Indiana Occupational Therapist license renewal and CE requirements
Indiana occupational therapists must complete 18 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Indiana Occupational Therapy Committee (Indiana Professional Licensing Agency).
Occupational therapist and occupational therapy assistant licenses expire on December 31 of even-numbered years, so renewal is every two years. All 18 hours of continuing competency must be completed before the renewal application is submitted; the agency's instruction is not to renew until the requirement is met.
Summary
Indiana occupational therapists must complete 18 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Indiana Occupational Therapy Committee (Indiana Professional Licensing Agency). Occupational therapist and occupational therapy assistant licenses expire on December 31 of even-numbered years, so renewal is every two years. All 18 hours of continuing competency must be completed before the renewal application is submitted; the agency's instruction is not to renew until the requirement is met. Hours do not carry over between cycles.
Indiana Occupational Therapist renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Two-year (24 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Same date for every licensee, 12/31 each cycleFirst renewal is prorated. |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 18 contact hours |
| Category 1 minimum | 9 contact hours |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | No |
| First renewal exempt | Not stated |
The Indiana Professional Licensing Agency states the requirement for occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants in the same sentence: 18 hours of continuing competency are required for each license renewal. At least 9 of the 18 hours must be Category I courses and not more than 9 hours may be earned through Category II credits. Hours must be obtained within the biennial renewal period and may not be carried over from one licensure period to another. Shorter first periods are prorated rather than exempt: a license valid for less than 12 months needs no continuing competency, a license valid 12 to 24 months needs 9 hours, and a license valid a full 24 months needs 18 hours. The agency's page does not define what falls in Category I as against Category II, and does not state a cap on online or self-study hours.
Required CE topics for Indiana occupational therapists
The Indiana Occupational Therapy Committee (Indiana Professional Licensing Agency) pages and rules we read do not mandate specific subject areas for this license type. Hours may be in any approved subject.
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | No, attestation only |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | 3 years |
| Board audits compliance | Yes |
| Approved providers | Programs must be approved by the Committee or sponsored by the American Occupational Therapy Association or AOTA approved providers, the National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy, or the Indiana Occupational Therapy Association or IOTA approved providers. Sponsors of Category I courses apply for approval at least 30 days before the program. Licensees certify completion of continuing competency at renewal and retain verification for three years after the last renewal date. Audits for compliance and action on noncompliance are conducted under IC 25-1-4. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Indiana OT need to renew?
- Indiana occupational therapists must complete 18 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Indiana Occupational Therapy Committee (Indiana Professional Licensing Agency). The Indiana Professional Licensing Agency states the requirement for occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants in the same sentence: 18 hours of continuing competency are required for each license renewal. At least 9 of the 18 hours must be Category I courses and not more than 9 hours may be earned through Category II credits. Hours must be obtained within the biennial renewal period and may not be carried over from one licensure period to another. Shorter first periods are prorated rather than exempt: a license valid for less than 12 months needs no continuing competency, a license valid 12 to 24 months needs 9 hours, and a license valid a full 24 months needs 18 hours. The agency's page does not define what falls in Category I as against Category II, and does not state a cap on online or self-study hours.
- How often does a Indiana OT license need to be renewed?
- Occupational Therapist licenses in Indiana renew every two years. Occupational therapist and occupational therapy assistant licenses expire on December 31 of even-numbered years, so renewal is every two years. All 18 hours of continuing competency must be completed before the renewal application is submitted; the agency's instruction is not to renew until the requirement is met.
- Does Indiana require specific CE topics for occupational therapists?
- The Indiana Occupational Therapy Committee (Indiana Professional Licensing Agency) does not list mandated subject areas for OT renewal on the pages we verified; the 18 contact hours may be in any approved subject.
- Do Indiana occupational therapists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 3 years. Programs must be approved by the Committee or sponsored by the American Occupational Therapy Association or AOTA approved providers, the National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy, or the Indiana Occupational Therapy Association or IOTA approved providers. Sponsors of Category I courses apply for approval at least 30 days before the program. Licensees certify completion of continuing competency at renewal and retain verification for three years after the last renewal date. Audits for compliance and action on noncompliance are conducted under IC 25-1-4.
Sources
Last verified September 9, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- Occupational Therapy Licensing Information, Indiana Professional Licensing AgencyState board page, accessed September 9, 2026
- Occupational Therapy Home, Indiana Professional Licensing AgencyState board page, accessed September 9, 2026
- Indiana Occupational Therapy Committee, Indiana Professional Licensing AgencyState board page, accessed September 9, 2026
The board page treats the two credentials as one group throughout. Its renewal paragraph reads "Occupational Therapist and Occupational Therapy Assistant licenses expire December 31 of even-numbered years" and "Occupational Therapist and Occupational Therapy Assistants are required to obtain eighteen (18) hours of continuing competency prior to renewal", and the continuing competency section repeats the 18 hour, 9 hour Category I split without distinguishing the two, so this record's figures were read as a statement about the occupational therapist and not inferred from the occupational therapy assistant. Nothing on the page sets a different total, date, category split or mandated subject for one credential. NBCOT is named only as one of the organizations whose programs the Committee accepts as continuing competency, not as a renewal condition; the page states no NBCOT certification requirement. The page states no mandated subject at all, so mandatory_topics is empty. Indiana licenses both credentials and both renew on the same date. The Occupational Therapy Licensure Compact went live in Indiana on March 9, 2026 and the board announced a new occupational therapy rule in February 2026; the licensing information page carrying these figures is the board's current page. The full text of 844 IAC Article 10 could not be read: the state's administrative rules site iar.iga.in.gov and the General Assembly site iga.in.gov are JavaScript applications that return an empty shell to a fetch, and the board's own copy of Article 10 is a PDF, which was not downloaded. Not read, therefore: the Category I and Category II definitions, any online or self-study cap, and any activity based alternatives.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Indiana Occupational Therapy Committee (Indiana Professional Licensing Agency) before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.