Connecticut Certified Nurse-Midwife license renewal and CE requirements
Connecticut does not require continuing education for CNM license renewal, which happens every year.
Connecticut licenses the nurse-midwife under its own practice act rather than as an advanced practice registered nurse. C.G.S. 19a-88(c)(4) states that each person holding a license as a nurse-midwife shall, annually, during the month of that person's birth, register with the Department of Public Health on payment of one hundred thirty dollars, and that no such license shall be renewed unless the department is satisfied that the person maintains current certification from the midwifery certification board. The department's own nurse-midwife licensure page lists the same one hundred thirty dollar renewal fee. Renewals are filed through the department's online renewal system, and the department mails a notice with online renewal instructions roughly 60 days before the expiration date.
Summary
Connecticut does not require continuing education for CNM license renewal, which happens every year. Connecticut licenses the nurse-midwife under its own practice act rather than as an advanced practice registered nurse. C.G.S. 19a-88(c)(4) states that each person holding a license as a nurse-midwife shall, annually, during the month of that person's birth, register with the Department of Public Health on payment of one hundred thirty dollars, and that no such license shall be renewed unless the department is satisfied that the person maintains current certification from the midwifery certification board. The department's own nurse-midwife licensure page lists the same one hundred thirty dollar renewal fee. Renewals are filed through the department's online renewal system, and the department mails a notice with online renewal instructions roughly 60 days before the expiration date. Connecticut also mandates specific subjects. Education in pharmacology for nurse-midwifery: a one-time requirement of 30 hours (applicants for initial nurse-midwife licensure). Screening for post-traumatic stress disorder, risk of suicide, depression and grief, and suicide prevention training: 2 hours on a periodic schedule set by the board (nurse-midwives who also hold a Connecticut registered nurse license, through that license rather than through the nurse-midwife license).
Connecticut Certified Nurse-Midwife renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Annual (12 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Tied to the licensee's birth month |
| Continuing education required | No |
Connecticut imposes no continuing education hour count on the nurse-midwife license itself. Three independent readings agree. First, Chapter 377, the nurse-midwifery practice act, sets licensure requirements in 20-86c and contains no continuing education provision at all. Second, the renewal provision for a nurse-midwife, C.G.S. 19a-88(c)(4), conditions renewal on maintained certification from the midwifery certification board and on the fee, and says nothing about hours; Chapter 377 is also absent from the list of chapters in 19a-88(e)(1), the subsection that sweeps most Department of Public Health licensees into the annual renewal application scheme. Third, the department's own list of license types with continuing education requirements names 33 professions, including Registered Nurse, Licensed Practical Nurse and Advanced Practice Registered Nurse, and does not include nurse-midwife or midwife. The fifty contact hour advanced practice requirement in C.G.S. 20-94d does not reach a Connecticut nurse-midwife: that section defines licensee as an advanced practice registered nurse licensed pursuant to section 20-94a, which is a different license issued under a different chapter. So CNM continuing education in Connecticut does not stack on, replace or run parallel to a nursing requirement; the state substitutes maintained national certification for hours entirely. AMCB certification is the load bearing renewal condition here: 20-86c requires the applicant to hold and maintain current certification from the American Midwifery Certification Board, and 19a-88(c)(4) bars renewal unless the department is satisfied the certification is maintained. The AMCB Certificate Maintenance Program's own five year totals are not recorded in hours_per_cycle because Connecticut adopts the fact of certification, not the certifying body's hour count. One entry requirement is worth noting for planning: an applicant must have completed thirty hours of education in pharmacology for nurse-midwifery before licensure.
