Utah Certified Nurse-Midwife license renewal and CE requirements
Utah does not require continuing education for CNM license renewal, which happens every two years.
The certified nurse midwifery license runs on a two year cycle and expires January 31 of even numbered years. Note that this is a separate license from the Utah registered nurse license, which expires January 31 of odd numbered years, and from the advanced practice registered nurse license, which expires January 31 of even numbered years under the Nurse Practice Act. The Division mails a renewal notice to the address of record at least 60 days before expiration, and failing to keep an address current can mean not receiving it. Under Utah Code 58-44a-303(1)(b) a renewal period may be extended or shortened by as much as one year to maintain or change an established renewal cycle.
Summary
Utah does not require continuing education for CNM license renewal, which happens every two years. The certified nurse midwifery license runs on a two year cycle and expires January 31 of even numbered years. Note that this is a separate license from the Utah registered nurse license, which expires January 31 of odd numbered years, and from the advanced practice registered nurse license, which expires January 31 of even numbered years under the Nurse Practice Act. The Division mails a renewal notice to the address of record at least 60 days before expiration, and failing to keep an address current can mean not receiving it. Under Utah Code 58-44a-303(1)(b) a renewal period may be extended or shortened by as much as one year to maintain or change an established renewal cycle. Utah also mandates specific subjects. Controlled substance database online tutorial and test: 0.5 hours every renewal cycle (controlled substance prescribers, which a nurse-midwife becomes on holding a Utah controlled substance license; Utah Code 58-44a-102 contemplates a certified nurse midwife prescribing Schedule II and III controlled substances under a consultation and referral plan).
Utah Certified Nurse-Midwife renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Two-year (24 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Same date for every licensee, 01/31 each cycle |
| Continuing education required | No |
Utah sets no continuing education hour count for the certified nurse midwife license. The Division of Professional Licensing states one renewal requirement on its certified nurse midwifery renewal page: hold a current certification from the American Midwifery Certification Board. Utah Code 58-44a-303(2) says the same thing in statutory terms, requiring the licensee at renewal to hold a valid certification from the American College of Nurse Midwives Certification Council, Inc., which is the predecessor name of the AMCB, and to have met continuing competency requirements defined by division rule. The division has not written any: the Nurse Midwife Practice Act Rule, R156-44a, contains no continuing education or continuing competency section, and 58-44a-304 only permits the division to establish continuing education by rule on a finding that it is necessary. Certification therefore carries the whole load, which makes AMCB recertification the practical requirement for a Utah nurse-midwife. The layering question does not arise the way it does elsewhere: the Utah certified nurse midwife license is its own license under its own practice act, not an endorsement on the registered nurse license, so the registered nurse continuing competency requirement in R156-31b-303, and the half hour suicide prevention item the Division lists on its advanced practice registered nurse renewal page, do not attach to this license. A Utah nurse-midwife who also chooses to hold a Utah registered nurse license owes the registered nurse requirement through that separate license on its own odd year clock.
Required CE topics for Utah certified nurse-midwifes
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Controlled substance database online tutorial and testR156-37-402(3)(c) refers to the required half hour of continuing education for the online tutorial and test relating to the controlled substance database, and lets the Division waive it if the prescriber attests on the renewal form that the prescriber accessed the database during the past license period and believes that use reduced unprofessional or unlawful opioid prescribing, dispensing and use. The Division may audit that attestation against database usage records. R156-37-402 sets no overall hour minimum for controlled substance prescriber continuing education and allows unlimited hours in blocks of at least 50 minutes, prorated from the date of licensure for a licensee not licensed for the full two year period, with documentation kept for two years after the end of the renewal cycle. Neither the Division's certified nurse midwifery renewal page nor R156-44a mentions this requirement, so it reaches a nurse-midwife through the separate controlled substance license rather than through the midwifery license. | 0.5 hours | Every renewal | Controlled substance prescribers, which a nurse-midwife becomes on holding a Utah controlled substance license; Utah Code 58-44a-102 contemplates a certified nurse midwife prescribing Schedule II and III controlled substances under a consultation and referral plan | Utah Code 58-37f-304(3); Utah Admin. Code R156-37-402(3)(c) |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | Not stated |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | Not stated |
| Board audits compliance | Not stated |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Utah CNM need to renew?
- Utah does not require continuing education for CNM license renewal, which happens every two years. Utah sets no continuing education hour count for the certified nurse midwife license. The Division of Professional Licensing states one renewal requirement on its certified nurse midwifery renewal page: hold a current certification from the American Midwifery Certification Board. Utah Code 58-44a-303(2) says the same thing in statutory terms, requiring the licensee at renewal to hold a valid certification from the American College of Nurse Midwives Certification Council, Inc., which is the predecessor name of the AMCB, and to have met continuing competency requirements defined by division rule. The division has not written any: the Nurse Midwife Practice Act Rule, R156-44a, contains no continuing education or continuing competency section, and 58-44a-304 only permits the division to establish continuing education by rule on a finding that it is necessary. Certification therefore carries the whole load, which makes AMCB recertification the practical requirement for a Utah nurse-midwife. The layering question does not arise the way it does elsewhere: the Utah certified nurse midwife license is its own license under its own practice act, not an endorsement on the registered nurse license, so the registered nurse continuing competency requirement in R156-31b-303, and the half hour suicide prevention item the Division lists on its advanced practice registered nurse renewal page, do not attach to this license. A Utah nurse-midwife who also chooses to hold a Utah registered nurse license owes the registered nurse requirement through that separate license on its own odd year clock.
