Illinois Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist license renewal and CE requirements
Illinois nurse anesthetists must complete 80 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation, Board of Nursing.
Illinois does not issue a separate nurse anesthetist license. A certified registered nurse anesthetist holds an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse license, and every APRN license expires on May 31 of each even-numbered year. The license may be renewed during the month preceding expiration, and the underlying registered nurse license must be renewed in order to renew the APRN license. At renewal the APRN attests to continued, current national certification in the specialty, which for a CRNA is certification by the National Board of Certification and Recertification of Nurse Anesthetists.
Summary
Illinois nurse anesthetists must complete 80 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation, Board of Nursing. Illinois does not issue a separate nurse anesthetist license. A certified registered nurse anesthetist holds an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse license, and every APRN license expires on May 31 of each even-numbered year. The license may be renewed during the month preceding expiration, and the underlying registered nurse license must be renewed in order to renew the APRN license. At renewal the APRN attests to continued, current national certification in the specialty, which for a CRNA is certification by the National Board of Certification and Recertification of Nurse Anesthetists. Illinois also mandates specific subjects. Pharmacotherapeutics: 20 contact hours every renewal cycle (all advanced practice registered nurses, including certified registered nurse anesthetists; the rule is not scoped to prescribers). Opioid prescribing or substance abuse education: 10 contact hours every renewal cycle (all advanced practice registered nurses, including certified registered nurse anesthetists; the nursing rule states this for all APRNs rather than only prescribers). Sexual harassment prevention training: 1 contact hour every renewal cycle (all persons holding a professional license issued by the Division who are subject to a continuing education requirement). Implicit bias awareness training: 1 contact hour every renewal cycle (advanced practice registered nurse is named in the list of licenses subject to the requirement). Cultural competency training: 1 contact hour on a periodic schedule set by the board (advanced practice registered nurse is named in the list of licenses subject to the requirement). Alzheimer's disease and other dementias training: 1 contact hour on a periodic schedule set by the board (only licensees who provide health care services to, and have direct patient interactions with, adult populations age 26 or older; it does not apply to a practice limited to persons under 26). Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) certification: required every renewal cycle (A CRNA who enters into a collaborative agreement to deliver anesthesia services in a physician's office). The first renewal is exempt.
Illinois Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Two-year (24 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Same date for every licensee, 05/31 each cycle |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 80 contact hours |
| Live or interactive minimum | 50 contact hours |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | Not stated |
| First renewal exempt | Yes |
| Other accepted activities | Independent study approved for CE credit (home study programs, journal articles, other health discipline independent study modules); Academic credits consistent with the approved content criteria (1 semester hour = 15 contact hours; 1 quarter hour = 12.5 contact hours); Presenting a non-repetitive 60 minute lecture to other health professionals (5 CE hours each); Authoring a paper or published article (10 CE hours); authoring a book chapter, dissertation or research project (20 CE hours), maximum 30 hours per renewal; Preceptorship of an APRN student, 10 CE hours per student per academic semester or quarter, maximum 30 hours per renewal period; Successful completion during the prerenewal period of a recertification exam in the APRN's area of specialty, 60 CE hours; Skills certification courses, up to 5 CE hours total (maximum 2 hours CPR, maximum 3 hours BLS, ACLS or PALS) |
This is the shared APRN rule, not a nurse anesthetist specific one, and the figure is identical to the Illinois nurse practitioner requirement. 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1300.130(a)(1)(C) states that all advanced practice registered nurses shall complete 80 hours of approved continuing education in the APRN's specialty per 2-year license renewal cycle, and that completing those 80 hours also satisfies the continuing education requirement for renewal of the registered professional nurse license (an RN alone owes 20 hours). An APRN holding more than one APRN license still completes 80 hours total. Inside the 80: a minimum of 50 hours must be obtained in continuing education programs, and those 50 must include no less than 20 hours of pharmacotherapeutics, of which 10 hours must be opioid prescribing or substance abuse education; a maximum of 30 hours may come from presentations in the APRN's clinical specialty, evidence based practice or quality improvement projects, publications, research projects, or preceptor hours. All CE must be completed in the 24 months preceding expiration. No CE is required for the first renewal of an Illinois license. Time equivalencies: 1 contact hour = 60 minutes, 1 CME = 1 contact hour, 1 CNE = 1 contact hour, 1 AMA credit = 1 contact hour. The American Association of Nurse Anesthetists and the National Board of Certification and Recertification for Nurse Anesthetists are named approved CE sponsors in 1300.130(c)(1)(G). CE earned in another jurisdiction from a sponsor not approved in Illinois needs an individual program approval request with a $25 fee filed before the program or within 90 days before expiration, with a $50 per hour late fee up to $300. Extreme hardship waivers may be requested before the renewal date. The 50 hour figure is recorded in live_or_interactive_minimum because the rule frames it as hours obtained in continuing education programs as opposed to the presentation, publication and preceptor credits capped at 30; the rule does not separately cap online or self-study delivery.
