Utah Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist license renewal and CE requirements
Utah nurse anesthetists must complete 0.5 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Utah Division of Professional Licensing, Board of Nursing (Utah Department of Commerce).
Advanced practice registered nurse licenses, including the APRN-CRNA classification, expire on January 31 of even numbered years and renew on a two year cycle. This is a different date from the registered nurse license, which expires January 31 of odd numbered years, so a Utah nurse anesthetist who also holds a registered nurse license renews the two credentials in alternating years. The Division mails a renewal notice before expiration and renewal is filed online with an attestation that the competency and suicide prevention items were met.
Summary
Utah nurse anesthetists must complete 0.5 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Utah Division of Professional Licensing, Board of Nursing (Utah Department of Commerce). Advanced practice registered nurse licenses, including the APRN-CRNA classification, expire on January 31 of even numbered years and renew on a two year cycle. This is a different date from the registered nurse license, which expires January 31 of odd numbered years, so a Utah nurse anesthetist who also holds a registered nurse license renews the two credentials in alternating years. The Division mails a renewal notice before expiration and renewal is filed online with an attestation that the competency and suicide prevention items were met. Utah also mandates specific subjects. Online suicide prevention training: 0.5 contact hours every renewal cycle. Controlled substance continuing education: required every renewal cycle (nurse anesthetists who also hold a Utah controlled substance license).
Utah Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Two-year (24 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Same date for every licensee, 01/31 each cycle |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 0.5 contact hours |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | Not stated |
| First renewal exempt | Not stated |
| Other accepted activities | Being currently certified or recertified in the licensee's specialty area of practice, which is how nearly every nurse anesthetist meets the base competency requirement; For a nurse licensed as an advanced practice registered nurse before July 1, 1992: 400 hours of practice during the past two years plus 30 hours of approved continuing education |
Utah does not run its advanced practice requirement as a stack of contact hours, so the half hour recorded here needs its explanation. The Division's advanced practice registered nurse renewal page states that the licensee attests to being currently certified or re-certified in the specialty area of practice, or, if licensed as an APRN before July 1, 1992, to having practiced at least 400 hours during the past two years and completed 30 hours of approved continuing education. The same page states that the licensee must have completed at least one of the Division's online suicide prevention trainings, listing suicide safety planning with patients, talking to patients about suicide, and counseling on access to lethal means, each carrying 0.5 credit and each qualifying for continuing education credit. That half hour is the only fixed hour figure a typical Utah nurse anesthetist faces, which is why it is recorded as the hours per cycle. Utah treats the nurse anesthetist as its own license classification rather than a role designation inside a single APRN license: the Division's nursing page lists Advanced Practice Registered Nurse or Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist as its own renewal category and Advanced Practice Registered Nurse or Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist with Controlled Substance as another, and the Nurse Practice Act Rule defines APRN-CRNA as an advanced practice registered nurse with registered nurse anesthetist certification. Both classifications share the January 31 even year renewal date and the same renewal rule. The registered nurse route in the same rule, which offers 400 practice hours, or 200 practice hours plus 15 contact hours, or 30 contact hours, is a registered nurse route and is not layered on top of the advanced practice license.
Required CE topics for Utah certified registered nurse anesthetists
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Online suicide prevention trainingThe Division's advanced practice registered nurse renewal page states that the licensee must have completed at least one of its listed online suicide prevention trainings, which include suicide safety planning with patients, talking to patients about suicide, and counseling on access to lethal means, and that these qualify for continuing education credit. Each listed course is 0.5 credit. The page lists it among the renewal attestations without saying whether it must be repeated at every renewal, so every_cycle reflects how the page presents it rather than an explicit rule statement. Note that this is the opposite of Washington, which exempts nurse anesthetists from its suicide prevention training; nothing on the Utah page carves nurse anesthetists out. | 0.5 contact hours | Every renewal | All licensees | Not stated |
| Controlled substance continuing educationUtah issues a separate controlled substance license, and the Nurse Practice Act Rule points an advanced practice registered nurse who is authorized to prescribe controlled substances to Section R156-37-402 and Section 58-37-6.5 for the attached requirements. The Division runs a separate renewal page for an advanced practice registered nurse or certified registered nurse anesthetist with controlled substance authority, but that page could not be reached at the address tried, and no hour count for nurses was read on a page that was fetched, so hours is left null rather than borrowed from another profession. | Not stated | Every renewal | Nurse anesthetists who also hold a Utah controlled substance license | Utah Code 58-37-6.5; Utah Admin. Code R156-37-402 |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | No, attestation only |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | Not stated |
| Board audits compliance | Not stated |
| Approved providers | The Nurse Practice Act Rule defines approved continuing education as education approved by a nationally or internationally recognized approver of professional continuing education for health related industries, nursing education courses offered by an approved education program, health related coursework from an institution accredited by a body recognized by the U.S. Department of Education, continuing education approved by any state board of nursing, or training offered by the Division. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Utah CRNA need to renew?