Required CE topics for Connecticut certified nurse-midwifes
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Education in pharmacology for nurse-midwiferyThe Department of Public Health may issue a license to practice nurse-midwifery to an applicant who is eligible for Connecticut registered nurse licensure, holds and maintains current certification from the American Midwifery Certification Board, and has completed thirty hours of education in pharmacology for nurse-midwifery. This is an entry requirement, not a recurring renewal topic, and the department's licensure requirements page repeats the same thirty hour figure. | 30 hours | One time | applicants for initial nurse-midwife licensure | C.G.S. 20-86c |
| Screening for post-traumatic stress disorder, risk of suicide, depression and grief, and suicide prevention trainingTwo contact hours, required of registered nurses and licensed practical nurses actively practicing in Connecticut at the first license renewal after January 1, 2022 and at least once every six years after that. A contact hour is at least 50 minutes of instruction. This is recorded with a scope because Connecticut's nurse-midwife statute requires only eligibility for registered nurse licensure, not that the nurse-midwife actually hold an RN license, so this reaches a nurse-midwife only where she also holds one. Records must be kept at least three years and produced within 45 days on department request, and nurses attest to completion during online renewal. | 2 hours | Periodic | nurse-midwives who also hold a Connecticut registered nurse license, through that license rather than through the nurse-midwife license | Not stated |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | No, attestation only |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | Not stated |
| Board audits compliance | Not stated |
| Approved providers | For the nurse-midwife license the only documentation condition is maintained certification from the American Midwifery Certification Board, which the department must be satisfied about before renewing. No approved continuing education provider rule applies, because the license carries no continuing education requirement. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Connecticut CNM need to renew?
- Connecticut does not require continuing education for CNM license renewal, which happens every year. Connecticut imposes no continuing education hour count on the nurse-midwife license itself. Three independent readings agree. First, Chapter 377, the nurse-midwifery practice act, sets licensure requirements in 20-86c and contains no continuing education provision at all. Second, the renewal provision for a nurse-midwife, C.G.S. 19a-88(c)(4), conditions renewal on maintained certification from the midwifery certification board and on the fee, and says nothing about hours; Chapter 377 is also absent from the list of chapters in 19a-88(e)(1), the subsection that sweeps most Department of Public Health licensees into the annual renewal application scheme. Third, the department's own list of license types with continuing education requirements names 33 professions, including Registered Nurse, Licensed Practical Nurse and Advanced Practice Registered Nurse, and does not include nurse-midwife or midwife. The fifty contact hour advanced practice requirement in C.G.S. 20-94d does not reach a Connecticut nurse-midwife: that section defines licensee as an advanced practice registered nurse licensed pursuant to section 20-94a, which is a different license issued under a different chapter. So CNM continuing education in Connecticut does not stack on, replace or run parallel to a nursing requirement; the state substitutes maintained national certification for hours entirely. AMCB certification is the load bearing renewal condition here: 20-86c requires the applicant to hold and maintain current certification from the American Midwifery Certification Board, and 19a-88(c)(4) bars renewal unless the department is satisfied the certification is maintained. The AMCB Certificate Maintenance Program's own five year totals are not recorded in hours_per_cycle because Connecticut adopts the fact of certification, not the certifying body's hour count. One entry requirement is worth noting for planning: an applicant must have completed thirty hours of education in pharmacology for nurse-midwifery before licensure.
- How often does a Connecticut CNM license need to be renewed?
- Certified Nurse-Midwife licenses in Connecticut renew every year. Connecticut licenses the nurse-midwife under its own practice act rather than as an advanced practice registered nurse. C.G.S. 19a-88(c)(4) states that each person holding a license as a nurse-midwife shall, annually, during the month of that person's birth, register with the Department of Public Health on payment of one hundred thirty dollars, and that no such license shall be renewed unless the department is satisfied that the person maintains current certification from the midwifery certification board. The department's own nurse-midwife licensure page lists the same one hundred thirty dollar renewal fee. Renewals are filed through the department's online renewal system, and the department mails a notice with online renewal instructions roughly 60 days before the expiration date.
- What specific CE topics are required for Connecticut nurse-midwives?
- Education in pharmacology for nurse-midwifery: a one-time requirement of 30 hours (applicants for initial nurse-midwife licensure). Screening for post-traumatic stress disorder, risk of suicide, depression and grief, and suicide prevention training: 2 hours on a periodic schedule set by the board (nurse-midwives who also hold a Connecticut registered nurse license, through that license rather than through the nurse-midwife license). Citations: education in pharmacology for nurse-midwifery (C.G.S. 20-86c).
