Skip to main content
CredNet

Arizona Physician Assistant license renewal and CE requirements

Arizona physician assistants must complete 40 CME credits of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Arizona Regulatory Board of Physician Assistants.

A physician assistant license renews every other year on or before the licensee's birthday. A renewal filed within 30 days after the birthday carries a penalty fee, and a license that is not renewed within 90 days after the birthday automatically expires, after which the physician assistant must apply for licensure again.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Tied to the licensee's birth date
CE per cycle
40
CME credits
Mandated topics
1
required subject
Last verified
September 8, 2026
14 days ago

Summary

Arizona physician assistants must complete 40 CME credits of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Arizona Regulatory Board of Physician Assistants. A physician assistant license renews every other year on or before the licensee's birthday. A renewal filed within 30 days after the birthday carries a penalty fee, and a license that is not renewed within 90 days after the birthday automatically expires, after which the physician assistant must apply for licensure again. Arizona also mandates specific subjects. Opioid related, substance use disorder related or addiction related continuing medical education: 3 CME credits every renewal cycle.

Arizona Physician Assistant renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineTied to the licensee's birth date
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle40 CME credits
Category 1 minimum40 CME credits
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNot stated
First renewal exemptNot stated
Other accepted activitiesCurrent certification in good standing from a certifying body approved by the board, which waives the 40 hour requirement

A.R.S. 32-2523 requires 40 hours of category I continuing medical education approved by the American Academy of Physician Assistants, the American Medical Association, the American Osteopathic Association or another accrediting organization acceptable to the board, completed before the renewal date. The requirement is waived for a licensee who holds a certification in good standing from a board approved certifying body, which is how most Arizona physician assistants satisfy it through NCCPA certification maintenance. Arizona therefore sets a real state hour count and lets national certification stand in its place, rather than deferring to NCCPA outright.

Required CE topics for Arizona physician assistants

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Opioid related, substance use disorder related or addiction related continuing medical educationThe board's renewal page states that since April 26, 2018 all physician assistants renewing a license must complete three hours of opioid related, substance use disorder related or addiction related CME as part of the 40 hours. The underlying statute frames the duty more narrowly, reaching a health professional authorized to prescribe schedule II controlled substances or to dispense controlled substances, and directs that the three hours be included in any existing continuing education requirement. A physician assistant should follow the board's broader instruction.3 CME creditsEvery renewalAll licenseesA.R.S. 32-3248.02

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNot stated
Keep records forNot stated
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersCategory I continuing medical education approved by the AAPA, AMA, AOA or another accrediting organization acceptable to the board. The board randomly audits at least ten percent of renewing physician assistants who do not hold current national board certification.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Arizona PA need to renew?
Arizona physician assistants must complete 40 CME credits of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Arizona Regulatory Board of Physician Assistants. A.R.S. 32-2523 requires 40 hours of category I continuing medical education approved by the American Academy of Physician Assistants, the American Medical Association, the American Osteopathic Association or another accrediting organization acceptable to the board, completed before the renewal date. The requirement is waived for a licensee who holds a certification in good standing from a board approved certifying body, which is how most Arizona physician assistants satisfy it through NCCPA certification maintenance. Arizona therefore sets a real state hour count and lets national certification stand in its place, rather than deferring to NCCPA outright.
How often does a Arizona PA license need to be renewed?
Physician Assistant licenses in Arizona renew every two years. A physician assistant license renews every other year on or before the licensee's birthday. A renewal filed within 30 days after the birthday carries a penalty fee, and a license that is not renewed within 90 days after the birthday automatically expires, after which the physician assistant must apply for licensure again.
What specific CE topics are required for Arizona physician assistants?
Opioid related, substance use disorder related or addiction related continuing medical education: 3 CME credits every renewal cycle. Citations: opioid related, substance use disorder related or addiction related continuing medical education (A.R.S. 32-3248.02).
Do Arizona physician assistants have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
The board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation. Category I continuing medical education approved by the AAPA, AMA, AOA or another accrediting organization acceptable to the board. The board randomly audits at least ten percent of renewing physician assistants who do not hold current national board certification.

Sources

Last verified September 8, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

Arizona does not regulate physician assistants through the Arizona Medical Board. The Arizona Regulatory Board of Physician Assistants is a separate board with its own site at azpa.gov, and that is the regulator cited here. Both the two year birthday cycle and the 40 hour category I total were read in A.R.S. 32-2523 on the legislature's own site, and the three hour opioid component was read on the board's renewal page and in A.R.S. 32-3248.02. The comparison with Arizona physicians is instructive: the Arizona physician requirement verified for this dataset is also 40 CME credits per two year cycle, but it is set by a different board under a different statute and carries no national certification waiver. The scope difference between the board page (all physician assistants) and the statute (schedule II prescribers and controlled substance dispensers) is described in the topic note rather than recorded as a conflict, because the two sources do not disagree about the hour count. The board page did not state record retention or whether proof is filed with the renewal, so those fields are null.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Arizona Regulatory Board of Physician Assistants before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.