Skip to main content
CredNet

Florida Licensed Practical Nurse license renewal and CE requirements

Florida licensed practical nurses must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Florida Board of Nursing.

LPN licenses renew every two years on a single fixed date; current LPN licenses expire at midnight Eastern on July 31, 2027. Renew through the MQA Online Services portal at flhealthsource.gov; the Renew My License option appears no later than 90 days before expiration. CE must be reported in CE Broker before the department renews the license. The board uses the term Licensed Practical Nurse.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Same date for every licensee
CE per cycle
24
contact hours
Mandated topics
6
required subjects
Last verified
September 7, 2026
15 days ago

Summary

Florida licensed practical nurses must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Florida Board of Nursing. LPN licenses renew every two years on a single fixed date; current LPN licenses expire at midnight Eastern on July 31, 2027. Renew through the MQA Online Services portal at flhealthsource.gov; the Renew My License option appears no later than 90 days before expiration. CE must be reported in CE Broker before the department renews the license. The board uses the term Licensed Practical Nurse. Florida also mandates specific subjects. Prevention of Medical Errors: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle. Florida Laws and Rules: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle. Recognizing Impairment in the Workplace: 2 contact hours on a periodic schedule set by the board. Human Trafficking: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle. Domestic Violence: 2 contact hours on a periodic schedule set by the board. HIV/AIDS: a one-time requirement of 1 contact hour. The first renewal is exempt.

Florida Licensed Practical Nurse renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineSame date for every licensee, 07/31 each cycleFirst renewal is prorated.
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle24 contact hours
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNot stated
First renewal exemptYes
Other accepted activitiesNational specialty certification (NCCA or ABSNC accredited program) in lieu of general CE hours, excluding the human trafficking course; Home study and self-directed learning meeting 64B9-5.003 standards; Accredited academic coursework advanced beyond original licensure (64B9-5.003(2)(f))

Fla. Admin. Code R. 64B9-5.002(1): during each biennium one contact hour must be earned for each calendar month of the licensure cycle, which the board expresses as 24 hours per biennium: 16 general hours plus the mandatory courses listed in mandatory_topics (medical errors, laws and rules, impairment, human trafficking). All courses can be live or home study. A nurse certified by a specialty program accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies or the Accreditation Board for Specialty Nursing Certification is exempt from continuing education requirements except the human trafficking course; the exemption must be reported in CE Broker. First biennium: nurses licensed by examination (or by endorsement after passing the exam in another state during the biennium) are exempt from the general hours but must still complete 2 hours medical errors, 2 hours Florida laws and rules, 2 hours recognizing impairment, 2 hours human trafficking, and 1 hour HIV/AIDS. Licenses issued for less than 24 months require one hour per month held, including the mandatory hours; no hours are required if six months or less remain in the biennium (64B9-5.002(3)). Military spouses absent from Florida are exempt. The same requirement applies to RNs and LPNs; an RN who also holds an LPN license satisfies both by completing RN continuing education (64B9-5.002(4)). The board renewal page for LPNs states the identical table of hours and mandatory courses as the RN page.

Required CE topics for Florida licensed practical nurses

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Prevention of Medical ErrorsMust be a board approved course; approved courses are listed at cebroker.com. Counts toward the 24 hours.2 contact hoursEvery renewalAll licenseesFla. Admin. Code R. 64B9-5.002(2)(a); 64B9-5.011
Florida Laws and RulesBoard approved two hour course on Chapters 456 and 464, F.S., and Division 64B9, F.A.C. Counts toward the 24 hours.2 contact hoursEvery renewalAll licenseesFla. Admin. Code R. 64B9-5.002(2)(c); 64B9-5.013
Recognizing Impairment in the WorkplaceRequired every other biennium (the board page says every other renewal). Board approved course. Counts toward the 24 hours. Non-canonical topic key.2 contact hoursPeriodicAll licenseesFla. Admin. Code R. 64B9-5.002(2)(d)
Human TraffickingRequired every biennium for renewals on or after January 1, 2019. The course does not have to be a Florida Board of Nursing approved course but must meet the criteria in s. 464.013, F.S. The national certification CE exemption does not waive this course. Counts toward the 24 hours.2 contact hoursEvery renewalAll licenseesFla. Admin. Code R. 64B9-5.002(2)(e); s. 464.013, F.S.
Domestic ViolenceRequired every third biennium. The board states these two hours are in addition to the 24 hours required for renewal. Board approved course.2 contact hoursPeriodicAll licenseesFla. Admin. Code R. 64B9-5.002(2)(f)
HIV/AIDSOne-time requirement in the first biennium, prior to the first renewal. Board approved course.1 contact hourOne timeAll licenseesFla. Admin. Code R. 64B9-5.002(2)(b)

