Certified Nurse-Midwife CE requirements by state
How nurse-midwives renew in each state: cycle, deadline basis, continuing education hours, and mandated topics. 43 of 51 jurisdictions verified so far; the rest are coming soon and are not estimated.
Jump to a state for nurse-midwives
Verified states
| State | Renewal | Deadline | CE per cycle | Mandated topics | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 24 contact hours | Pharmacology content specific to prescriptive practice in the approved area for collaborative practice; Continuing education on the rules and statutes governing collaborative practice in Alabama; Board provided education on the statutory and administrative frameworks for nursing regulation, scope of practice, and standards of practice; Board approved controlled substance prescribing CME for holders of a Qualified Alabama Controlled Substances Certificate | September 10, 2026 |
| Arizona | 48-month | Same date for every licensee | None | Opioid related, substance use disorder related or addiction related continuing education; Pharmacology or clinical management of drug therapy in the population focus | September 10, 2026 |
| Arkansas | Two-year | Tied to the licensee's birth date | 15 contact hours | Pharmacotherapeutics continuing education in the APRN's area of certification; Maintaining professional boundaries and the prescribing rules, regulations and laws that apply to APRNs in Arkansas | September 10, 2026 |
| California | Two-year | Tied to the licensee's birth month | 30 contact hours | Implicit bias course; Continuing education specific to the use of Schedule II controlled substances in settings other than a hospital; Advanced pharmacology course covering the drugs and devices to be furnished, including the risks of addiction and neonatal abstinence syndrome associated with the use of opioids | September 10, 2026 |
| Colorado | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 2 contact hours | Substance use prevention training | September 10, 2026 |
| Connecticut | Annual | Tied to the licensee's birth month | None | Education in pharmacology for nurse-midwifery; Screening for post-traumatic stress disorder, risk of suicide, depression and grief, and suicide prevention training | September 10, 2026 |
| Delaware | Two-year | Board-specific schedule | 30 contact hours | Continuing education in the area of substance abuse; Recognition of and response to suspected or known sexual abuse, physical abuse, exploitation, trafficking or domestic violence of vulnerable persons; Continuing education in controlled substance prescribing practices, treatment of chronic pain, or other topics related to the prescribing of controlled substances | September 10, 2026 |
| Florida | Two-year | Board-specific schedule | 24 contact hours | Safe and effective prescription of controlled substances; Human trafficking; Prevention of medical errors; Florida laws and rules; Recognition of impairment in the workplace; Domestic violence; HIV and AIDS | September 10, 2026 |
| Georgia | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 30 contact hours | None listed | September 10, 2026 |
| Idaho | Two-year | Board-specific schedule | None | None listed | September 10, 2026 |
| Illinois | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 80 contact hours | Pharmacotherapeutics; Opioid prescribing or substance abuse education; Implicit bias awareness training, with maternal health risk factor content for maternal health care providers; Sexual harassment prevention training; Cultural competency training; Diagnosis, treatment and care of individuals with Alzheimer's disease and other dementias | September 10, 2026 |
| Indiana | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | None | Pharmacology contact hours | September 10, 2026 |
| Iowa | Three-year | Tied to the licensee's birth month | 36 contact hours | Mandatory Reporter of Child Abuse course; Mandatory Reporter of Dependent Adult Abuse course; Opioid prescribing continuing education | September 10, 2026 |
| Kansas | Two-year | Tied to the licensee's birth month | 30 contact hours | None listed | September 10, 2026 |
| Kentucky | Annual | Same date for every licensee | 14 contact hours | Pharmacology contact hours; Pain management or addiction disorders, within the pharmacology hours; Treating and managing patients with opioid or other substance use disorders; Alzheimer's disease and other forms of dementia; Suicide prevention; Domestic violence and elder abuse, neglect and exploitation; Pediatric abusive head trauma; Medicinal cannabis continuing education | September 10, 2026 |
| Louisiana | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 30 contact hours | Pharmacotherapeutics in the advanced nursing role and population focus; Controlled substance prescribing practices | September 10, 2026 |
| Maine | Two-year | Tied to the licensee's birth date | 50 CEUs | Pharmacology continuing education for a non-prescribing nurse-midwife | September 10, 2026 |
| Maryland | Two-year | Tied to the licensee's birth month | 30 CEUs | Implicit bias and structural racism training program | September 10, 2026 |
| Massachusetts | Two-year | Tied to the licensee's birth date | 15 contact hours | Training and education on the diagnosis, treatment and care of patients with cognitive impairments, including Alzheimer's disease and dementia; Prescriber training in effective pain management, opioid misuse and addiction risk, and safe prescribing; Domestic and sexual violence training (Chapter 260) | September 10, 2026 |