- How often does a Utah CNM license need to be renewed?
- Certified Nurse-Midwife licenses in Utah renew every two years. The certified nurse midwifery license runs on a two year cycle and expires January 31 of even numbered years. Note that this is a separate license from the Utah registered nurse license, which expires January 31 of odd numbered years, and from the advanced practice registered nurse license, which expires January 31 of even numbered years under the Nurse Practice Act. The Division mails a renewal notice to the address of record at least 60 days before expiration, and failing to keep an address current can mean not receiving it. Under Utah Code 58-44a-303(1)(b) a renewal period may be extended or shortened by as much as one year to maintain or change an established renewal cycle.
- What specific CE topics are required for Utah nurse-midwives?
- Controlled substance database online tutorial and test: 0.5 hours every renewal cycle (controlled substance prescribers, which a nurse-midwife becomes on holding a Utah controlled substance license; Utah Code 58-44a-102 contemplates a certified nurse midwife prescribing Schedule II and III controlled substances under a consultation and referral plan). Citations: controlled substance database online tutorial and test (Utah Code 58-37f-304(3); Utah Admin. Code R156-37-402(3)(c)).
Sources
Last verified September 10, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- Renew a Certified Nurse Midwifery License, Utah Division of Professional LicensingState board page, accessed September 10, 2026
- Certified Nurse Midwifery Laws and Rules, Utah Division of Professional LicensingState board page, accessed September 10, 2026
- Utah Code 58-44a-303, Term of license, Expiration, RenewalStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 10, 2026
- Utah Code 58-44a-304, Continuing educationStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 10, 2026
- Utah Code 58-44a-301, Licensure required, License classificationStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 10, 2026
- Utah Code 58-44a-302, Qualifications for licensureStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 10, 2026
- Utah Code 58-44a-102, Definitions (Board of Nursing and Certified Nurse Midwives; nurse midwife; consultation and referral plan)Statute or administrative rule, accessed September 10, 2026
- Utah Code 58-31b-201, Board of Nursing and Certified Nurse MidwivesStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 10, 2026
- Utah Admin. Code R156-44a-303, License Renewal, Procedures (Cornell LII mirror)Third-party summary, accessed September 10, 2026
- Utah Admin. Code R156-37-402, Continuing Education for Controlled Substance Prescribers (Cornell LII mirror)Third-party summary, accessed September 10, 2026
- Direct-Entry Midwifery, Utah Division of Professional Licensing (the separate credential)State board page, accessed September 10, 2026
Utah is the unusual regulator in this batch. The certified nurse midwife is not an advanced practice registered nurse license here. Utah Code Title 58, Chapter 44a, the Nurse Midwife Practice Act, creates a standalone license, and 58-44a-301(2) directs the Division of Professional Licensing to issue a license in the classification certified nurse midwife. The oversight body straddles two chapters: 58-44a-102(2) defines the board as the Board of Nursing and Certified Nurse Midwives created in Section 58-31b-201, and 58-31b-201 composes that board of five nurses, two nurse midwives and two members of the public and gives it duties under both the Nurse Practice Act and the Nurse Midwife Practice Act. So this is closest to the common nursing board pattern, but the license itself sits outside the APRN license, which is why nothing in this record is inherited from the Utah nurse practitioner or nurse anesthetist records. The rule was established as governing the nurse-midwife rather than another kind of midwife from 58-44a-102(7), which defines a nurse midwife as a person licensed under that chapter to engage in practice as a certified nurse midwife, and from 58-44a-302(1)(c) and (d), which require the applicant to hold or qualify for a Utah registered nurse license and to have completed a certified nurse midwifery education program accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Midwifery Education. Utah separately licenses direct-entry midwifery through its own Division program, and none of that program's requirements are recorded here. AMCB certification is the substantive renewal requirement rather than an alternative to hours: 58-44a-303(2)(a) requires a valid certification from the American College of Nurse Midwives Certification Council, Inc., the predecessor name of the AMCB, and the Division's renewal page states the requirement in current terms as holding a current certification from the American Midwifery Certification Board. Per the brief's rule, the AMCB Certificate Maintenance Program totals are not recorded in hours_per_cycle. Three differences from the existing Utah records are deliberate and are worth flagging. First, ut-np and ut-crna record 0.5 contact hours per cycle and a half hour suicide prevention requirement; those come from the Division's advanced practice registered nurse renewal page and R156-31b-303, which govern the APRN license under the Nurse Practice Act, and neither the certified nurse midwifery renewal page nor R156-44a mentions suicide prevention. The word suicide does not appear on the Division's certified nurse midwifery renewal page. Second, ut-np and ut-crna record a controlled substance topic with no hours; R156-37-402(3)(c) does name a half hour for the controlled substance database tutorial and test, which is recorded here, while the rule states no overall hour minimum. Third, the expiration date is the same January 31 of even numbered years, but it is the midwifery license expiring, not an APRN license. The Utah Office of Administrative Rules site at adminrules.utah.gov serves its rule text from a JavaScript application whose public rule endpoints returned 404 to every direct request, so R156-44a-303 and R156-37-402 were read on the Cornell LII mirror; the section list for R156-44a was read there too and confirms the rule has no continuing education section. Everything recorded in the renewal block and the continuing education position is also stated on official Utah hosts, the Division's own renewal page and le.utah.gov.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Utah Division of Professional Licensing, Board of Nursing and Certified Nurse Midwives (Utah Department of Commerce) before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.