Skip to main content
CredNet

Alabama Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist license renewal and CE requirements

Alabama nurse anesthetists must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Alabama Board of Nursing.

An Alabama nurse anesthetist holds a registered nurse license plus Board of Nursing approval to practice as a Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist, and Rule 610-X-9-.03 states that the CRNA renews the advanced practice approval at the time of the registered nurse license renewal. The renewal window opens at 8:00 a.m. on September 1 and closes at 4:30 p.m. on December 31; an Alabama single state RN license and its advanced practice approval renew in even numbered years, while a multistate license renews in odd numbered years. A license not renewed by 4:30 p.m. on December 31 lapses. The board states that advanced practice approval expires on whichever comes first, the RN license expiration date or the national specialty certification expiration date.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Same date for every licensee
CE per cycle
24
contact hours
Mandated topics
1
required subject
Last verified
September 8, 2026
14 days ago

Summary

Alabama nurse anesthetists must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Alabama Board of Nursing. An Alabama nurse anesthetist holds a registered nurse license plus Board of Nursing approval to practice as a Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist, and Rule 610-X-9-.03 states that the CRNA renews the advanced practice approval at the time of the registered nurse license renewal. The renewal window opens at 8:00 a.m. on September 1 and closes at 4:30 p.m. on December 31; an Alabama single state RN license and its advanced practice approval renew in even numbered years, while a multistate license renews in odd numbered years. A license not renewed by 4:30 p.m. on December 31 lapses. The board states that advanced practice approval expires on whichever comes first, the RN license expiration date or the national specialty certification expiration date. Alabama also mandates specific subjects. Pharmacology content specific to practice in the approved area: 6 contact hours every renewal cycle.

Alabama Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineSame date for every licensee, 12/31 each cycle
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle24 contact hours
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNot stated
First renewal exemptNot stated

Alabama applies one shared advanced practice pharmacology rule to every advanced practice role. The Board of Nursing requires 24 contact hours of board approved or board recognized continuing education per license period from all nurses, and the board's advanced practice FAQ states that all advanced practice nurses document six of those hours in pharmacology. Rule 610-X-9-.03 says the same thing in the nurse anesthetist's own words: an Alabama licensed CRNA earns, as part of the required 24 hours for license renewal, six contact hours of pharmacology content specific to practice in the approved area. Graduate pharmacology academic credit earned during the nurse anesthetist educational program before initial CRNA approval does not count toward renewal. The board's renewal page states that a nurse whose advanced practice designation is multistate needs only the six pharmacology hours rather than the full 24. Two obligations that bind Alabama nurse practitioners do not reach a CRNA. The board's advanced practice FAQ states that only CRNPs and CNMs are subject to the collaborative practice requirements, so the board prescribed collaborative practice education a CRNP owes does not apply, and the CRNA practices under the direction of or in coordination with a physician, podiatrist or dentist rather than under a collaborative practice agreement. Renewal is also conditioned on maintaining national certification as a nurse anesthetist: the board requires certification from the National Board of Certification and Recertification for Nurse Anesthetists, and the rule requires the CRNA to notify the board immediately and stop using the title if that certification lapses. That is a renewal condition, not a state hour count, and the NBCRNA Continued Professional Certification credits are not counted here.

Required CE topics for Alabama certified registered nurse anesthetists

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Pharmacology content specific to practice in the approved areaSix of the 24 contact hours required each biennial license period. The rule states these are pharmacology hours specific to practice in the approved area, and that graduate pharmacology credit earned during the nurse anesthetist program before initial approval does not count.6 contact hoursEvery renewalAll licenseesAla. Admin. Code r. 610-X-9-.03

