Skip to main content
CredNet

District of Columbia Licensed Practical Nurse license renewal and CE requirements

District of Columbia licensed practical nurses must complete 18 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the District of Columbia Board of Nursing (DC Health).

17 DCMR 5501.1: a practical nurse license expires at midnight June 30 of each odd-numbered year (the 2025 LPN renewal was due June 30, 2025). 17 DCMR 5501.2 lets the Director move to birth-month expiration, and the Board of Nursing page states that all credentials issued on or after June 16, 2024 expire on the last day of the holder's birth month, so the deadline depends on when the license was issued. Under 5509.6 a licensee who misses the CE proof deadline may still renew within 60 days after expiration with late fees.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Tied to the licensee's birth month
CE per cycle
18
contact hours
Mandated topics
2
required subjects
Last verified
September 7, 2026
15 days ago

Summary

Requirements are changing. The District is part way through moving professional credentials from a dated renewal cycle to a birth month cycle. 17 DCMR 5401.1 still states that a nursing license expires at midnight on June 30 of each even-numbered year, while the Board of Nursing states that all credentials issued on or after June 16, 2024 expire on the last day of the holder's birth month, with renewing licensees moving onto that cycle from September 2024. Both statements are in force depending on when your credential was issued. Check the expiration date printed on your own credential and contact the Board of Nursing if it does not match the birth month cycle.

District of Columbia licensed practical nurses must complete 18 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the District of Columbia Board of Nursing (DC Health). 17 DCMR 5501.1: a practical nurse license expires at midnight June 30 of each odd-numbered year (the 2025 LPN renewal was due June 30, 2025). 17 DCMR 5501.2 lets the Director move to birth-month expiration, and the Board of Nursing page states that all credentials issued on or after June 16, 2024 expire on the last day of the holder's birth month, so the deadline depends on when the license was issued. Under 5509.6 a licensee who misses the CE proof deadline may still renew within 60 days after expiration with late fees. District of Columbia also mandates specific subjects. LGBTQ or cultural awareness (cultural competency or specialized clinical training focusing on LGBTQ patients): 2 contact hours every renewal cycle. Subjects determined by the Director of DC Health as public health priorities of the District: required every renewal cycle. The first renewal is exempt.

District of Columbia Licensed Practical Nurse renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineTied to the licensee's birth month
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle18 contact hours
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNot stated
First renewal exemptYes
Other accepted activitiesAcademic course toward a nursing degree or relevant to nursing practice (1 credit = 15 contact hours); Presenter option: developing and teaching a course for an approved CE provider (4 contact hours per approved contact hour; not for nurses required to teach as a condition of employment); Author of a book chapter or peer-reviewed article published or accepted during the period (meets all remaining non-required hours)

17 DCMR 5509.5: a licensee applying for renewal shall submit proof of completion of eighteen (18) contact hours of continuing education in the licensee's current area of practice; only hours obtained in the two years immediately preceding the application are accepted. The board's 2023 LPN renewal sheet confirms a total of 18 hours for LPNs, with 2 hours in LGBTQ or cultural awareness required by law and relevant topics from the DC Health public health priorities, and states that first-time renewals are exempt from CE. A credit hour is a minimum of 50 minutes, whole hours only; a semester hour equals 15 contact hours. The LPN count (18) differs from the RN count (24) and was read as its own fact. Per the Board of Nursing page, all credentials issued on or after June 16, 2024 expire on the last day of the holder's birth month, and during the transition licensees with less than two years on their term owe 50% of the CE (fees are not prorated); the mandated LGBTQ and public health priority hours still apply.

Required CE topics for District of Columbia licensed practical nurses

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
LGBTQ or cultural awareness (cultural competency or specialized clinical training focusing on LGBTQ patients)Listed as required by law on the board's 2023 LPN renewal sheet.2 contact hoursEvery renewalAll licenseesD.C. Code 3-1205.10(b)(5)
Subjects determined by the Director of DC Health as public health priorities of the DistrictThe Board of Nursing page says license holders remain responsible for the 10% public health priorities requirement; Chapter 55 as posted does not state a percentage for LPNs, so hours are left null. Public health priority domains published February 13, 2025: sexual and reproductive health; chronic disease management; One Health; health care professional retention and capacity building (including suicide prevention, burnout, substance use, implicit bias and cultural humility); community and patient safety.Not statedEvery renewalAll licenseesD.C. Code 3-1205.10 as implemented by DC Health; Board of Nursing renewal guidance

