Skip to main content
CredNet

Arizona Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist license renewal and CE requirements

Arizona does not require continuing education for CRNA license renewal, which happens every four years.

An Arizona nurse anesthetist holds a registered nurse license plus a certified registered nurse anesthetist certificate issued by the Board of Nursing under A.R.S. 32-1634.03. The underlying RN license renews every four years on or before April 1; a late fee applies after May 1 and the license expires if it is not renewed by August 1. The board states that a CRNA certificate expires when the Arizona or multistate RN license expires or when the national certification expires, whichever comes first, so the practical deadline can be the certification date rather than April 1. The APRN certificate is renewed on a separate application, and the RN license must be renewed first before the link to renew the certificate appears.

Renewal cycle
48-month
Same date for every licensee
CE per cycle
None
no CE requirement
Mandated topics
1
required subject
Last verified
September 8, 2026
14 days ago

Summary

Arizona does not require continuing education for CRNA license renewal, which happens every four years. An Arizona nurse anesthetist holds a registered nurse license plus a certified registered nurse anesthetist certificate issued by the Board of Nursing under A.R.S. 32-1634.03. The underlying RN license renews every four years on or before April 1; a late fee applies after May 1 and the license expires if it is not renewed by August 1. The board states that a CRNA certificate expires when the Arizona or multistate RN license expires or when the national certification expires, whichever comes first, so the practical deadline can be the certification date rather than April 1. The APRN certificate is renewed on a separate application, and the RN license must be renewed first before the link to renew the certificate appears. Arizona also mandates specific subjects. Opioid related, substance use disorder related or addiction related continuing education: 3 hours every renewal cycle (advanced practice registered nurses, including nurse anesthetists, who hold an active DEA registration).

Arizona Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycle48-month (48 months)
Renewal deadlineSame date for every licensee, 04/01 each cycle
Continuing education requiredNo

Arizona sets no state continuing education hour count at either layer. The nurse practice act does not impose continuing education for renewal of the registered nurse license, and the board's renewal page lists four conditions for renewing an advanced practice certificate and no hour total: 960 hours of practice in the role and population focus in the past five years, an active Arizona RN license or a multistate privilege, active national certification, and, for an APRN who holds an active DEA registration, three hours of opioid related, substance use disorder related or addiction related continuing education. In effect the certifying body's recertification requirement, not a state hour total, drives a nurse anesthetist's continuing education, and the NBCRNA Continued Professional Certification program runs on its own four year clock which Arizona does not adopt as a state figure. Ariz. Admin. Code R4-19-506 is the shared advanced practice rule and names the registered nurse practitioner, clinical nurse specialist and certified registered nurse anesthetist roles together; the 45 contact hours of advanced pharmacology and 45 contact hours related to the role that appear in it are a remediation path for a nurse who cannot meet the 960 practice hours, not a per cycle requirement, and they come with 300 to 1,000 hours of precepted clinical practice. The 45 hour pharmacology entry requirement for prescribing and dispensing authority in R4-19-511 does not reach a nurse anesthetist acting in the anesthesia role, because A.R.S. 32-1634.04 gives the CRNA authority to issue a medication order for drugs including controlled substances to be administered by another provider and expressly states that this does not include the ability to write or issue a prescription to be filled or dispensed for a patient for use outside the perioperative settings.

Required CE topics for Arizona certified registered nurse anesthetists

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Opioid related, substance use disorder related or addiction related continuing educationThe board's own renewal page scopes this to APRNs who hold an active DEA license and requires a minimum of three hours each renewal cycle. The statute itself is written for a health professional authorized to prescribe schedule II controlled substances who holds a valid DEA registration number, or who is authorized to dispense controlled substances. Because Arizona imposes no general continuing education total on nurses, this is the one recurring hour count a nurse anesthetist can owe the state, and a nurse anesthetist with no DEA registration owes none.3 hoursEvery renewaladvanced practice registered nurses, including nurse anesthetists, who hold an active DEA registrationA.R.S. 32-3248.02

