Skip to main content
CredNet

Florida Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist license renewal and CE requirements

Florida nurse anesthetists must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Florida Board of Nursing.

Florida licenses the nurse anesthetist as an advanced practice registered nurse in the certified registered nurse anesthetist specialty under F.S. 464.012, and the license renews biennially. The board splits APRNs into three renewal groups with different expiration dates, currently listing Group 1 expiring April 30, 2028, Group 2 expiring July 31, 2028, and Group 3 expiring April 30, 2027, so a licensee has to check which group the license sits in. Renewal is conditioned on certification by an appropriate specialty board: F.S. 464.012(1)(a) states that such certification is required for initial state licensure and for any licensure renewal as a certified registered nurse anesthetist. A first license is usually not valid for a full two years, and in that case the nurse completes one hour of continuing education for each month the license is held rather than the full total.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Board-specific schedule
CE per cycle
24
contact hours
Mandated topics
7
required subjects
Last verified
September 8, 2026
14 days ago

Summary

Florida nurse anesthetists must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Florida Board of Nursing. Florida licenses the nurse anesthetist as an advanced practice registered nurse in the certified registered nurse anesthetist specialty under F.S. 464.012, and the license renews biennially. The board splits APRNs into three renewal groups with different expiration dates, currently listing Group 1 expiring April 30, 2028, Group 2 expiring July 31, 2028, and Group 3 expiring April 30, 2027, so a licensee has to check which group the license sits in. Renewal is conditioned on certification by an appropriate specialty board: F.S. 464.012(1)(a) states that such certification is required for initial state licensure and for any licensure renewal as a certified registered nurse anesthetist. A first license is usually not valid for a full two years, and in that case the nurse completes one hour of continuing education for each month the license is held rather than the full total. Florida also mandates specific subjects. Prevention of Medical Errors: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle. Florida Laws and Rules: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle. Recognition of Impairment in the Workplace: 2 contact hours on a periodic schedule set by the board. Human Trafficking: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle. Safe and Effective Prescription of Controlled Substances: 3 contact hours every renewal cycle. Domestic Violence: 2 contact hours on a periodic schedule set by the board. HIV/AIDS: a one-time requirement of 1 contact hour.

Florida Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineBoard-specific scheduleFirst renewal is prorated.
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle24 contact hours
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNot stated
First renewal exemptNo
Other accepted activitiesA nurse certified by a health care specialty program accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies or the Accreditation Board for Specialty Nursing Certification is exempt from the continuing education requirement, except for the three hour controlled substances course and the two hour human trafficking course; Courses may be taken live or as home study

Florida runs the nurse anesthetist on the same shared APRN rule as the nurse practitioner and fills most of the biennium with named subjects. The board's subject table for APRNs sums to 24: 16 general hours, two hours prevention of medical errors, two hours Florida laws and rules, two hours recognition of impairment in the workplace, and two hours human trafficking. Three items sit outside or alongside that total. The three hour Safe and Effective Prescription of Controlled Substances course is required of every APRN, domestic violence is two hours every third biennium which the board states are in addition to the 24, and HIV/AIDS is one hour, one time, before the first renewal. Two points matter specifically for a nurse anesthetist. First, the three hour controlled substances course is not scoped to prescribers: F.S. 464.013(3)(b) says that advanced practice registered nurses licensed under s. 464.012 must complete at least three hours on the safe and effective prescription of controlled substances, notwithstanding the certification exemption, so a nurse anesthetist owes it whether or not the nurse writes prescriptions, and the statute names the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists among the accepted course providers. Second, the certification exemption is likely to matter more to a nurse anesthetist than to most nurses: F.S. 464.013(3)(a) exempts a nurse certified by a specialty program accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies or the Accreditation Board for Specialty Nursing Certification from the continuing education requirement, and F.S. 464.012(1)(a) already requires the nurse anesthetist to hold specialty board certification to renew. A nurse anesthetist relying on that exemption should confirm that the certifying program holds one of the two named accreditations. Florida does not adopt the NBCRNA Continued Professional Certification credit totals as a state figure. The 10 hour row on the board's table is not a nurse anesthetist item: it is the additional graduate level requirement Rule 64B9-4.020(4) places on registered Autonomous APRNs, and F.S. 464.0123(3)(a) allows autonomous practice only in primary care practice, plus the nurse midwifery acts, so a nurse anesthetist practising anesthesia does not reach it.

