Idaho Physical Therapist Assistant license renewal and CE requirements
Idaho physical therapist assistants must complete 32 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Idaho Physical Therapy Licensure Board (Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses).
Licenses expire on the licensee's birthday and may be renewed up to 60 days before expiration. As of October 14, 2025 the Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses is moving this board from one-year to two-year licenses: a licensee born in an odd year receives a two-year license at the first renewal on or after that date, and a licensee born in an even year renewed for one more year in 2025 and moves to the two-year cycle in 2026. Once on the two-year cycle the license fee doubles to cover both years. If a license lapses, reinstatement carries a reinstatement fee plus a two-year license fee, and the next renewal falls at least two years later on the licensee's birthday. The physical therapist assistant fee schedule lists an annual renewal fee of $20 and a biennial renewal fee of $40.
Summary
Idaho physical therapist assistants must complete 32 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Idaho Physical Therapy Licensure Board (Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses). Licenses expire on the licensee's birthday and may be renewed up to 60 days before expiration. As of October 14, 2025 the Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses is moving this board from one-year to two-year licenses: a licensee born in an odd year receives a two-year license at the first renewal on or after that date, and a licensee born in an even year renewed for one more year in 2025 and moves to the two-year cycle in 2026. Once on the two-year cycle the license fee doubles to cover both years. If a license lapses, reinstatement carries a reinstatement fee plus a two-year license fee, and the next renewal falls at least two years later on the licensee's birthday. The physical therapist assistant fee schedule lists an annual renewal fee of $20 and a biennial renewal fee of $40. Hours do not carry over between cycles.
Idaho Physical Therapist Assistant renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Two-year (24 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Tied to the licensee's birth date |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 32 contact hours |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | No |
| First renewal exempt | Not stated |
The board states the requirement without distinguishing the two credentials it licenses: every person holding a license issued by the Board must complete thirty-two (32) contact hours of continuing education every two years, and carryover hours are not permitted. The board licenses both physical therapists and physical therapist assistants (its fee schedule and its licensure routes list both), so the 32 hours are the physical therapist assistant requirement as well. During the move to two-year licensing the annual renewal form still asks for 16 of the 32 hours to be reported, and the board notes that a licensee who does not wish to report at that point may move past the section. The board's press release on the transition confirms that there are no changes to continuing education requirements. Hours must be germane to the profession and conducted by individuals with specialized education, training, and experience in the subject matter; the board may request documentation of a presenter's qualifications. The per-activity credit values for presentations, academic coursework, publications, home study, student supervision, and board certification appear in IDAPA 24.13.01.100 and in the board's continuing education guidance document, a PDF that the no-download rule excludes, so alternatives_accepted is left empty here rather than copied from the physical therapist record.
Required CE topics for Idaho physical therapist assistants
The Idaho Physical Therapy Licensure Board (Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses) pages and rules we read do not mandate specific subject areas for this license type. Hours may be in any approved subject.
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | No, attestation only |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | 2 years |
| Board audits compliance | Yes |
| Approved providers | The Board does not pre-approve continuing education courses or providers. Credit may be obtained by attending and participating in a continuing education activity germane to the profession, conducted by individuals qualified by specialized education, training, and experience. Licensees must maintain documentation of completed courses for two years and provide it to the Board on request. Certificates of completion are submitted at three points: optionally at the time of renewal, and mandatorily to reinstate a lapsed license and at the time of an audit. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Idaho PTA need to renew?
- Idaho physical therapist assistants must complete 32 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Idaho Physical Therapy Licensure Board (Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses). The board states the requirement without distinguishing the two credentials it licenses: every person holding a license issued by the Board must complete thirty-two (32) contact hours of continuing education every two years, and carryover hours are not permitted. The board licenses both physical therapists and physical therapist assistants (its fee schedule and its licensure routes list both), so the 32 hours are the physical therapist assistant requirement as well. During the move to two-year licensing the annual renewal form still asks for 16 of the 32 hours to be reported, and the board notes that a licensee who does not wish to report at that point may move past the section. The board's press release on the transition confirms that there are no changes to continuing education requirements. Hours must be germane to the profession and conducted by individuals with specialized education, training, and experience in the subject matter; the board may request documentation of a presenter's qualifications. The per-activity credit values for presentations, academic coursework, publications, home study, student supervision, and board certification appear in IDAPA 24.13.01.100 and in the board's continuing education guidance document, a PDF that the no-download rule excludes, so alternatives_accepted is left empty here rather than copied from the physical therapist record.
- How often does a Idaho PTA license need to be renewed?
- Physical Therapist Assistant licenses in Idaho renew every two years. Licenses expire on the licensee's birthday and may be renewed up to 60 days before expiration. As of October 14, 2025 the Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses is moving this board from one-year to two-year licenses: a licensee born in an odd year receives a two-year license at the first renewal on or after that date, and a licensee born in an even year renewed for one more year in 2025 and moves to the two-year cycle in 2026. Once on the two-year cycle the license fee doubles to cover both years. If a license lapses, reinstatement carries a reinstatement fee plus a two-year license fee, and the next renewal falls at least two years later on the licensee's birthday. The physical therapist assistant fee schedule lists an annual renewal fee of $20 and a biennial renewal fee of $40.
- Does Idaho require specific CE topics for physical therapist assistants?
- The Idaho Physical Therapy Licensure Board (Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses) does not list mandated subject areas for PTA renewal on the pages we verified; the 32 contact hours may be in any approved subject.
- Do Idaho physical therapist assistants have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 2 years. The Board does not pre-approve continuing education courses or providers. Credit may be obtained by attending and participating in a continuing education activity germane to the profession, conducted by individuals qualified by specialized education, training, and experience. Licensees must maintain documentation of completed courses for two years and provide it to the Board on request. Certificates of completion are submitted at three points: optionally at the time of renewal, and mandatorily to reinstate a lapsed license and at the time of an audit.
Sources
Last verified September 8, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- Physical Therapy Board, Idaho Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses (fee schedule for physical therapist assistants and continuing education FAQs)State board page, accessed September 8, 2026
- Big changes are on the way: transition from 1-year to 2-year licenses, Idaho DOPL press release, August 26, 2025State board page, accessed September 8, 2026
Idaho writes its continuing education requirement to cover every credential the Physical Therapy Licensure Board issues rather than naming PTs and PTAs separately: the board's FAQ answer reads 'Every person holding a license issued by the Board must complete thirty-two (32) contact hours of continuing education every two years', and the DOPL transition press release repeats the same sentence. The same page's fee table lists physical therapist assistant initial, annual, and biennial fees, which is what establishes that PTAs hold licenses issued by this Board. So Idaho is a state where the PTA total equals the PT total, at 32 contact hours per two years with no carryover. The renewal picture is genuinely in transition and is described in the deadline text rather than flattened: birthdays remain the expiration date, but whether a given licensee is on a one-year or two-year term in 2025 and 2026 depends on whether their birth year is odd or even. IDAPA 24.13.01 (the rule behind the FAQ) and the board's continuing education guidance are both published only as PDFs at files.dfm.idaho.gov and dopl.idaho.gov, which the no-download rule excludes, so the category values, any first-renewal proration, and the per-activity credits were not read and are left null or empty.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Idaho Physical Therapy Licensure Board (Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses) before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.