Required CE topics for Illinois certified registered nurse anesthetists
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PharmacotherapeuticsAt least 20 of the minimum 50 program hours must be pharmacotherapeutics. Counts inside the 80 hour total, not on top of it. Non-canonical topic key. | 20 contact hours | Every renewal | All advanced practice registered nurses, including certified registered nurse anesthetists; the rule is not scoped to prescribers | 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1300.130(a)(1)(C)(i) |
| Opioid prescribing or substance abuse educationTen of the 20 pharmacotherapeutics hours must be opioid prescribing or substance abuse education. A CRNA may select, order and administer medication including controlled substances under 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1300.450(a), and may be delegated prescriptive authority under Section 65-40 of the Act, but the CE rule does not turn on whether the CRNA prescribes. | 10 contact hours | Every renewal | All advanced practice registered nurses, including certified registered nurse anesthetists; the nursing rule states this for all APRNs rather than only prescribers | 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1300.130(a)(1)(C)(i) |
| Sexual harassment prevention trainingOne hour per renewal, counted toward the 80 hour total. Providers are limited to Division approved CE providers, entities recognized as CE providers under an Act the Division administers, State, county, municipal or federal agencies, accredited colleges or universities, or a licensed health care institution for its own employees and associates. A licensee holding several Division licenses takes it once. Non-canonical topic key. | 1 contact hour | Every renewal | All persons holding a professional license issued by the Division who are subject to a continuing education requirement | 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1130.400 |
| Implicit bias awareness trainingA one hour course, effective for all applicable license renewals on or after January 1, 2023, repeated for each subsequent renewal period. Counts toward the 80 hour total. Training completed for another state licensure requirement, professional accreditation or certification requirement, health care institutional practice agreement, or an employer developed course meeting the minimum content may be counted. | 1 contact hour | Every renewal | Advanced practice registered nurse is named in the list of licenses subject to the requirement | 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1130.500 |
| Cultural competency trainingOne hour, effective for the first applicable renewal on or after January 1, 2025, then repeated once every six years rather than every renewal. Counts toward the 80 hour total but no more than one credit hour in any one renewal period. | 1 contact hour | Periodic | Advanced practice registered nurse is named in the list of licenses subject to the requirement | 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1130.525 |
| Alzheimer's disease and other dementias trainingOne hour on the diagnosis, treatment and care of individuals with Alzheimer's disease and other dementias, effective for the first applicable renewal on or after January 1, 2023, repeated once every six years. Advanced practice registered nurse is on the list of covered licenses, subject to the age 26 limitation. Counts toward the 80 hour total but no more than one credit hour in any one renewal period. | 1 contact hour | Periodic | Only licensees who provide health care services to, and have direct patient interactions with, adult populations age 26 or older; it does not apply to a practice limited to persons under 26 | 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1130.550 |
| Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) certificationThis is the one nurse anesthetist specific training obligation in the Illinois rules. In a physician's office, any CRNA and physician who enter into a collaborative agreement shall obtain and maintain current ACLS certification. It is a practice condition rather than a CE hour count, though up to 3 hours of ACLS certification or recertification may be claimed within the 5 hour skills certification cap in 1300.130(b)(6). Non-canonical topic key. | Not stated | Every renewal | A CRNA who enters into a collaborative agreement to deliver anesthesia services in a physician's office | 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1300.450(d) |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | No, attestation only |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | Not stated |
| Board audits compliance | Yes |
| Approved providers | Each renewal applicant certifies full compliance on the renewal application; the Division may require certificates of attendance in its random audit and it is the licensee's responsibility to retain or produce evidence (68 Ill. Adm. Code 1300.130(d)). Approved sponsors under 1300.130(c)(1) include approved providers of the recognized certification bodies listed in Section 1300.400(a), which for nurse anesthetists is the National Board of Certification and Recertification of Nurse Anesthetists; the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists (AANA) and NBCNA are separately named; also ANCC accredited or approved providers, ISAPN, AANP, NPACE, NACNS, ACNM, ANA-Illinois, the Illinois Nurse Association and affiliates, providers approved by another state's board of nursing, Illinois approved nursing education programs, employers licensed under the Hospital Licensing Act or the Ambulatory Surgical Treatment Center Act, CME conferences authorized under the Illinois Medical Practice Act, and other accredited schools, colleges, universities or government agencies. Sponsors keep attendance records for not less than 5 years; the rule states no licensee retention period. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Illinois CRNA need to renew?
