Skip to main content
CredNet

Arizona Nurse Practitioner license renewal and CE requirements

Arizona does not require continuing education for NP license renewal, which happens every four years.

A nurse practitioner in Arizona holds a registered nurse license plus a Registered Nurse Practitioner certificate. The underlying RN license renews every four years on or before April 1; a late fee applies after May 1 and the license expires if it is not renewed by August 1. An APRN certificate issued after July 1, 2004 expires when the holder's RN license expires or when the national certification expires, whichever comes first, so the practical deadline for a nurse practitioner can be the certification date rather than April 1.

Renewal cycle
48-month
Same date for every licensee
CE per cycle
None
no CE requirement
Mandated topics
2
required subjects
Last verified
September 8, 2026
14 days ago

Summary

Arizona does not require continuing education for NP license renewal, which happens every four years. A nurse practitioner in Arizona holds a registered nurse license plus a Registered Nurse Practitioner certificate. The underlying RN license renews every four years on or before April 1; a late fee applies after May 1 and the license expires if it is not renewed by August 1. An APRN certificate issued after July 1, 2004 expires when the holder's RN license expires or when the national certification expires, whichever comes first, so the practical deadline for a nurse practitioner can be the certification date rather than April 1. Arizona also mandates specific subjects. Opioid related, substance use disorder related or addiction related continuing education: 3 hours every renewal cycle (nurse practitioners authorized to prescribe schedule II controlled substances or to dispense controlled substances). Pharmacology and clinical management of drug therapy: a one-time requirement of 45 hours (nurse practitioners applying for prescribing and dispensing authority).

Arizona Nurse Practitioner renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycle48-month (48 months)
Renewal deadlineSame date for every licensee, 04/01 each cycle
Continuing education requiredNo

Arizona sets no state continuing education hour count at either layer. The nurse practice act does not impose continuing education for renewal of the registered nurse license, and Ariz. Admin. Code R4-19-506 renews the APRN certificate on evidence of current national certification or recertification plus a practice requirement of at least 960 hours in the five years before the application is received. In effect the certifying body's recertification requirement, not a state hour total, is what a nurse practitioner must satisfy. The 45 contact hours of advanced pharmacology and 45 contact hours related to the role that appear in R4-19-506 are a remediation path for a nurse who cannot meet the 960 practice hours, not a per cycle requirement, and they come with 300 to 1,000 hours of precepted clinical practice depending on how long the nurse has been out of practice. Separately, 45 contact hours of pharmacology and clinical management of drug therapy within the preceding three years is an entry requirement for prescribing authority under R4-19-511. The one recurring state mandate is the three hour opioid requirement in A.R.S. 32-3248.02, which applies to prescribers of schedule II controlled substances.

Required CE topics for Arizona nurse practitioners

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Opioid related, substance use disorder related or addiction related continuing educationThe statute requires a minimum of three hours each license renewal cycle, approved by the applicable health profession regulatory board, and directs that the hours be included as part of any continuing education requirement. Because Arizona imposes no general continuing education total on nurses, this is the one recurring hour count a prescribing nurse practitioner owes the state.3 hoursEvery renewalnurse practitioners authorized to prescribe schedule II controlled substances or to dispense controlled substancesA.R.S. 32-3248.02
Pharmacology and clinical management of drug therapyAn entry requirement for prescribing and dispensing authority: 45 contact hours within the three years preceding the application. It is not a per renewal figure, and Arizona does not require pharmacology hours at renewal when the practice requirement and national certification are met.45 hoursOne timenurse practitioners applying for prescribing and dispensing authorityAriz. Admin. Code R4-19-511

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNot stated
Keep records forNot stated
Board audits complianceNot stated

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Arizona NP need to renew?
Arizona does not require continuing education for NP license renewal, which happens every four years. Arizona sets no state continuing education hour count at either layer. The nurse practice act does not impose continuing education for renewal of the registered nurse license, and Ariz. Admin. Code R4-19-506 renews the APRN certificate on evidence of current national certification or recertification plus a practice requirement of at least 960 hours in the five years before the application is received. In effect the certifying body's recertification requirement, not a state hour total, is what a nurse practitioner must satisfy. The 45 contact hours of advanced pharmacology and 45 contact hours related to the role that appear in R4-19-506 are a remediation path for a nurse who cannot meet the 960 practice hours, not a per cycle requirement, and they come with 300 to 1,000 hours of precepted clinical practice depending on how long the nurse has been out of practice. Separately, 45 contact hours of pharmacology and clinical management of drug therapy within the preceding three years is an entry requirement for prescribing authority under R4-19-511. The one recurring state mandate is the three hour opioid requirement in A.R.S. 32-3248.02, which applies to prescribers of schedule II controlled substances.
How often does a Arizona NP license need to be renewed?
Nurse Practitioner licenses in Arizona renew every four years. A nurse practitioner in Arizona holds a registered nurse license plus a Registered Nurse Practitioner certificate. The underlying RN license renews every four years on or before April 1; a late fee applies after May 1 and the license expires if it is not renewed by August 1. An APRN certificate issued after July 1, 2004 expires when the holder's RN license expires or when the national certification expires, whichever comes first, so the practical deadline for a nurse practitioner can be the certification date rather than April 1.
What specific CE topics are required for Arizona nurse practitioners?
Opioid related, substance use disorder related or addiction related continuing education: 3 hours every renewal cycle (nurse practitioners authorized to prescribe schedule II controlled substances or to dispense controlled substances). Pharmacology and clinical management of drug therapy: a one-time requirement of 45 hours (nurse practitioners applying for prescribing and dispensing authority). Citations: opioid related, substance use disorder related or addiction related continuing education (A.R.S. 32-3248.02) and pharmacology and clinical management of drug therapy (Ariz. Admin. Code R4-19-511).

Sources

Last verified September 8, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

The four year cycle and April 1 date were read in A.R.S. 32-1642 on the legislature's own site; the certificate expiration rule, the 960 practice hour requirement, and the absence of a renewal continuing education total were read in Ariz. Admin. Code R4-19-506 through the Cornell LII mirror, because the Arizona Administrative Code is published as PDFs and the Board of Nursing site returns 403 to every automated client. The board homepage and renewal page are retained as board_url and renewal_url on the strength of a prior browser verification recorded in the repository's link exceptions file; neither was readable here, so neither is cited as a source. Topic key pharmacology is not in the canonical list. R4-19-506 is the shared APRN rule covering the nurse practitioner, nurse midwife, nurse anesthetist and clinical nurse specialist roles, not a nurse practitioner specific rule. R4-19-511 was read on the same mirror and states the 45 contact hours as an entry requirement covering the three years immediately preceding the application, with no ongoing continuing education to maintain prescribing authority. Documentation, audit and retention practices were not stated in the sources read.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Arizona State Board of Nursing before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.