Skip to main content
CredNet

Connecticut Registered Nurse license renewal and CE requirements

Connecticut registered nurses must complete 2 contact hours of continuing education every six years to renew their license with the Connecticut Department of Public Health, Board of Examiners for Nursing.

Licenses renew annually during the licensee's birth month (CGS 19a-88(c)); most licenses expire in the first birth month after issuance and are renewed annually after that through the eLicense portal. DPH emails a renewal notice 60 days before expiration.

Renewal cycle
Annual
Tied to the licensee's birth month
CE per cycle
2
contact hours every six years
Mandated topics
1
required subject
Last verified
September 7, 2026
15 days ago

Summary

Connecticut registered nurses must complete 2 contact hours of continuing education every six years to renew their license with the Connecticut Department of Public Health, Board of Examiners for Nursing. Licenses renew annually during the licensee's birth month (CGS 19a-88(c)); most licenses expire in the first birth month after issuance and are renewed annually after that through the eLicense portal. DPH emails a renewal notice 60 days before expiration. Connecticut also mandates specific subjects. Screening for conditions such as post-traumatic stress disorder, risk of suicide, depression and grief, and suicide prevention training: 2 contact hours on a periodic schedule set by the board (registered nurses and licensed practical nurses actively practicing in Connecticut; first renewal period on or after January 1, 2022, then at least once every six years).

Connecticut Registered Nurse renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleAnnual (12 months)
Renewal deadlineTied to the licensee's birth month
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle2 contact hoursCounted over a 72-month window, separate from the renewal cycle.
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNot stated
First renewal exemptNot stated

Connecticut has no general continuing education hour requirement for RN or LPN renewal. The only mandate is CGS 20-94e: for registration periods beginning on and after January 1, 2022, a registered nurse or licensed practical nurse actively practicing in Connecticut shall, during the first renewal period and not less than once every six years thereafter, earn not less than two contact hours of training or education on (1) screening for conditions such as post-traumatic stress disorder, risk of suicide, depression and grief, and (2) suicide prevention training. A contact hour is a minimum of fifty minutes. Qualifying activities include in-person and online courses offered or approved by the American Nurses Association, Connecticut Hospital Association, Connecticut Nurses Association, Connecticut League for Nursing, a specialty nursing society or equivalent, offerings sponsored by a hospital or other health care institution, or courses from a regionally accredited academic institution or a state or local health department. The two hours are recorded as hours_per_cycle with a 72-month CE cycle because the license itself renews annually.

Required CE topics for Connecticut registered nurses

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Screening for conditions such as post-traumatic stress disorder, risk of suicide, depression and grief, and suicide prevention trainingThe licensee attests to completion when renewing online and keeps records for three years; records are due to DPH within 45 days of a request.2 contact hoursPeriodicRegistered nurses and licensed practical nurses actively practicing in Connecticut; first renewal period on or after January 1, 2022, then at least once every six yearsCGS 20-94e (P.A. 21-46, S. 5)

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records for3 years
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersCourses offered or approved by ANA, Connecticut Hospital Association, Connecticut Nurses Association, Connecticut League for Nursing, a specialty nursing society or equivalent, a hospital or health care institution, a regionally accredited academic institution, or a state or local health department

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Connecticut RN need to renew?
Connecticut registered nurses must complete 2 contact hours of continuing education every six years to renew their license with the Connecticut Department of Public Health, Board of Examiners for Nursing. Connecticut has no general continuing education hour requirement for RN or LPN renewal. The only mandate is CGS 20-94e: for registration periods beginning on and after January 1, 2022, a registered nurse or licensed practical nurse actively practicing in Connecticut shall, during the first renewal period and not less than once every six years thereafter, earn not less than two contact hours of training or education on (1) screening for conditions such as post-traumatic stress disorder, risk of suicide, depression and grief, and (2) suicide prevention training. A contact hour is a minimum of fifty minutes. Qualifying activities include in-person and online courses offered or approved by the American Nurses Association, Connecticut Hospital Association, Connecticut Nurses Association, Connecticut League for Nursing, a specialty nursing society or equivalent, offerings sponsored by a hospital or other health care institution, or courses from a regionally accredited academic institution or a state or local health department. The two hours are recorded as hours_per_cycle with a 72-month CE cycle because the license itself renews annually.
How often does a Connecticut RN license need to be renewed?
Registered Nurse licenses in Connecticut renew every year. Licenses renew annually during the licensee's birth month (CGS 19a-88(c)); most licenses expire in the first birth month after issuance and are renewed annually after that through the eLicense portal. DPH emails a renewal notice 60 days before expiration.
What specific CE topics are required for Connecticut registered nurses?
Screening for conditions such as post-traumatic stress disorder, risk of suicide, depression and grief, and suicide prevention training: 2 contact hours on a periodic schedule set by the board (registered nurses and licensed practical nurses actively practicing in Connecticut; first renewal period on or after January 1, 2022, then at least once every six years). Citations: screening for conditions such as post-traumatic stress disorder, risk of suicide, depression and grief, and suicide prevention training (CGS 20-94e (P.A. 21-46, S. 5)).
Do Connecticut registered nurses have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 3 years. Courses offered or approved by ANA, Connecticut Hospital Association, Connecticut Nurses Association, Connecticut League for Nursing, a specialty nursing society or equivalent, a hospital or health care institution, a regionally accredited academic institution, or a state or local health department

Sources

Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

Cycle confirmed in CGS 19a-88(c): each registered nurse (subsection (c)(1)) and each licensed practical nurse (subsection (c)(3)) shall, annually, during the month of the person's birth, register with the Department of Public Health; the DPH knowledge base page adds that most licenses expire in the first birth month after issuance and renew annually after that. The two-hour, six-year mandate confirmed in CGS 20-94e and on the DPH Continuing Education page, which names both RNs and LPNs. DPH lists Registered Nurse and Licensed Practical Nurse among license types with CE requirements, pointing both to the same CE page. The board is the Board of Examiners for Nursing within DPH. Audits are by DPH request (45 days to produce records). Renewal fee $110 RN, $70 LPN. No em dashes used.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Connecticut Department of Public Health, Board of Examiners for Nursing before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.