Skip to main content
CredNet

Indiana Physician Assistant license renewal and CE requirements

Indiana does not require continuing education for PA license renewal, which happens every two years.

Indiana physician assistant licenses expire on June 30 of even-numbered years and are renewed every two years. Renewal notices go out about 90 days before expiration, by email when a valid address is on file. To renew to Active status the physician assistant must hold current NCCPA certification; a license may instead be renewed in Inactive status at a lower fee, in which case NCCPA certification is not required but the holder may not practice. A controlled substance registration is renewed separately, after the physician assistant license.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Same date for every licensee
CE per cycle
None
no CE requirement
Mandated topics
0
required subjects
Last verified
September 8, 2026
14 days ago

Summary

Indiana does not require continuing education for PA license renewal, which happens every two years. Indiana physician assistant licenses expire on June 30 of even-numbered years and are renewed every two years. Renewal notices go out about 90 days before expiration, by email when a valid address is on file. To renew to Active status the physician assistant must hold current NCCPA certification; a license may instead be renewed in Inactive status at a lower fee, in which case NCCPA certification is not required but the holder may not practice. A controlled substance registration is renewed separately, after the physician assistant license.

Indiana Physician Assistant renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineSame date for every licensee, 06/30 each cycle
Continuing education requiredNo

Indiana states no hour count of its own for physician assistants. What the state requires instead is national certification: 844 IAC 2.2-2-3 requires evidence of current NCCPA certification with the biennial renewal application, and the licensing agency states that physician assistants must maintain NCCPA certification to renew to Active status. NCCPA's own certification maintenance cycle carries continuing medical education obligations, but that figure is set by NCCPA and not by Indiana, so no state hour count is recorded here. This is a different structure from the Indiana physician requirement, which also has no state continuing education hour count. A physician assistant renewing in Inactive status does not have to maintain NCCPA certification.

Required CE topics for Indiana physician assistants

The Indiana Physician Assistant Committee (Indiana Professional Licensing Agency) pages and rules we read do not mandate specific subject areas for this license type. Hours may be in any approved subject.

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalYes
Keep records forNot stated
Board audits complianceNot stated
Approved providersEvidence of current NCCPA certification is submitted with the renewal application under 844 IAC 2.2-2-3, and proof of active NCCPA certification is also required when moving a license from Inactive to Active status. Indiana names no continuing education provider approver because it sets no state hour count.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Indiana PA need to renew?
Indiana does not require continuing education for PA license renewal, which happens every two years. Indiana states no hour count of its own for physician assistants. What the state requires instead is national certification: 844 IAC 2.2-2-3 requires evidence of current NCCPA certification with the biennial renewal application, and the licensing agency states that physician assistants must maintain NCCPA certification to renew to Active status. NCCPA's own certification maintenance cycle carries continuing medical education obligations, but that figure is set by NCCPA and not by Indiana, so no state hour count is recorded here. This is a different structure from the Indiana physician requirement, which also has no state continuing education hour count. A physician assistant renewing in Inactive status does not have to maintain NCCPA certification.
How often does a Indiana PA license need to be renewed?
Physician Assistant licenses in Indiana renew every two years. Indiana physician assistant licenses expire on June 30 of even-numbered years and are renewed every two years. Renewal notices go out about 90 days before expiration, by email when a valid address is on file. To renew to Active status the physician assistant must hold current NCCPA certification; a license may instead be renewed in Inactive status at a lower fee, in which case NCCPA certification is not required but the holder may not practice. A controlled substance registration is renewed separately, after the physician assistant license.
Do Indiana physician assistants have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Proof of completion must be submitted with the renewal. Evidence of current NCCPA certification is submitted with the renewal application under 844 IAC 2.2-2-3, and proof of active NCCPA certification is also required when moving a license from Inactive to Active status. Indiana names no continuing education provider approver because it sets no state hour count.

Sources

Last verified September 8, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

Indiana does not run physician assistants through the medical board directly. Licenses are issued by the physician assistant committee established by IC 25-27.5-3-1, administered by the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency, and the rules sit in Title 844 of the Indiana Administrative Code, the Medical Licensing Board of Indiana title. The June 30 even-year expiration, the two year cycle and the NCCPA certification condition were read on the licensing agency's own physician assistant page; the rule text of 844 IAC 2.2-2-3 was confirmed through the Cornell LII mirror because Indiana publishes its administrative code only as PDF files, which were not downloaded. No mandatory subject is recorded: the licensing agency states that on July 1, 2025 the two hour opioid prescribing and opioid abuse continuing education requirement for controlled substance registration expired, and applications after that date do not need it. The collaborative practice agreement required by IC 25-27.5-5-2 is a practice condition, not continuing education, and is not recorded as such. Indiana Code text could not be read directly because iga.in.gov serves its statutes through a client side application that returns no text to an automated fetch.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Indiana Physician Assistant Committee (Indiana Professional Licensing Agency) before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.