board. The Arkansas State Medical Board licenses and renews both MDs and DOs, its practitioner section treats them as one category (Medical Doctor / Osteopathic Doctor), and 17 CAR 140-1101 applies to every person holding an active license to practice medicine in the state, so ar-physician_md and ar-physician_do cite the same sources and carry the same values. The 20 hours per year, the 50 percent Category 1 requirement, the one hour opioid and benzodiazepine hour, the extension provision, the certification under penalty of perjury and the three year record retention were read in 17 CAR 140-1101 on the Code of Arkansas Rules, which the state designates as the official version. The three hour prescribing education requirement for prescribers licensed after December 31, 2015 was read in 17 CAR 140-202. The annual birth month registration and the automatic expiration were read in Arkansas Code 17-95-408 on the Justia mirror, because the Arkansas General Assembly publishes the code text as PDF and the state board's own statute compilation is also a PDF; neither was downloaded. The board's frequently asked questions page confirms 20 hours annually, the birth month to birth month reporting window, the 50 percent Category 1 rule, the opioid and benzodiazepine hour, and monthly random audits. The board's MD and DO application pack, which reportedly describes the renewal notices and the fifty dollar late fee, is a PDF and was not opened. No carryover allowance, no cap on self study hours and no first renewal exemption appear in the rules read, so those fields are null.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Arkansas State Medical Board before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.