Required CE topics for Florida certified registered nurse anesthetists

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Prevention of Medical ErrorsCounted within the 24 hours. Must be board approved; approved courses are listed at cebroker.com.2 contact hoursEvery renewalAll licenseesNot stated
Florida Laws and RulesCounted within the 24 hours. Must be board approved; approved courses are listed at cebroker.com.2 contact hoursEvery renewalAll licenseesNot stated
Recognition of Impairment in the WorkplaceThe board states the two hour course is required every other renewal, not every biennium. Counted within the 24 hours in the cycles where it applies. Must be board approved.2 contact hoursPeriodicAll licenseesNot stated
Human TraffickingCounted within the 24 hours. The course does not have to be board approved but must meet the criteria in s. 464.013, F.S. Every licensee under chapter 464 completes it for every biennial renewal on or after January 1, 2019, and the specialty certification exemption does not reach it.2 contact hoursEvery renewalAll licenseess. 464.013(3)(c), F.S.
Safe and Effective Prescription of Controlled SubstancesThe statute requires this of advanced practice registered nurses licensed under s. 464.012 without limiting it to prescribers, and states it applies notwithstanding the specialty certification exemption, so a nurse anesthetist owes it. The course must be offered by a statewide professional association of physicians in Florida accredited for AMA PRA Category 1 credit, or by the American Nurses Credentialing Center, the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists, or the American Association of Nurse Practitioners, and may be taken by distance learning. The statute places it inside a maximum of 30 hours, while the board's subject table already sums to 24 without it, so a licensee should plan on it as an addition to the 24.3 contact hoursEvery renewalAll licenseess. 464.013(3)(b), F.S.
Domestic ViolenceRequired every third biennium, and the board states these hours are in addition to the 24. Must be board approved.2 contact hoursPeriodicAll licenseesNot stated
HIV/AIDSA one time requirement completed before the first renewal. Must be board approved.1 contact hourOne timeAll licenseesNot stated