- Illinois nurse anesthetists must complete 80 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation, Board of Nursing. This is the shared APRN rule, not a nurse anesthetist specific one, and the figure is identical to the Illinois nurse practitioner requirement. 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1300.130(a)(1)(C) states that all advanced practice registered nurses shall complete 80 hours of approved continuing education in the APRN's specialty per 2-year license renewal cycle, and that completing those 80 hours also satisfies the continuing education requirement for renewal of the registered professional nurse license (an RN alone owes 20 hours). An APRN holding more than one APRN license still completes 80 hours total. Inside the 80: a minimum of 50 hours must be obtained in continuing education programs, and those 50 must include no less than 20 hours of pharmacotherapeutics, of which 10 hours must be opioid prescribing or substance abuse education; a maximum of 30 hours may come from presentations in the APRN's clinical specialty, evidence based practice or quality improvement projects, publications, research projects, or preceptor hours. All CE must be completed in the 24 months preceding expiration. No CE is required for the first renewal of an Illinois license. Time equivalencies: 1 contact hour = 60 minutes, 1 CME = 1 contact hour, 1 CNE = 1 contact hour, 1 AMA credit = 1 contact hour. The American Association of Nurse Anesthetists and the National Board of Certification and Recertification for Nurse Anesthetists are named approved CE sponsors in 1300.130(c)(1)(G). CE earned in another jurisdiction from a sponsor not approved in Illinois needs an individual program approval request with a $25 fee filed before the program or within 90 days before expiration, with a $50 per hour late fee up to $300. Extreme hardship waivers may be requested before the renewal date. The 50 hour figure is recorded in live_or_interactive_minimum because the rule frames it as hours obtained in continuing education programs as opposed to the presentation, publication and preceptor credits capped at 30; the rule does not separately cap online or self-study delivery.
- How often does a Illinois CRNA license need to be renewed?
- Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist licenses in Illinois renew every two years. Illinois does not issue a separate nurse anesthetist license. A certified registered nurse anesthetist holds an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse license, and every APRN license expires on May 31 of each even-numbered year. The license may be renewed during the month preceding expiration, and the underlying registered nurse license must be renewed in order to renew the APRN license. At renewal the APRN attests to continued, current national certification in the specialty, which for a CRNA is certification by the National Board of Certification and Recertification of Nurse Anesthetists.
- What specific CE topics are required for Illinois nurse anesthetists?
- Pharmacotherapeutics: 20 contact hours every renewal cycle (all advanced practice registered nurses, including certified registered nurse anesthetists; the rule is not scoped to prescribers). Opioid prescribing or substance abuse education: 10 contact hours every renewal cycle (all advanced practice registered nurses, including certified registered nurse anesthetists; the nursing rule states this for all APRNs rather than only prescribers). Sexual harassment prevention training: 1 contact hour every renewal cycle (all persons holding a professional license issued by the Division who are subject to a continuing education requirement). Implicit bias awareness training: 1 contact hour every renewal cycle (advanced practice registered nurse is named in the list of licenses subject to the requirement). Cultural competency training: 1 contact hour on a periodic schedule set by the board (advanced practice registered nurse is named in the list of licenses subject to the requirement). Alzheimer's disease and other dementias training: 1 contact hour on a periodic schedule set by the board (only licensees who provide health care services to, and have direct patient interactions with, adult populations age 26 or older; it does not apply to a practice limited to persons under 26). Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) certification: required every renewal cycle (A CRNA who enters into a collaborative agreement to deliver anesthesia services in a physician's office). Citations: pharmacotherapeutics (68 Ill. Adm. Code 1300.130(a)(1)(C)(i)), opioid prescribing or substance abuse education (68 Ill. Adm. Code 1300.130(a)(1)(C)(i)), sexual harassment prevention training (68 Ill. Adm. Code 1130.400), implicit bias awareness training (68 Ill. Adm. Code 1130.500), cultural competency training (68 Ill. Adm. Code 1130.525), Alzheimer's disease and other dementias training (68 Ill. Adm. Code 1130.550), and Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) certification (68 Ill. Adm. Code 1300.450(d)).