- Do Connecticut nurse-midwives have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates. For the nurse-midwife license the only documentation condition is maintained certification from the American Midwifery Certification Board, which the department must be satisfied about before renewing. No approved continuing education provider rule applies, because the license carries no continuing education requirement.
Sources
Last verified September 10, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- Midwife, Connecticut Department of Public Health, Practitioner Licensing and InvestigationsState board page, accessed September 10, 2026
- Midwife Licensure, Connecticut Department of Public HealthState board page, accessed September 10, 2026
- Midwife Licensure Requirements, Connecticut Department of Public HealthState board page, accessed September 10, 2026
- License Types with Continuing Education Requirements, Connecticut Department of Public HealthState board page, accessed September 10, 2026
- Continuing Education, Registered Nurse, Connecticut Department of Public HealthState board page, accessed September 10, 2026
- C.G.S. Chapter 377, Midwifery, sections 20-86a to 20-86iStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 10, 2026
- C.G.S. Chapter 368a, section 19a-88, License renewal by certain health care providersStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 10, 2026
- C.G.S. Chapter 378, Nursing, sections 20-94a and 20-94dStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 10, 2026
Connecticut is the surprise in this batch. It does have a distinct nurse-midwife credential, but it is not an advanced practice registered nurse license and it is not issued by the Board of Examiners for Nursing. Nurse-midwifery has its own practice act, C.G.S. Chapter 377, administered directly by the Department of Public Health; the chapter's advisory panel in 20-86d was repealed effective October 1, 2016, so no board sits over it. Of the four board patterns in the brief this is a fifth: a health department licensing the nurse-midwife under a standalone midwifery statute. That is also how the record was established to govern the nurse-midwife rather than a CPM or direct-entry midwife. C.G.S. 20-86a(2) defines nurse-midwife as a person who has demonstrated competence through an educational program accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Midwifery Education, is certified by the American Midwifery Certification Board, and is licensed under this chapter, and 20-86c requires the applicant to be eligible for Connecticut registered nurse licensure. 20-86e reserves the titles licensed nurse-midwife, L.N.M. and C.N.M. to persons licensed under the chapter. The only other midwife credential the chapter mentions is a legacy one: 20-86g preserves annual renewal, at a fifteen dollar fee, for any person who held a valid midwife license on June 30, 1983, and C.G.S. 19a-88(a) carries a separate twenty dollar midwife renewal for that older license. Nothing from that legacy license is recorded here. Every figure in this record was read on an official host: the Connecticut General Assembly's own statute site for Chapters 377, 378 and 368a, and the Department of Public Health's own pages for the licensure requirements, the renewal fee, the list of license types with continuing education requirements, and the registered nurse continuing education rule. Chapters 377 and 368a were fetched through a browser tab because a plain fetch of www.cga.ct.gov failed on certificate verification. Three findings disagree with, or simply do not carry over from, the existing Connecticut records. First, ct-np and ct-crna both name the Board of Examiners for Nursing as the regulator and record a fifty contact hour per twenty four month requirement with eight mandated topics; none of that reaches a nurse-midwife, because C.G.S. 20-94d scopes that requirement to an advanced practice registered nurse licensed pursuant to section 20-94a and the nurse-midwife is licensed under 20-86c instead. Second, the nurse-midwife license is annual like the APRN license but the department's continuing education list confirms it carries no hours. Third, 19a-88(c)(4) as printed says the department must be satisfied the person maintains current certification from the Accreditation Midwifery Certification Board, which appears to be a drafting error for the American Midwifery Certification Board named in 20-86a and 20-86c; this record uses the name from the practice act and flags the statutory wording rather than resolving it. AMCB certification does not merely condition renewal here, it substitutes for hours entirely, which is why continuing_education.required is false and unit is not_applicable. Topic key pharmacology is not in the canonical list. The department did not state audit practice, record retention for the nurse-midwife license, carryover or first renewal proration, so those fields are null; the three year retention and 45 day production window stated on the registered nurse continuing education page belong to that license and are described in the suicide prevention topic note rather than in the documentation block.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Connecticut Department of Public Health, Practitioner Licensing and Investigations before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.