| Michigan | Two-year | Tied to the original issue date | 25 contact hours | Pain and pain symptom management; Implicit bias training; Training in identifying victims of human trafficking; Opioids and other controlled substances awareness training | September 10, 2026 |
| Minnesota | Two-year | Tied to the licensee's birth month | 24 contact hours | None listed | September 10, 2026 |
| Mississippi | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 5 contact hours | Continuing education directly related to controlled substances | September 10, 2026 |
| Missouri | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | None | None listed | September 10, 2026 |
| Montana | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | None | None listed | September 10, 2026 |
| Nebraska | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 20 contact hours | Continuing education regarding prescribing opiates | September 10, 2026 |
| Nevada | Two-year | Tied to the licensee's birth date | 45 contact hours | Cultural competency and diversity, equity and inclusion; Medical consequences of an act of terrorism involving a weapon of mass destruction; Evidence-based suicide prevention and awareness; Training relating to persons with substance use or other addictive disorders and the prescribing of opioids; Screening, brief intervention and referral to treatment approach to substance use disorder; Stigma, discrimination and unrecognized bias toward persons who have acquired or are at high risk of acquiring HIV | September 10, 2026 |
| New Hampshire | Two-year | Tied to the licensee's birth date | 60 contact hours | Pharmacology appropriate to the specialty practice area; Opioid prescribing, pain management or substance abuse disorder | September 10, 2026 |
| New Mexico | Two-year | Tied to the licensee's birth month | 30 contact hours | Pharmacology related contact hours; Chronic pain, controlled substances, substance use disorder, or controlled substance prescribing regulations; Chronic pain, controlled substances, substance use disorder, or controlled substance prescribing regulations, subsequent renewals; Health equity | September 10, 2026 |
| New York | Three-year | Tied to the licensee's birth month | None | Pain management, palliative care and addiction course work or training | September 10, 2026 |
| North Dakota | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 12 contact hours | Pharmacotherapy related to scope of practice | September 10, 2026 |
| Ohio | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 48 contact hours | Advanced pharmacology; Category A continuing education, directly related to the nursing statutes and rules of Ohio | September 10, 2026 |
| Oregon | Two-year | Tied to the original issue date | Required, hours not stated | Oregon Pain Management Commission pain management education program; Cultural competency continuing education | September 10, 2026 |
| Pennsylvania | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 30 contact hours | Child abuse recognition and reporting; Pharmacology; Pain management, the identification of addiction, or the practices of prescribing or dispensing opioids; Organ and tissue donation and recovery process; Advanced pharmacology coursework for the prescribing certificate, plus pain management and opioid prescribing education | September 10, 2026 |
| Rhode Island | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 20 contact hours | Pharmacology | September 10, 2026 |
| South Carolina | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 30 contact hours | Continuing education in pharmacotherapeutics; Prescribing controlled substances | September 10, 2026 |
| South Dakota | Two-year | Tied to the licensee's birth date | None | None listed | September 10, 2026 |
| Texas | Two-year | Tied to the licensee's birth month | 20 contact hours | Nursing jurisprudence and nursing ethics; Human trafficking prevention; Older adult or geriatric care; Forensic evidence collection; Pharmacotherapeutics; Safe and effective pain management related to the prescription of opioids and other controlled substances; Authorization to receive information from the Texas Prescription Monitoring Program | September 10, 2026 |
| Utah | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | None | Controlled substance database online tutorial and test | September 10, 2026 |
| Virginia | Two-year | Tied to the licensee's birth month | Required, hours not stated | Continuing education in pharmacology or pharmacotherapeutics | September 10, 2026 |
| Washington | Two-year | Tied to the licensee's birth date | 30 contact hours | Pharmacotherapeutics continuing education for ARNP prescriptive authority; Training in suicide assessment, treatment, and management; Health equity continuing education; Best practices in the prescribing of opioids; Telemedicine training | September 10, 2026 |
| West Virginia | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 24 contact hours | Pharmacotherapeutics, advanced pharmacology; Clinical management: assessment, diagnosis, planning and evaluation; Drug diversion, best-practice prescribing, and opioid antagonist training | September 10, 2026 |
| Wisconsin | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 16 contact hours | Clinical pharmacology or therapeutics relevant to the licensee's area of practice; Responsible prescribing of controlled substances | September 10, 2026 |
| Wyoming | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | None | Responsible prescribing of controlled substances or treatment of substance use disorders | September 10, 2026 |
Coming soon
8 jurisdictions are coming soon for nurse-midwives.
- Alaska
- District of Columbia
- Hawaii
- New Jersey
- North Carolina
- Oklahoma
- Tennessee
- Vermont