- Utah nurse anesthetists must complete 0.5 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Utah Division of Professional Licensing, Board of Nursing (Utah Department of Commerce). Utah does not run its advanced practice requirement as a stack of contact hours, so the half hour recorded here needs its explanation. The Division's advanced practice registered nurse renewal page states that the licensee attests to being currently certified or re-certified in the specialty area of practice, or, if licensed as an APRN before July 1, 1992, to having practiced at least 400 hours during the past two years and completed 30 hours of approved continuing education. The same page states that the licensee must have completed at least one of the Division's online suicide prevention trainings, listing suicide safety planning with patients, talking to patients about suicide, and counseling on access to lethal means, each carrying 0.5 credit and each qualifying for continuing education credit. That half hour is the only fixed hour figure a typical Utah nurse anesthetist faces, which is why it is recorded as the hours per cycle. Utah treats the nurse anesthetist as its own license classification rather than a role designation inside a single APRN license: the Division's nursing page lists Advanced Practice Registered Nurse or Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist as its own renewal category and Advanced Practice Registered Nurse or Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist with Controlled Substance as another, and the Nurse Practice Act Rule defines APRN-CRNA as an advanced practice registered nurse with registered nurse anesthetist certification. Both classifications share the January 31 even year renewal date and the same renewal rule. The registered nurse route in the same rule, which offers 400 practice hours, or 200 practice hours plus 15 contact hours, or 30 contact hours, is a registered nurse route and is not layered on top of the advanced practice license.
- How often does a Utah CRNA license need to be renewed?
- Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist licenses in Utah renew every two years. Advanced practice registered nurse licenses, including the APRN-CRNA classification, expire on January 31 of even numbered years and renew on a two year cycle. This is a different date from the registered nurse license, which expires January 31 of odd numbered years, so a Utah nurse anesthetist who also holds a registered nurse license renews the two credentials in alternating years. The Division mails a renewal notice before expiration and renewal is filed online with an attestation that the competency and suicide prevention items were met.
- What specific CE topics are required for Utah nurse anesthetists?
- Online suicide prevention training: 0.5 contact hours every renewal cycle. Controlled substance continuing education: required every renewal cycle (nurse anesthetists who also hold a Utah controlled substance license). Citations: controlled substance continuing education (Utah Code 58-37-6.5; Utah Admin. Code R156-37-402).
- Do Utah nurse anesthetists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates. The Nurse Practice Act Rule defines approved continuing education as education approved by a nationally or internationally recognized approver of professional continuing education for health related industries, nursing education courses offered by an approved education program, health related coursework from an institution accredited by a body recognized by the U.S. Department of Education, continuing education approved by any state board of nursing, or training offered by the Division.
Sources
Last verified September 8, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- Renew an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse License, Utah Division of Professional LicensingState board page, accessed September 8, 2026
- Nursing, Utah Division of Professional LicensingState board page, accessed September 8, 2026
- Utah Admin. Code R156-31b-303, LPN, RN, and APRN License Renewal, Professional Downgrade, Continuing Education (Cornell LII mirror)Third-party summary, accessed September 8, 2026
- Utah Admin. Code R156-1-308a, Renewal Dates (Cornell LII mirror)Third-party summary, accessed September 8, 2026
The two core values, the January 31 even year expiration and the competency requirement of current specialty certification with the pre 1992 continuing education alternative, were both read on the Division's own advanced practice registered nurse renewal page at commerce.utah.gov, which is an official host, so the record clears the confidence bar without leaning on a mirror. The Nurse Practice Act Rule itself, R156-31b, was read in full on the Utah Office of Administrative Rules site, where R156-31b-102(4) defines APRN-CRNA as an advanced practice registered nurse with registered nurse anesthetist certification and R156-31b-303(3)(b) sets the advanced practice renewal competency, but that site is a single page application whose rule address returns HTTP 404 to every automated client, so it is not cited and the Cornell LII mirrors of the same two rules are cited instead as supporting third party sources. R156-1-308a is the rule that carries the renewal date table, which lists Advanced Practice Registered Nurse and Advanced Practice Registered Nurse - CRNA on the same January 31 even year date. Utah is one of the states where the nurse anesthetist is a distinct license classification rather than a role inside one APRN license, but the substantive renewal rule is shared with the other advanced practice classifications, so the requirement matches ut-np. Two gaps are left open rather than filled: the Division's page does not say whether the suicide prevention training repeats at every renewal or is a one time item, and the controlled substance hour count for nurses was not found on any page that was fetched. Retention and audit practice are not stated on the pages read, so both are null.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Utah Division of Professional Licensing, Board of Nursing (Utah Department of Commerce) before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.