- Do Illinois nurse anesthetists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates and the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation. Each renewal applicant certifies full compliance on the renewal application; the Division may require certificates of attendance in its random audit and it is the licensee's responsibility to retain or produce evidence (68 Ill. Adm. Code 1300.130(d)). Approved sponsors under 1300.130(c)(1) include approved providers of the recognized certification bodies listed in Section 1300.400(a), which for nurse anesthetists is the National Board of Certification and Recertification of Nurse Anesthetists; the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists (AANA) and NBCNA are separately named; also ANCC accredited or approved providers, ISAPN, AANP, NPACE, NACNS, ACNM, ANA-Illinois, the Illinois Nurse Association and affiliates, providers approved by another state's board of nursing, Illinois approved nursing education programs, employers licensed under the Hospital Licensing Act or the Ambulatory Surgical Treatment Center Act, CME conferences authorized under the Illinois Medical Practice Act, and other accredited schools, colleges, universities or government agencies. Sponsors keep attendance records for not less than 5 years; the rule states no licensee retention period.
- Is the first Illinois CRNA renewal exempt from CE?
- Yes. Illinois does not require continuing education for a CRNA's first renewal.
Sources
Last verified September 8, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1300.130 Continuing Education (Nurse Practice Act rules)Statute or administrative rule, accessed September 8, 2026
- 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1300 Nurse Practice Act rules, including Section 1300.10 Definitions, Section 1300.40 Renewals, Section 1300.400 Application for Licensure and Section 1300.450 Delivery of Anesthesia Services by a Certified Registered Nurse AnesthetistStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 8, 2026
- 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1130, including Sections 1130.400, 1130.500, 1130.525 and 1130.550 on sexual harassment prevention, implicit bias, cultural competency and dementia trainingStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 8, 2026
- Nursing, Illinois Department of Financial and Professional RegulationState board page, accessed September 8, 2026
- Online License Renewal, Illinois Department of Financial and Professional RegulationState board page, accessed September 8, 2026
Illinois does not issue a distinct CRNA credential. 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1300.10 defines Advanced Practice Registered Nurse as a person who has met the qualifications for a certified nurse midwife, certified nurse practitioner, certified registered nurse anesthetist or clinical nurse specialist and has been licensed by the Division, and all four use the title APRN. The question the assignment raised, whether the CE differs from the 80 hours recorded for Illinois NPs, was checked directly against the rule text: it does not. Section 1300.130(a)(1)(C) sets one 80 hour figure for all APRNs with no role specific variation, Section 1300.40(a) repeats the 80 hours for every APRN renewal, and there is no nurse anesthetist continuing education provision anywhere else in Part 1300. The full text of Part 1300 was read and every occurrence of anesthetist was checked: the CRNA specific provisions are about anesthesia practice, not CE. They are Section 1300.450 (anesthesia services outside a hospital or ambulatory surgical treatment center, requiring a written collaborative agreement with an anesthesiologist, physician, dentist or podiatric physician; ACLS certification in a physician's office; compliance with Standards 1 through 11 of the AANA Standards for Office Based Anesthesia Practice, 2005 edition, incorporated by reference), Section 1300.400(a)(2)(C) (NBCRNA is the recognized certifying body), and Section 1300.130(c)(1)(G) (AANA and NBCNA as approved CE sponsors). Current national certification is an attestation at renewal under 1300.40(a), except for an APRN continuously licensed since 2001 who does not meet the educational requirements for national certification; it is a renewal condition and not a stated substitute for the 80 hours. Illinois does not adopt NBCRNA Continued Professional Certification credit totals as its requirement, and the four year CPC cycle does not line up with the state's two year May 31 cycle. Two mandatory topic keys are outside the canonical list: pharmacology and sexual_harassment_prevention; a third, advanced_cardiac_life_support, is a practice condition rather than a CE subject and is recorded because it is the only nurse anesthetist specific training obligation in the rules. Licensee record retention is not stated in the rule, only the 5 year sponsor retention. The ilga.gov pages return a TLS chain error to some automated clients and a 403 to a default user agent; they were read as rendered HTML with a standard browser user agent.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation, Board of Nursing before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.