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records forNot stated
Board audits complianceNot stated
Approved providersDo not submit certificates to the board; report hours to the Department of Health through CE Broker (cebroker.com). General hours must be approved by a state or national organization empowered to accredit nursing continuing education. All mandatory courses must be offered by a Florida Board of Nursing approved provider except the two hour human trafficking course.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Florida LPN/LVN need to renew?
Florida licensed practical nurses must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Florida Board of Nursing. Fla. Admin. Code R. 64B9-5.002(1): during each biennium one contact hour must be earned for each calendar month of the licensure cycle, which the board expresses as 24 hours per biennium: 16 general hours plus the mandatory courses listed in mandatory_topics (medical errors, laws and rules, impairment, human trafficking). All courses can be live or home study. A nurse certified by a specialty program accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies or the Accreditation Board for Specialty Nursing Certification is exempt from continuing education requirements except the human trafficking course; the exemption must be reported in CE Broker. First biennium: nurses licensed by examination (or by endorsement after passing the exam in another state during the biennium) are exempt from the general hours but must still complete 2 hours medical errors, 2 hours Florida laws and rules, 2 hours recognizing impairment, 2 hours human trafficking, and 1 hour HIV/AIDS. Licenses issued for less than 24 months require one hour per month held, including the mandatory hours; no hours are required if six months or less remain in the biennium (64B9-5.002(3)). Military spouses absent from Florida are exempt. The same requirement applies to RNs and LPNs; an RN who also holds an LPN license satisfies both by completing RN continuing education (64B9-5.002(4)). The board renewal page for LPNs states the identical table of hours and mandatory courses as the RN page.
How often does a Florida LPN/LVN license need to be renewed?
Licensed Practical Nurse licenses in Florida renew every two years. LPN licenses renew every two years on a single fixed date; current LPN licenses expire at midnight Eastern on July 31, 2027. Renew through the MQA Online Services portal at flhealthsource.gov; the Renew My License option appears no later than 90 days before expiration. CE must be reported in CE Broker before the department renews the license. The board uses the term Licensed Practical Nurse.
What specific CE topics are required for Florida licensed practical nurses?
Prevention of Medical Errors: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle. Florida Laws and Rules: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle. Recognizing Impairment in the Workplace: 2 contact hours on a periodic schedule set by the board. Human Trafficking: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle. Domestic Violence: 2 contact hours on a periodic schedule set by the board. HIV/AIDS: a one-time requirement of 1 contact hour. Citations: prevention of Medical Errors (Fla. Admin. Code R. 64B9-5.002(2)(a); 64B9-5.011), Florida Laws and Rules (Fla. Admin. Code R. 64B9-5.002(2)(c); 64B9-5.013), Recognizing Impairment in the Workplace (Fla. Admin. Code R. 64B9-5.002(2)(d)), Human Trafficking (Fla. Admin. Code R. 64B9-5.002(2)(e); s. 464.013, F.S.), Domestic Violence (Fla. Admin. Code R. 64B9-5.002(2)(f)), and HIV/AIDS (Fla. Admin. Code R. 64B9-5.002(2)(b)).
Do Florida licensed practical nurses have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates. Do not submit certificates to the board; report hours to the Department of Health through CE Broker (cebroker.com). General hours must be approved by a state or national organization empowered to accredit nursing continuing education. All mandatory courses must be offered by a Florida Board of Nursing approved provider except the two hour human trafficking course.
Is the first Florida LPN/LVN renewal exempt from CE?
Yes. Florida does not require continuing education for a LPN/LVN's first renewal.

Sources

Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

Hours, biennial cycle, and every mandatory course confirmed on the board renewal page and in rule 64B9-5.002 (7-30-19 version downloaded from flrules.org). The board page and rule 64B9-5.002(2)(e) both say two hours for human trafficking for nurses (other Florida professions have a one hour requirement under s. 456.0341). Licensee record retention and audit practice are not stated on the pages read; rule 64B9-5.003(8)(i) sets a four year retention duty on providers, not licensees, so retention_years is null. The statute s. 464.013 itself was not fetched. Carryover is not addressed in the rule read. The LPN page lists one fixed expiration date (July 31, 2027) for all LPNs.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Florida Board of Nursing before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.