Idaho Registered Nurse license renewal and CE requirements
Idaho does not require continuing education for RN license renewal, which happens every two years.
Licenses renew every two years (Idaho Code 54-1411). Under IDAPA 24.34.01 the RN expiration date is August 31 of odd-numbered years, and DOPL began transitioning nursing licenses on April 1, 2026 to two-year terms that expire on the licensee's birthday, phased in by birth year. Renewal opens 60 days before expiration.
Summary
Requirements are changing. Idaho is mid-transition. DOPL began moving nursing licenses to two-year terms that expire on the licensee's birthday on April 1, 2026, phased in by birth year, while the fee rule and the board page still list the August 31 expiration for licensees who have not moved yet. Check your own expiration date in the DOPL portal and contact the Board of Nursing if it is not clear which cycle you are on.
Idaho does not require continuing education for RN license renewal, which happens every two years. Licenses renew every two years (Idaho Code 54-1411). Under IDAPA 24.34.01 the RN expiration date is August 31 of odd-numbered years, and DOPL began transitioning nursing licenses on April 1, 2026 to two-year terms that expire on the licensee's birthday, phased in by birth year. Renewal opens 60 days before expiration.
Idaho Registered Nurse renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Two-year (24 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Board-specific schedule |
| Continuing education required | No |
Idaho does not require continuing education for RN or LPN license renewal. IDAPA 24.34.01 Section 300.02 requires only the renewal application and fee by the renewal date, and Idaho Code 54-1411(1) makes the license valid when renewed every two years; the peer review competence documentation in 54-1411(2) applies only to APRNs. The same applies to RNs and LPNs.
Required CE topics for Idaho registered nurses
The Idaho Board of Nursing pages and rules we read do not mandate specific subject areas for this license type. Hours may be in any approved subject.
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | No, attestation only |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | Not stated |
| Board audits compliance | Not stated |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Idaho RN need to renew?
- Idaho does not require continuing education for RN license renewal, which happens every two years. Idaho does not require continuing education for RN or LPN license renewal. IDAPA 24.34.01 Section 300.02 requires only the renewal application and fee by the renewal date, and Idaho Code 54-1411(1) makes the license valid when renewed every two years; the peer review competence documentation in 54-1411(2) applies only to APRNs. The same applies to RNs and LPNs.
- How often does a Idaho RN license need to be renewed?
- Registered Nurse licenses in Idaho renew every two years. Licenses renew every two years (Idaho Code 54-1411). Under IDAPA 24.34.01 the RN expiration date is August 31 of odd-numbered years, and DOPL began transitioning nursing licenses on April 1, 2026 to two-year terms that expire on the licensee's birthday, phased in by birth year. Renewal opens 60 days before expiration.
- Do Idaho registered nurses have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates.
Sources
Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- Board of Nursing, Idaho Division of Occupational and Professional LicensesState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
- Big changes are on the way! Stay informed about important licensure updates that may impact your renewal cycle (DOPL, March 10, 2026)State board page, accessed September 7, 2026
- IDAPA 24.34.01 Rules of the Idaho Board of Nursing (Sections 300 and 400)Statute or administrative rule, accessed September 7, 2026
- Idaho Code 54-1411 Renewal and reinstatement of licenseStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 7, 2026
No continuing education requirement for RN or LPN renewal appears in IDAPA 24.34.01 (the full current rule PDF was searched; the only uses of the word continuing concern recovery programs) or in Idaho Code 54-1411, which requires only timely renewal and a fee (peer review documentation applies to APRNs). The DOPL Board of Nursing page does not mention CE. On renewal timing the rule text and the board page do not actually disagree: the board page carries both the August 31 expiration dates and the notice that biennial birthday-based licensure began April 1, 2026 and is being phased in by birth year, so both apply depending on the licensee. That is recorded as an advisory rather than a conflict, and basis stays other because no single basis is correct for every licensee today.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Idaho Board of Nursing before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.