Skip to main content
CredNet

Licensed Practical Nurse CE requirements by state

How licensed practical nurses renew in each state: cycle, deadline basis, continuing education hours, and mandated topics. 51 of 51 jurisdictions verified so far; the rest are coming soon and are not estimated.

Jump to a state for licensed practical nurses

Verified states

StateRenewalDeadlineCE per cycleMandated topicsVerified
AlabamaTwo-yearSame date for every licensee24 contact hoursBoard-provided continuing education on the statutory and administrative frameworks for nursing regulation, scope of practice, and standards of practice (the Mandatory course)September 7, 2026
AlaskaTwo-yearSame date for every licensee30 contact hoursNone listedSeptember 7, 2026
Arizona48-monthSame date for every licenseeNoneNone listedSeptember 7, 2026
ArkansasTwo-yearTied to the licensee's birth month15 contact hoursNone listedSeptember 7, 2026
CaliforniaTwo-yearTied to the licensee's birth month30 contact hoursNone listedSeptember 7, 2026
ColoradoNot statedSame date for every licenseeNoneNone listedSeptember 7, 2026
ConnecticutAnnualTied to the licensee's birth month2 contact hours every six yearsScreening for conditions such as post-traumatic stress disorder, risk of suicide, depression and grief, and suicide prevention trainingSeptember 7, 2026
DelawareTwo-yearSame date for every licensee24 contact hoursSubstance abuse; Recognition of and response to suspected or known sexual abuse, physical abuse, exploitation, trafficking, or domestic violence of vulnerable persons, or the reporting obligations under Board rulesSeptember 7, 2026
District of ColumbiaTwo-yearTied to the licensee's birth month18 contact hoursLGBTQ or cultural awareness (cultural competency or specialized clinical training focusing on LGBTQ patients); Subjects determined by the Director of DC Health as public health priorities of the DistrictSeptember 7, 2026
FloridaTwo-yearSame date for every licensee24 contact hoursPrevention of Medical Errors; Florida Laws and Rules; Recognizing Impairment in the Workplace; Human Trafficking; Domestic Violence; HIV/AIDSSeptember 7, 2026
GeorgiaTwo-yearSame date for every licensee20 contact hoursNone listedSeptember 7, 2026
HawaiiTwo-yearSame date for every licensee30 contact hoursNone listedSeptember 7, 2026
IdahoTwo-yearBoard-specific scheduleNoneNone listedSeptember 7, 2026
IllinoisTwo-yearSame date for every licensee20 contact hoursSexual harassment prevention training; Alzheimer's disease and other dementias training; Implicit bias awareness trainingSeptember 7, 2026
IndianaTwo-yearSame date for every licenseeNoneNone listedSeptember 7, 2026
IowaThree-yearTied to the licensee's birth month36 contact hoursMandatory reporter training: child abuse identification and reporting; Mandatory reporter training: dependent adult abuse identification and reportingSeptember 7, 2026
KansasTwo-yearTied to the licensee's birth month30 contact hoursNone listedSeptember 7, 2026
KentuckyAnnualSame date for every licensee14 contact hoursPediatric abusive head trauma; Domestic violence and elder abuse, neglect, and exploitation; Alzheimer's disease and other forms of dementia; Suicide preventionSeptember 7, 2026
LouisianaAnnualSame date for every licenseeNoneNone listedSeptember 7, 2026
MaineTwo-yearTied to the licensee's birth dateNoneNone listedSeptember 7, 2026
MarylandTwo-yearTied to the licensee's birth month30 CEUs (30 contact hours)Implicit bias and structural racism trainingSeptember 7, 2026
MassachusettsTwo-yearTied to the licensee's birth date15 contact hoursDiagnosis, treatment, and care of patients with cognitive impairments, including Alzheimer's disease and dementia; Domestic and sexual violence training (Chapter 260)September 7, 2026
