Registered Nurse CE requirements by state
How registered nurses renew in each state: cycle, deadline basis, continuing education hours, and mandated topics. 51 of 51 jurisdictions verified so far; the rest are coming soon and are not estimated.
Jump to a state for registered nurses
Verified states
| State | Renewal | Deadline | CE per cycle | Mandated topics | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 24 contact hours | Board-provided continuing education on the statutory and administrative frameworks for nursing regulation, scope of practice, and standards of practice (the Mandatory course) | September 7, 2026 |
| Alaska | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 30 contact hours | None listed | September 7, 2026 |
| Arizona | 48-month | Same date for every licensee | None | None listed | September 7, 2026 |
| Arkansas | Two-year | Tied to the licensee's birth month | 15 contact hours | None listed | September 7, 2026 |
| California | Two-year | Tied to the licensee's birth month | 30 contact hours | Implicit bias course (AB 1407) | September 7, 2026 |
| Colorado | Not stated | Same date for every licensee | None | None listed | September 7, 2026 |
| Connecticut | Annual | Tied to the licensee's birth month | 2 contact hours every six years | Screening for conditions such as post-traumatic stress disorder, risk of suicide, depression and grief, and suicide prevention training | September 7, 2026 |
| Delaware | Two-year | Board-specific schedule | 30 contact hours | Substance abuse; Recognition of and response to suspected or known sexual abuse, physical abuse, exploitation, trafficking, or domestic violence of vulnerable persons, or the reporting obligations under Board rules | September 7, 2026 |
| District of Columbia | Two-year | Tied to the licensee's birth month | 24 contact hours | Cultural competency or specialized clinical training focusing on patients who identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer; Subjects determined by the Director of DC Health as public health priorities of the District | September 7, 2026 |
| Florida | Two-year | Board-specific schedule | 24 contact hours | Prevention of Medical Errors; Florida Laws and Rules; Recognizing Impairment in the Workplace; Human Trafficking; Domestic Violence; HIV/AIDS | September 7, 2026 |
| Georgia | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 30 contact hours | None listed | September 7, 2026 |
| Hawaii | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 30 contact hours | None listed | September 7, 2026 |
| Idaho | Two-year | Board-specific schedule | None | None listed | September 7, 2026 |
| Illinois | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 20 contact hours | Sexual harassment prevention training; Alzheimer's disease and other dementias training; Implicit bias awareness training | September 7, 2026 |
| Indiana | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | None | None listed | September 7, 2026 |
| Iowa | Three-year | Tied to the licensee's birth month | 36 contact hours | Mandatory reporter training: child abuse identification and reporting; Mandatory reporter training: dependent adult abuse identification and reporting | September 7, 2026 |
| Kansas | Two-year | Tied to the licensee's birth month | 30 contact hours | None listed | September 7, 2026 |
| Kentucky | Annual | Same date for every licensee | 14 contact hours | Pediatric abusive head trauma; Domestic violence and elder abuse, neglect, and exploitation; Alzheimer's disease and other forms of dementia; Suicide prevention | September 7, 2026 |
| Louisiana | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 30 contact hours | None listed | September 7, 2026 |
| Maine | Two-year | Tied to the licensee's birth date | None | None listed | September 7, 2026 |
| Maryland | Two-year | Tied to the licensee's birth month | 30 CEUs (30 contact hours) | Implicit bias and structural racism training | September 7, 2026 |
| Massachusetts | Two-year | Tied to the licensee's birth date | 15 contact hours | Diagnosis, treatment, and care of patients with cognitive impairments, including Alzheimer's disease and dementia; Domestic and sexual violence training (Chapter 260) | September 7, 2026 |
| Michigan | Two-year | Tied to the original issue date | 25 contact hours | Pain and pain symptom management; Implicit bias training; Training in identifying victims of human trafficking | September 7, 2026 |
| Minnesota | Two-year | Tied to the licensee's birth month | 24 contact hours | None listed | September 7, 2026 |
| Mississippi | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | None | None listed | September 7, 2026 |
| Missouri | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | None | None listed | September 7, 2026 |
| Montana | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | None | None listed | September 7, 2026 |
| Nebraska | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 20 contact hours | None listed | September 7, 2026 |
| Nevada | Two-year | Tied to the licensee's birth date | 30 contact hours | Cultural competency and diversity, equity and inclusion; Medical consequences of an act of terrorism involving a weapon of mass destruction (bioterrorism course); Stigma, discrimination and unrecognized bias toward persons who have or are at high risk of acquiring HIV | September 7, 2026 |
| New Hampshire | Two-year | Tied to the licensee's birth date | 30 contact hours | None listed | September 7, 2026 |
| New Jersey | Two-year | Board-specific schedule | 30 contact hours | Prescription opioid drugs, alternatives for pain, and the risks and signs of opioid abuse, addiction, and diversion | September 7, 2026 |
| New Mexico | Two-year | Tied to the licensee's birth month | 30 contact hours | None listed | September 7, 2026 |
| New York | Three-year | Tied to the licensee's birth month | None | Infection control and barrier precautions coursework (HIV and HBV transmission prevention); Child abuse identification and reporting coursework | September 7, 2026 |
| North Carolina | Two-year | Tied to the licensee's birth month | 30 contact hours | None listed | September 7, 2026 |
| North Dakota | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 12 contact hours | None listed | September 7, 2026 |
| Ohio | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 24 contact hours | Category A continuing education (Ohio Nurse Practice Act, Chapter 4723 ORC and the Board's rules) | September 7, 2026 |
| Oklahoma | Two-year | Tied to the licensee's birth month | 24 contact hours | None listed | September 7, 2026 |
| Oregon | Two-year | Tied to the original issue date | Required, hours not stated | Pain management education (Oregon Pain Management Commission module); Cultural competency continuing education | September 7, 2026 |
| Pennsylvania | Two-year | Board-specific schedule | 30 contact hours | Child abuse recognition and reporting (Act 31 of 2014); Organ and tissue donation and recovery process continuing education | September 7, 2026 |
| Rhode Island | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 10 contact hours | Substance abuse; Alzheimer's disease training | September 7, 2026 |
| South Carolina | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 30 contact hours | None listed | September 7, 2026 |
| South Dakota | Two-year | Tied to the licensee's birth date | None | None listed | September 7, 2026 |
| Tennessee | Two-year | Tied to the licensee's birth month | None | None listed | September 7, 2026 |
| Texas | Two-year | Tied to the licensee's birth month | 20 contact hours | Nursing jurisprudence and nursing ethics; Human trafficking prevention; Older adult or geriatric care; Forensic evidence collection | September 7, 2026 |
| Utah | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 30 contact hours | Approved online suicide prevention training | September 7, 2026 |
| Vermont | Two-year | Board-specific schedule | 20 contact hours | None listed | September 7, 2026 |
| Virginia | Two-year | Tied to the licensee's birth month | 30 contact hours | None listed | September 7, 2026 |
| Washington | Annual | Tied to the licensee's birth date | 8 contact hours | Health equity training; Suicide assessment, treatment, and management; Telemedicine training | September 7, 2026 |
| West Virginia | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 12 contact hours | Drug diversion, best practice prescribing of controlled substances, and opioid antagonist training | September 7, 2026 |
| Wisconsin | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | None | None listed | September 7, 2026 |
| Wyoming | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 40 contact hours | None listed | September 7, 2026 |