Connecticut Licensed Practical Nurse license renewal and CE requirements
Connecticut licensed practical nurses must complete 2 contact hours of continuing education every six years to renew their license with the Connecticut Department of Public Health, Board of Examiners for Nursing.
Licenses renew annually during the licensee's birth month (CGS 19a-88(c)); most licenses expire in the first birth month after issuance and are renewed annually after that through the eLicense portal. DPH emails a renewal notice 60 days before expiration.
Summary
Connecticut licensed practical nurses must complete 2 contact hours of continuing education every six years to renew their license with the Connecticut Department of Public Health, Board of Examiners for Nursing. Licenses renew annually during the licensee's birth month (CGS 19a-88(c)); most licenses expire in the first birth month after issuance and are renewed annually after that through the eLicense portal. DPH emails a renewal notice 60 days before expiration. Connecticut also mandates specific subjects. Screening for conditions such as post-traumatic stress disorder, risk of suicide, depression and grief, and suicide prevention training: 2 contact hours on a periodic schedule set by the board (registered nurses and licensed practical nurses actively practicing in Connecticut; first renewal period on or after January 1, 2022, then at least once every six years).
Connecticut Licensed Practical Nurse renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Annual (12 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Tied to the licensee's birth month |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 2 contact hoursCounted over a 72-month window, separate from the renewal cycle. |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | Not stated |
| First renewal exempt | Not stated |
Connecticut has no general continuing education hour requirement for RN or LPN renewal. The only mandate is CGS 20-94e: for registration periods beginning on and after January 1, 2022, a registered nurse or licensed practical nurse actively practicing in Connecticut shall, during the first renewal period and not less than once every six years thereafter, earn not less than two contact hours of training or education on (1) screening for conditions such as post-traumatic stress disorder, risk of suicide, depression and grief, and (2) suicide prevention training. A contact hour is a minimum of fifty minutes. Qualifying activities include in-person and online courses offered or approved by the American Nurses Association, Connecticut Hospital Association, Connecticut Nurses Association, Connecticut League for Nursing, a specialty nursing society or equivalent, offerings sponsored by a hospital or other health care institution, or courses from a regionally accredited academic institution or a state or local health department. The two hours are recorded as hours_per_cycle with a 72-month CE cycle because the license itself renews annually. The statute and the DPH page state the requirement for registered nurses and licensed practical nurses together, so the same sources support the RN record.
Required CE topics for Connecticut licensed practical nurses
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Screening for conditions such as post-traumatic stress disorder, risk of suicide, depression and grief, and suicide prevention trainingThe licensee attests to completion when renewing online and keeps records for three years; records are due to DPH within 45 days of a request. | 2 contact hours | Periodic | Registered nurses and licensed practical nurses actively practicing in Connecticut; first renewal period on or after January 1, 2022, then at least once every six years | CGS 20-94e (P.A. 21-46, S. 5) |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | No, attestation only |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | 3 years |
| Board audits compliance | Yes |
| Approved providers | Courses offered or approved by ANA, Connecticut Hospital Association, Connecticut Nurses Association, Connecticut League for Nursing, a specialty nursing society or equivalent, a hospital or health care institution, a regionally accredited academic institution, or a state or local health department |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Connecticut LPN/LVN need to renew?
- Connecticut licensed practical nurses must complete 2 contact hours of continuing education every six years to renew their license with the Connecticut Department of Public Health, Board of Examiners for Nursing. Connecticut has no general continuing education hour requirement for RN or LPN renewal. The only mandate is CGS 20-94e: for registration periods beginning on and after January 1, 2022, a registered nurse or licensed practical nurse actively practicing in Connecticut shall, during the first renewal period and not less than once every six years thereafter, earn not less than two contact hours of training or education on (1) screening for conditions such as post-traumatic stress disorder, risk of suicide, depression and grief, and (2) suicide prevention training. A contact hour is a minimum of fifty minutes. Qualifying activities include in-person and online courses offered or approved by the American Nurses Association, Connecticut Hospital Association, Connecticut Nurses Association, Connecticut League for Nursing, a specialty nursing society or equivalent, offerings sponsored by a hospital or other health care institution, or courses from a regionally accredited academic institution or a state or local health department. The two hours are recorded as hours_per_cycle with a 72-month CE cycle because the license itself renews annually. The statute and the DPH page state the requirement for registered nurses and licensed practical nurses together, so the same sources support the RN record.
- How often does a Connecticut LPN/LVN license need to be renewed?
- Licensed Practical Nurse licenses in Connecticut renew every year. Licenses renew annually during the licensee's birth month (CGS 19a-88(c)); most licenses expire in the first birth month after issuance and are renewed annually after that through the eLicense portal. DPH emails a renewal notice 60 days before expiration.
- What specific CE topics are required for Connecticut licensed practical nurses?
- Screening for conditions such as post-traumatic stress disorder, risk of suicide, depression and grief, and suicide prevention training: 2 contact hours on a periodic schedule set by the board (registered nurses and licensed practical nurses actively practicing in Connecticut; first renewal period on or after January 1, 2022, then at least once every six years). Citations: screening for conditions such as post-traumatic stress disorder, risk of suicide, depression and grief, and suicide prevention training (CGS 20-94e (P.A. 21-46, S. 5)).
- Do Connecticut licensed practical nurses have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 3 years. Courses offered or approved by ANA, Connecticut Hospital Association, Connecticut Nurses Association, Connecticut League for Nursing, a specialty nursing society or equivalent, a hospital or health care institution, a regionally accredited academic institution, or a state or local health department
Sources
Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- Continuing Education (Registered Nurse and Licensed Practical Nurse), Connecticut DPHState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
- Connecticut General Statutes Chapter 378 Nursing, Sec. 20-94eStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 7, 2026
- Connecticut General Statutes Chapter 368a, Sec. 19a-88 License renewalStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 7, 2026
- Practical Nurse Licensure, Connecticut DPHState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
- How do I renew a nursing license online in Connecticut? (DPH knowledge base)State board page, accessed September 7, 2026
- License Types with Continuing Education Requirements, Connecticut DPHState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
Cycle confirmed in CGS 19a-88(c): each registered nurse (subsection (c)(1)) and each licensed practical nurse (subsection (c)(3)) shall, annually, during the month of the person's birth, register with the Department of Public Health; the DPH knowledge base page adds that most licenses expire in the first birth month after issuance and renew annually after that. The two-hour, six-year mandate confirmed in CGS 20-94e and on the DPH Continuing Education page, which names both RNs and LPNs. DPH lists Registered Nurse and Licensed Practical Nurse among license types with CE requirements, pointing both to the same CE page. The board is the Board of Examiners for Nursing within DPH. Audits are by DPH request (45 days to produce records). Renewal fee $110 RN, $70 LPN. No em dashes used. The LPN licensure page links to the same Continuing Education page used for RNs.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Connecticut Department of Public Health, Board of Examiners for Nursing before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.