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalYes
Keep records forNot stated
Board audits complianceNot stated
Approved providersOfficial national certification, including issue and expiration dates with the category or specialty, must be sent to the board directly by the credentialing agency. The board's page states no approved provider rule for the three hour opioid course.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Arizona CRNA need to renew?
Arizona does not require continuing education for CRNA license renewal, which happens every four years. Arizona sets no state continuing education hour count at either layer. The nurse practice act does not impose continuing education for renewal of the registered nurse license, and the board's renewal page lists four conditions for renewing an advanced practice certificate and no hour total: 960 hours of practice in the role and population focus in the past five years, an active Arizona RN license or a multistate privilege, active national certification, and, for an APRN who holds an active DEA registration, three hours of opioid related, substance use disorder related or addiction related continuing education. In effect the certifying body's recertification requirement, not a state hour total, drives a nurse anesthetist's continuing education, and the NBCRNA Continued Professional Certification program runs on its own four year clock which Arizona does not adopt as a state figure. Ariz. Admin. Code R4-19-506 is the shared advanced practice rule and names the registered nurse practitioner, clinical nurse specialist and certified registered nurse anesthetist roles together; the 45 contact hours of advanced pharmacology and 45 contact hours related to the role that appear in it are a remediation path for a nurse who cannot meet the 960 practice hours, not a per cycle requirement, and they come with 300 to 1,000 hours of precepted clinical practice. The 45 hour pharmacology entry requirement for prescribing and dispensing authority in R4-19-511 does not reach a nurse anesthetist acting in the anesthesia role, because A.R.S. 32-1634.04 gives the CRNA authority to issue a medication order for drugs including controlled substances to be administered by another provider and expressly states that this does not include the ability to write or issue a prescription to be filled or dispensed for a patient for use outside the perioperative settings.
How often does a Arizona CRNA license need to be renewed?
Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist licenses in Arizona renew every four years. An Arizona nurse anesthetist holds a registered nurse license plus a certified registered nurse anesthetist certificate issued by the Board of Nursing under A.R.S. 32-1634.03. The underlying RN license renews every four years on or before April 1; a late fee applies after May 1 and the license expires if it is not renewed by August 1. The board states that a CRNA certificate expires when the Arizona or multistate RN license expires or when the national certification expires, whichever comes first, so the practical deadline can be the certification date rather than April 1. The APRN certificate is renewed on a separate application, and the RN license must be renewed first before the link to renew the certificate appears.
What specific CE topics are required for Arizona nurse anesthetists?
Opioid related, substance use disorder related or addiction related continuing education: 3 hours every renewal cycle (advanced practice registered nurses, including nurse anesthetists, who hold an active DEA registration). Citations: opioid related, substance use disorder related or addiction related continuing education (A.R.S. 32-3248.02).
Do Arizona nurse anesthetists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Proof of completion must be submitted with the renewal. Official national certification, including issue and expiration dates with the category or specialty, must be sent to the board directly by the credentialing agency. The board's page states no approved provider rule for the three hour opioid course.

Sources

Last verified September 8, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

The renewal conditions, the absence of any continuing education hour total, the three hour opioid requirement for APRNs with an active DEA license, and the statement that a CRNA certificate expires with the RN license or the national certification, whichever comes first, were all read on the Arizona State Board of Nursing's own renewal page, an official host, in a rendered browser; azbn.gov returns 403 to automated clients and is already listed in the repository's link exceptions file. The four year cycle and April 1 date were read in A.R.S. 32-1642, and the CRNA certificate, its scope of practice and its prescribing limits in A.R.S. 32-1634.03 and 32-1634.04, all on the legislature's own site. R4-19-506 was read through the Cornell LII mirror because the Arizona Administrative Code is published only as PDFs and apps.azsos.gov 403s automated clients; it is cited as a supporting source and confirms that the rule names the CRNA role alongside RNP and CNS. Arizona does issue a distinct CRNA credential: a certificate on top of the RN license. Compared with the Arizona nurse practitioner record the state hour count is the same, which is to say none, but the prescriber layer differs. A nurse practitioner obtains prescribing and dispensing authority under R4-19-511 after 45 contact hours of pharmacology; a nurse anesthetist under A.R.S. 32-1634.04 may only issue medication orders for administration within perioperative settings and may not write a prescription to be filled or dispensed for use outside them, so the R4-19-511 pathway is not recorded here. The three hour opioid requirement is still recorded because the board's own page scopes it to APRNs holding an active DEA registration rather than to prescribers, and many nurse anesthetists hold one; a nurse anesthetist unsure whether it applies should ask the board. Documentation retention, audit practice and carryover were not stated on the pages read.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Arizona State Board of Nursing before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.