Idaho Pharmacist license renewal and CE requirements
Idaho pharmacists must complete continuing education to renew every two years, but the Idaho State Board of Pharmacy (Idaho Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses) does not publish a fixed hour count.
Since July 1, 2025 an Idaho pharmacist license expires on the licensee's birthday rather than on a common date, and renewal moved from annual to every two years. Licensees born in odd numbered years began renewing for two years at a time on July 1, 2025; licensees born in even numbered years renewed for one more year in 2025 and moved to the two year cycle in 2026. Renewal can be submitted up to 60 days before the birthday expiration.
Summary
Idaho pharmacists must complete continuing education to renew every two years, but the Idaho State Board of Pharmacy (Idaho Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses) does not publish a fixed hour count. Since July 1, 2025 an Idaho pharmacist license expires on the licensee's birthday rather than on a common date, and renewal moved from annual to every two years. Licensees born in odd numbered years began renewing for two years at a time on July 1, 2025; licensees born in even numbered years renewed for one more year in 2025 and moved to the two year cycle in 2026. Renewal can be submitted up to 60 days before the birthday expiration.
Idaho Pharmacist renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Two-year (24 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Tied to the licensee's birth date |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | Not stated |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | Not stated |
| First renewal exempt | Not stated |
Idaho sets no hour count for pharmacist renewal, which is why hours_per_cycle is null rather than a number. Idaho Code 54-1723C, titled Renewal of pharmacist license, reads in full: 'To meet the standard of care, pharmacists are expected to complete sufficient continuing education germane to the practice of pharmacy to maintain their professional competence. At license renewal, every pharmacist shall attest that he has maintained competence through continuing education commensurate with the pharmacist's active practice setting.' The obligation is therefore a standard of care attestation, not a tally, and the unit is recorded as contact hours only because that is how the board counts education in the one place it does use a number. That place is reinstatement, not renewal: the board's pharmacist licensing page requires a lapsed licensee seeking reinstatement to show 30 hours of continuing education earned within the 24 months before the reinstatement application. Do not read that 30 hours as a renewal requirement. No live or interactive minimum, no self study cap, no carryover rule and no first renewal exemption appear in the statute, because the statute sets no quantity for any of them to apply to. These statements are scoped to the pharmacist license; pharmacist interns renew under Idaho Code 54-1725 and pharmacy technician registration is separate.
Required CE topics for Idaho pharmacists
The Idaho State Board of Pharmacy (Idaho Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses) pages and rules we read do not mandate specific subject areas for this license type. Hours may be in any approved subject.
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | No, attestation only |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | Not stated |
| Board audits compliance | Not stated |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Idaho RPh/PharmD need to renew?
- Idaho pharmacists must complete continuing education to renew every two years, but the Idaho State Board of Pharmacy (Idaho Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses) does not publish a fixed hour count. Idaho sets no hour count for pharmacist renewal, which is why hours_per_cycle is null rather than a number. Idaho Code 54-1723C, titled Renewal of pharmacist license, reads in full: 'To meet the standard of care, pharmacists are expected to complete sufficient continuing education germane to the practice of pharmacy to maintain their professional competence. At license renewal, every pharmacist shall attest that he has maintained competence through continuing education commensurate with the pharmacist's active practice setting.' The obligation is therefore a standard of care attestation, not a tally, and the unit is recorded as contact hours only because that is how the board counts education in the one place it does use a number. That place is reinstatement, not renewal: the board's pharmacist licensing page requires a lapsed licensee seeking reinstatement to show 30 hours of continuing education earned within the 24 months before the reinstatement application. Do not read that 30 hours as a renewal requirement. No live or interactive minimum, no self study cap, no carryover rule and no first renewal exemption appear in the statute, because the statute sets no quantity for any of them to apply to. These statements are scoped to the pharmacist license; pharmacist interns renew under Idaho Code 54-1725 and pharmacy technician registration is separate.
- How often does a Idaho RPh/PharmD license need to be renewed?
- Pharmacist licenses in Idaho renew every two years. Since July 1, 2025 an Idaho pharmacist license expires on the licensee's birthday rather than on a common date, and renewal moved from annual to every two years. Licensees born in odd numbered years began renewing for two years at a time on July 1, 2025; licensees born in even numbered years renewed for one more year in 2025 and moved to the two year cycle in 2026. Renewal can be submitted up to 60 days before the birthday expiration.
- Does Idaho require specific CE topics for pharmacists?
- The Idaho State Board of Pharmacy (Idaho Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses) does not list mandated subject areas for RPh/PharmD renewal on the pages we verified; the contact hours may be in any approved subject.
- Do Idaho pharmacists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates.
Sources
Last verified September 11, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- Idaho Code 54-1723C, Renewal of Pharmacist LicenseStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 11, 2026
- Idaho Code 54-1734, Pharmacist Prescribing, General RequirementsStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 11, 2026
- Big changes are on the way, licensure updates that may impact your renewal cycle, Idaho Division of Occupational and Professional LicensesState board page, accessed September 11, 2026
- Board of Pharmacy, Idaho Division of Occupational and Professional LicensesState board page, accessed September 11, 2026
- Licensing Information for Pharmacists, Idaho Board of PharmacyState board page, accessed September 11, 2026
- Idaho Code Title 54, Chapter 17, Pharmacists, section indexStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 11, 2026
Idaho is the outlier of this batch: it repealed fixed continuing education hours for pharmacists in favour of a standard of care attestation, and the operative text of Idaho Code 54-1723C was read in full on the legislature's own site. The section index for Title 54 Chapter 17 was checked and contains no other renewal or continuing education section for pharmacists, and 54-1734, the pharmacist prescribing section, imposes no training or continuing education condition beyond prescribing only where the pharmacist is educationally prepared and competence has been achieved and maintained, so mandatory_topics is empty rather than unknown. The biennial cycle and the birthday expiration were read on the division's own announcement, which names Pharmacist License in its fee table, and the board homepage repeats that the board moved to biennial licensure on July 1, 2025. The Idaho Administrative Code chapter for the board, IDAPA 24.36.01, is published only as a PDF and was not read under the no download rule, so documentation fields such as record retention, audit practice and approved provider requirements are null: no readable source stated them. NABP CPE Monitor and ACPE accreditation are not mentioned in the statute text read; ACPE appears in Idaho rule only as the accreditation standard a college of pharmacy must meet, which is an education rather than a continuing education requirement.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Idaho State Board of Pharmacy (Idaho Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses) before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.