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalYes
Keep records forNot stated
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersPrograms approved by the Board: administered and approved by a registered nurse, nursing organization, or health services organization recognized by the Board, or by an accredited health care facility, college, or ANCC (17 DCMR 5510.6)

Common questions

How many CE hours does a District of Columbia LPN/LVN need to renew?
District of Columbia licensed practical nurses must complete 18 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the District of Columbia Board of Nursing (DC Health). 17 DCMR 5509.5: a licensee applying for renewal shall submit proof of completion of eighteen (18) contact hours of continuing education in the licensee's current area of practice; only hours obtained in the two years immediately preceding the application are accepted. The board's 2023 LPN renewal sheet confirms a total of 18 hours for LPNs, with 2 hours in LGBTQ or cultural awareness required by law and relevant topics from the DC Health public health priorities, and states that first-time renewals are exempt from CE. A credit hour is a minimum of 50 minutes, whole hours only; a semester hour equals 15 contact hours. The LPN count (18) differs from the RN count (24) and was read as its own fact. Per the Board of Nursing page, all credentials issued on or after June 16, 2024 expire on the last day of the holder's birth month, and during the transition licensees with less than two years on their term owe 50% of the CE (fees are not prorated); the mandated LGBTQ and public health priority hours still apply.
How often does a District of Columbia LPN/LVN license need to be renewed?
Licensed Practical Nurse licenses in District of Columbia renew every two years. 17 DCMR 5501.1: a practical nurse license expires at midnight June 30 of each odd-numbered year (the 2025 LPN renewal was due June 30, 2025). 17 DCMR 5501.2 lets the Director move to birth-month expiration, and the Board of Nursing page states that all credentials issued on or after June 16, 2024 expire on the last day of the holder's birth month, so the deadline depends on when the license was issued. Under 5509.6 a licensee who misses the CE proof deadline may still renew within 60 days after expiration with late fees.
What specific CE topics are required for District of Columbia licensed practical nurses?
LGBTQ or cultural awareness (cultural competency or specialized clinical training focusing on LGBTQ patients): 2 contact hours every renewal cycle. Subjects determined by the Director of DC Health as public health priorities of the District: required every renewal cycle. Citations: LGBTQ or cultural awareness (cultural competency or specialized clinical training focusing on LGBTQ patients) (D.C. Code 3-1205.10(b)(5)) and subjects determined by the Director of DC Health as public health priorities of the District (D.C. Code 3-1205.10 as implemented by DC Health; Board of Nursing renewal guidance).
Do District of Columbia licensed practical nurses have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Proof of completion must be submitted with the renewal and the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation. Programs approved by the Board: administered and approved by a registered nurse, nursing organization, or health services organization recognized by the Board, or by an accredited health care facility, college, or ANCC (17 DCMR 5510.6)
Is the first District of Columbia LPN/LVN renewal exempt from CE?
Yes. District of Columbia does not require continuing education for a LPN/LVN's first renewal.

Sources

Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

Hours (18) and cycle confirmed in 17 DCMR Chapter 55 (5501, 5509) and on the board's 2023 LPN CE compliance sheet. The posted Chapter 55 dates to the 2007 rulemaking and does not itself mandate LGBTQ or public health hours; those come from D.C. Code 3-1205.10(b)(5) and the board's renewal guidance. D.C. Code 3-1205.10(b)(4) also names practical nursing among occupations owing 3 HIV/AIDS credits; Chapter 55 does not waive it (Chapter 54 does for RNs) but the board's 2023 LPN sheet does not list it, so it is noted here rather than recorded as a mandatory topic. Some third-party CE vendor summaries quote 14 hours for DC LPNs; no DC Health source read supports that figure. proof_at_renewal is true because 5509.5 requires proof with the renewal and the board sheet says to upload evidence; 5506.4 provides for random audits with 10 days to respond. Retention period not stated. Custom topic key public_health_priorities used. No em dashes used. Renewal basis corrected 2026-09-10 from other to birth_month, and an advisory added. DC Health's nursing licensing page states that all credentials issued on or after June 16, 2024 expire on the last day of the holder's birth month and that this is the standard going forward, replacing the previous fixed renewal windows, with renewing licensees moving over from September 2024. On a two year cycle that covers current licensees. The legacy 17 DCMR 5401.1 June 30 even-year text has not been repealed, which is why this is recorded as an advisory rather than a silent switch. Previously this record and dc-crna said other while dc-np and dc-cnm said birth_month, on the same board and the same transition.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the District of Columbia Board of Nursing (DC Health) before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.