MichiganTwo-yearTied to the original issue date25 contact hoursPain and pain symptom management; Implicit bias training; Training in identifying victims of human traffickingSeptember 7, 2026
MinnesotaTwo-yearTied to the licensee's birth month12 contact hoursNone listedSeptember 7, 2026
MississippiTwo-yearSame date for every licenseeNoneNone listedSeptember 7, 2026
MissouriTwo-yearSame date for every licenseeNoneNone listedSeptember 7, 2026
MontanaTwo-yearSame date for every licenseeNoneNone listedSeptember 7, 2026
NebraskaTwo-yearSame date for every licensee20 contact hoursNone listedSeptember 7, 2026
NevadaTwo-yearTied to the licensee's birth date30 contact hoursCultural competency and diversity, equity and inclusion; Medical consequences of an act of terrorism involving a weapon of mass destruction (bioterrorism course); Stigma, discrimination and unrecognized bias toward persons who have or are at high risk of acquiring HIVSeptember 7, 2026
New HampshireTwo-yearTied to the licensee's birth date30 contact hoursNone listedSeptember 7, 2026
New JerseyTwo-yearBoard-specific schedule30 contact hoursPrescription opioid drugs, alternatives for pain, and the risks and signs of opioid abuse, addiction, and diversionSeptember 7, 2026
New MexicoTwo-yearTied to the licensee's birth month30 contact hoursNone listedSeptember 7, 2026
New YorkThree-yearTied to the licensee's birth monthNoneInfection control and barrier precautions coursework (HIV and HBV transmission prevention)September 7, 2026
North CarolinaTwo-yearTied to the licensee's birth month30 contact hoursNone listedSeptember 7, 2026
North DakotaTwo-yearSame date for every licensee12 contact hoursNone listedSeptember 7, 2026
OhioTwo-yearSame date for every licensee24 contact hoursCategory A continuing education (Ohio Nurse Practice Act, Chapter 4723 ORC and the Board's rules)September 7, 2026
OklahomaTwo-yearTied to the licensee's birth month24 contact hoursNone listedSeptember 7, 2026
OregonTwo-yearTied to the original issue dateRequired, hours not statedPain management education (Oregon Pain Management Commission module); Cultural competency continuing educationSeptember 7, 2026
PennsylvaniaTwo-yearSame date for every licensee2 contact hoursChild abuse recognition and reporting (Act 31 of 2014)September 7, 2026
Rhode IslandTwo-yearSame date for every licensee10 contact hoursSubstance abuse; Alzheimer's disease trainingSeptember 7, 2026
South CarolinaTwo-yearSame date for every licensee30 contact hoursNone listedSeptember 7, 2026
South DakotaTwo-yearTied to the licensee's birth dateNoneNone listedSeptember 7, 2026
TennesseeTwo-yearTied to the licensee's birth monthNoneNone listedSeptember 7, 2026
TexasTwo-yearTied to the licensee's birth month20 contact hoursNursing jurisprudence and nursing ethics; Human trafficking prevention; Older adult or geriatric care; Forensic evidence collectionSeptember 7, 2026
UtahTwo-yearSame date for every licensee30 contact hoursApproved suicide prevention trainingSeptember 7, 2026
VermontTwo-yearBoard-specific schedule20 contact hoursNone listedSeptember 7, 2026
VirginiaTwo-yearTied to the licensee's birth month30 contact hoursNone listedSeptember 7, 2026
WashingtonAnnualTied to the licensee's birth date8 contact hoursHealth equity training; Suicide assessment, treatment, and management; Telemedicine trainingSeptember 7, 2026
West VirginiaAnnualSame date for every licensee24 contact hours every two yearsSubstance abuse or drug diversion; Mental health conditions common to veterans and family members of veterans; End of life care including pain managementSeptember 7, 2026
WisconsinTwo-yearSame date for every licenseeNoneNone listedSeptember 7, 2026
WyomingTwo-yearSame date for every licensee40 contact hoursNone listedSeptember 7, 2026