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records forNot stated
Board audits complianceNot stated
Approved providersGeneral hours must be approved by a state or national organization empowered to accredit nursing continuing education. The medical errors, Florida laws and rules, recognition of impairment, domestic violence and HIV/AIDS courses must be board approved, and approved courses are listed at cebroker.com. Human trafficking need not be board approved but must meet s. 464.013, F.S. The controlled substances course must come from one of the accreditors the statute names, which include the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists. Hours are reported through the CE Broker tracking system, and the department will not renew the license until the hours are reported there.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Florida CRNA need to renew?
Florida nurse anesthetists must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Florida Board of Nursing. Florida runs the nurse anesthetist on the same shared APRN rule as the nurse practitioner and fills most of the biennium with named subjects. The board's subject table for APRNs sums to 24: 16 general hours, two hours prevention of medical errors, two hours Florida laws and rules, two hours recognition of impairment in the workplace, and two hours human trafficking. Three items sit outside or alongside that total. The three hour Safe and Effective Prescription of Controlled Substances course is required of every APRN, domestic violence is two hours every third biennium which the board states are in addition to the 24, and HIV/AIDS is one hour, one time, before the first renewal. Two points matter specifically for a nurse anesthetist. First, the three hour controlled substances course is not scoped to prescribers: F.S. 464.013(3)(b) says that advanced practice registered nurses licensed under s. 464.012 must complete at least three hours on the safe and effective prescription of controlled substances, notwithstanding the certification exemption, so a nurse anesthetist owes it whether or not the nurse writes prescriptions, and the statute names the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists among the accepted course providers. Second, the certification exemption is likely to matter more to a nurse anesthetist than to most nurses: F.S. 464.013(3)(a) exempts a nurse certified by a specialty program accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies or the Accreditation Board for Specialty Nursing Certification from the continuing education requirement, and F.S. 464.012(1)(a) already requires the nurse anesthetist to hold specialty board certification to renew. A nurse anesthetist relying on that exemption should confirm that the certifying program holds one of the two named accreditations. Florida does not adopt the NBCRNA Continued Professional Certification credit totals as a state figure. The 10 hour row on the board's table is not a nurse anesthetist item: it is the additional graduate level requirement Rule 64B9-4.020(4) places on registered Autonomous APRNs, and F.S. 464.0123(3)(a) allows autonomous practice only in primary care practice, plus the nurse midwifery acts, so a nurse anesthetist practising anesthesia does not reach it.
How often does a Florida CRNA license need to be renewed?
Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist licenses in Florida renew every two years. Florida licenses the nurse anesthetist as an advanced practice registered nurse in the certified registered nurse anesthetist specialty under F.S. 464.012, and the license renews biennially. The board splits APRNs into three renewal groups with different expiration dates, currently listing Group 1 expiring April 30, 2028, Group 2 expiring July 31, 2028, and Group 3 expiring April 30, 2027, so a licensee has to check which group the license sits in. Renewal is conditioned on certification by an appropriate specialty board: F.S. 464.012(1)(a) states that such certification is required for initial state licensure and for any licensure renewal as a certified registered nurse anesthetist. A first license is usually not valid for a full two years, and in that case the nurse completes one hour of continuing education for each month the license is held rather than the full total.
What specific CE topics are required for Florida nurse anesthetists?
Prevention of Medical Errors: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle. Florida Laws and Rules: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle. Recognition of Impairment in the Workplace: 2 contact hours on a periodic schedule set by the board. Human Trafficking: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle. Safe and Effective Prescription of Controlled Substances: 3 contact hours every renewal cycle. Domestic Violence: 2 contact hours on a periodic schedule set by the board. HIV/AIDS: a one-time requirement of 1 contact hour. Citations: Human Trafficking (s. 464.013(3)(c), F.S.) and safe and Effective Prescription of Controlled Substances (s. 464.013(3)(b), F.S.).
Do Florida nurse anesthetists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates. General hours must be approved by a state or national organization empowered to accredit nursing continuing education. The medical errors, Florida laws and rules, recognition of impairment, domestic violence and HIV/AIDS courses must be board approved, and approved courses are listed at cebroker.com. Human trafficking need not be board approved but must meet s. 464.013, F.S. The controlled substances course must come from one of the accreditors the statute names, which include the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists. Hours are reported through the CE Broker tracking system, and the department will not renew the license until the hours are reported there.
Is the first Florida CRNA renewal exempt from CE?
No. Florida applies the continuing education requirement to the first renewal as well.

Sources

Last verified September 8, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

Every hour figure was read either in the board's own continuing education subject table for APRNs and its APRN renewal page, or in the Florida Statutes on the Senate's own site, both official hosts. Florida does not issue a distinct CRNA credential: F.S. 464.012 licenses the certified registered nurse anesthetist as one of the advanced practice registered nurse specialties, and 464.012(4)(b) sets the anesthesia scope of practice within an established protocol approved by the medical staff of the facility, so this record covers the APRN license held in the nurse anesthetist specialty. Compared with the Florida nurse practitioner record the hour total and most subjects are identical, because this is the shared APRN rule, but three differences are recorded. First, the Florida nurse practitioner record scopes the three hour controlled substances course to APRNs who prescribe controlled substances; reading the statute rather than the board's table shows that F.S. 464.013(3)(b) places it on every APRN licensed under 464.012 with no prescriber condition, so it is recorded here with no applies_to scope. Second, the 10 hour autonomous practice add on cannot reach a nurse anesthetist practising anesthesia, because F.S. 464.0123(3)(a) confines autonomous practice to primary care practice and the nurse midwifery acts. Third, the specialty certification exemption in F.S. 464.013(3)(a) is worth flagging for this role, since 464.012(1)(a) already requires the nurse anesthetist to hold specialty board certification to renew; whether it applies turns on whether the certifying program is accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies or the Accreditation Board for Specialty Nursing Certification, which no source read states, so the exemption is described in the board's own terms and not asserted for NBCRNA. Topic key impairment_in_the_workplace is not in the canonical list, and Florida Laws and Rules is filed under jurisprudence. Board rule 64B9-5.003 could not be read: flrules.org serves the rule text only through a download link. Record retention length and audit practice were not stated on the pages read; Florida reports hours through CE Broker rather than by submitting certificates.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Florida Board of Nursing before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.