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNot stated
Keep records forNot stated
Board audits complianceNot stated
Approved providersHours must be board approved or board recognized continuing education. Verification of NBCRNA certification is sent to the board directly by the certifying body at initial approval.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Alabama CRNA need to renew?
Alabama nurse anesthetists must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Alabama Board of Nursing. Alabama applies one shared advanced practice pharmacology rule to every advanced practice role. The Board of Nursing requires 24 contact hours of board approved or board recognized continuing education per license period from all nurses, and the board's advanced practice FAQ states that all advanced practice nurses document six of those hours in pharmacology. Rule 610-X-9-.03 says the same thing in the nurse anesthetist's own words: an Alabama licensed CRNA earns, as part of the required 24 hours for license renewal, six contact hours of pharmacology content specific to practice in the approved area. Graduate pharmacology academic credit earned during the nurse anesthetist educational program before initial CRNA approval does not count toward renewal. The board's renewal page states that a nurse whose advanced practice designation is multistate needs only the six pharmacology hours rather than the full 24. Two obligations that bind Alabama nurse practitioners do not reach a CRNA. The board's advanced practice FAQ states that only CRNPs and CNMs are subject to the collaborative practice requirements, so the board prescribed collaborative practice education a CRNP owes does not apply, and the CRNA practices under the direction of or in coordination with a physician, podiatrist or dentist rather than under a collaborative practice agreement. Renewal is also conditioned on maintaining national certification as a nurse anesthetist: the board requires certification from the National Board of Certification and Recertification for Nurse Anesthetists, and the rule requires the CRNA to notify the board immediately and stop using the title if that certification lapses. That is a renewal condition, not a state hour count, and the NBCRNA Continued Professional Certification credits are not counted here.
How often does a Alabama CRNA license need to be renewed?
Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist licenses in Alabama renew every two years. An Alabama nurse anesthetist holds a registered nurse license plus Board of Nursing approval to practice as a Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist, and Rule 610-X-9-.03 states that the CRNA renews the advanced practice approval at the time of the registered nurse license renewal. The renewal window opens at 8:00 a.m. on September 1 and closes at 4:30 p.m. on December 31; an Alabama single state RN license and its advanced practice approval renew in even numbered years, while a multistate license renews in odd numbered years. A license not renewed by 4:30 p.m. on December 31 lapses. The board states that advanced practice approval expires on whichever comes first, the RN license expiration date or the national specialty certification expiration date.
What specific CE topics are required for Alabama nurse anesthetists?
Pharmacology content specific to practice in the approved area: 6 contact hours every renewal cycle. Citations: pharmacology content specific to practice in the approved area (Ala. Admin. Code r. 610-X-9-.03).

Sources

Last verified September 8, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

The 24 contact hour total, the six pharmacology hours for advanced practice nurses, the September 1 to December 31 renewal window and the even year single state cycle were read on the Alabama Board of Nursing's own renewal page and advanced practice FAQ, which is an official host. The nurse anesthetist specific wording of the pharmacology requirement and the renewal at the time of RN renewal were read in Ala. Admin. Code r. 610-X-9-.03; the Alabama Administrative Code API serves chapter 610-X-9 as a PDF (Content-Type application/pdf), which the no download rule excludes, so the rule text was read through the Cornell LII mirror and cited as a third party source. Topic key pharmacology is not in the canonical list. Alabama does issue a distinct CRNA credential: an advanced practice approval layered on the RN license, listed by the board alongside CRNP, CNM and CNS. Compared with the Alabama nurse practitioner record, the hour total and the six pharmacology hours are identical because they are the shared advanced practice rule, but two CRNP obligations do not reach a CRNA: the collaborative practice continuing education, which the board's FAQ scopes to CRNPs and CNMs only, and the Qualified Alabama Controlled Substances Certificate CME, which attaches to a prescribing credential issued by the Board of Medical Examiners. No page read stated that a CRNA holds prescriptive authority in Alabama, so no prescriber mandate is recorded. The board did not state carryover, first renewal proration, audit practice or record retention on the pages read, so those fields are null.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Alabama Board of Nursing before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.