Skip to main content
CredNet

Indiana Physical Therapist Assistant license renewal and CE requirements

Indiana physical therapist assistants must complete 22 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Indiana Physical Therapy Board (Indiana Professional Licensing Agency).

Indiana certifies physical therapist assistants rather than licensing them, and the PLA states that physical therapy licenses and physical therapy assistant certifications expire on June 30 of even-numbered years, the same date as physical therapists. Renewal is every two years online through the PLA; the PTA renewal fee shown by the agency is $100. Twenty-two hours of continuing competency, including two hours of ethics and Indiana jurisprudence, must be completed within the renewal period.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Same date for every licensee
CE per cycle
22
contact hours
Mandated topics
1
required subject
Last verified
September 8, 2026
14 days ago

Summary

Indiana physical therapist assistants must complete 22 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Indiana Physical Therapy Board (Indiana Professional Licensing Agency). Indiana certifies physical therapist assistants rather than licensing them, and the PLA states that physical therapy licenses and physical therapy assistant certifications expire on June 30 of even-numbered years, the same date as physical therapists. Renewal is every two years online through the PLA; the PTA renewal fee shown by the agency is $100. Twenty-two hours of continuing competency, including two hours of ethics and Indiana jurisprudence, must be completed within the renewal period. Indiana also mandates specific subjects. Ethics and Indiana jurisprudence course as it relates to the practice of physical therapy: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle. Hours do not carry over between cycles and the first renewal is exempt.

Indiana Physical Therapist Assistant renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineSame date for every licensee, 06/30 each cycleFirst renewal is prorated.
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle22 contact hours
Category 1 minimum10 contact hours
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNo
First renewal exemptYes
Other accepted activitiesProfessional research or writing, including scientific papers, abstracts, and review articles (Category II, maximum 10 hours per biennium); Teaching as adjunct faculty at an accredited PT or PTA program (Category II, maximum 10 hours per biennium); Presenting at approved workshops or seminars (Category II, maximum 10 hours per biennium); Supervising students (Category II, maximum 10 hours per biennium); In-house or in-service seminars (Category II, maximum 4 hours per biennium); Service in a professional organization (Category II, maximum 6 hours per biennium); APTA PTA Certificate of Advanced Proficiency (Category II, maximum 5 hours per biennium); APTA Indiana meeting attendance (Category II, maximum 4 hours per biennium); Board approved home study programs including computer, audio, and video instruction (Category I)

842 IAC 1-7-1 and 842 IAC 1-7-3: during each two year license period a physical therapist or physical therapist's assistant must complete at least twenty-two (22) hours of continuing competency activities, of which two (2) hours must be an ethics and Indiana jurisprudence course as it relates to the practice of physical therapy. The rule states the same 22 hour total for physical therapists and physical therapist assistants, and the PLA licensing page repeats 22 hours for PTA certifications. At least ten (10) hours must be Category I (formally organized courses, workshops, seminars, symposia, and approved home study of at least one contact hour), and no more than ten (10) Category II hours may be applied. Academic credit converts at 15 contact hours per semester hour, 12.5 per trimester hour, and 10 per quarter hour. Hours must be earned within the renewal period and are not carried over. Proration: if the certification is valid for less than twelve (12) months, no continuing competency is required for that renewal; if valid for twelve (12) to twenty-three (23) months, twelve (12) hours are required, including the two hour ethics and jurisprudence course. One Category II item is PTA-specific, the APTA Certificate of Advanced Proficiency for physical therapist assistants, capped at 5 hours. No overall online or self-study cap and no live-hours minimum were stated.

Required CE topics for Indiana physical therapist assistants

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Ethics and Indiana jurisprudence course as it relates to the practice of physical therapyTwo of the 22 hours each biennium, and two of the 12 hours in a prorated 12 to 23 month first period. The rule applies the same two hour course to physical therapists and physical therapist assistants; the PLA directs licensees to APTA Indiana for the course.2 contact hoursEvery renewalAll licensees842 IAC 1-7-1; 842 IAC 1-7-3

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records for3 years
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersActivities sponsored by the American Physical Therapy Association, APTA Indiana, the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy, or entities affiliated with them are approved without prior board approval (842 IAC 1-7-5). Other activities are approved only if they contribute directly to professional competency, relate directly to the practice, management, or education of physical therapy practitioners, and are conducted by individuals with demonstrated expertise in the subject matter. A certificate holder certifies completion at renewal, retains verification for three (3) years after the last renewal date, and presents proof at the request of the board (842 IAC 1-7-2). Audits for compliance are conducted under IC 25-1-4 (842 IAC 1-7-1).

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Indiana PTA need to renew?
Indiana physical therapist assistants must complete 22 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Indiana Physical Therapy Board (Indiana Professional Licensing Agency). 842 IAC 1-7-1 and 842 IAC 1-7-3: during each two year license period a physical therapist or physical therapist's assistant must complete at least twenty-two (22) hours of continuing competency activities, of which two (2) hours must be an ethics and Indiana jurisprudence course as it relates to the practice of physical therapy. The rule states the same 22 hour total for physical therapists and physical therapist assistants, and the PLA licensing page repeats 22 hours for PTA certifications. At least ten (10) hours must be Category I (formally organized courses, workshops, seminars, symposia, and approved home study of at least one contact hour), and no more than ten (10) Category II hours may be applied. Academic credit converts at 15 contact hours per semester hour, 12.5 per trimester hour, and 10 per quarter hour. Hours must be earned within the renewal period and are not carried over. Proration: if the certification is valid for less than twelve (12) months, no continuing competency is required for that renewal; if valid for twelve (12) to twenty-three (23) months, twelve (12) hours are required, including the two hour ethics and jurisprudence course. One Category II item is PTA-specific, the APTA Certificate of Advanced Proficiency for physical therapist assistants, capped at 5 hours. No overall online or self-study cap and no live-hours minimum were stated.
How often does a Indiana PTA license need to be renewed?
Physical Therapist Assistant licenses in Indiana renew every two years. Indiana certifies physical therapist assistants rather than licensing them, and the PLA states that physical therapy licenses and physical therapy assistant certifications expire on June 30 of even-numbered years, the same date as physical therapists. Renewal is every two years online through the PLA; the PTA renewal fee shown by the agency is $100. Twenty-two hours of continuing competency, including two hours of ethics and Indiana jurisprudence, must be completed within the renewal period.
What specific CE topics are required for Indiana physical therapist assistants?
Ethics and Indiana jurisprudence course as it relates to the practice of physical therapy: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle. Citations: ethics and Indiana jurisprudence course as it relates to the practice of physical therapy (842 IAC 1-7-1; 842 IAC 1-7-3).
Do Indiana physical therapist assistants have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 3 years. Activities sponsored by the American Physical Therapy Association, APTA Indiana, the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy, or entities affiliated with them are approved without prior board approval (842 IAC 1-7-5). Other activities are approved only if they contribute directly to professional competency, relate directly to the practice, management, or education of physical therapy practitioners, and are conducted by individuals with demonstrated expertise in the subject matter. A certificate holder certifies completion at renewal, retains verification for three (3) years after the last renewal date, and presents proof at the request of the board (842 IAC 1-7-2). Audits for compliance are conducted under IC 25-1-4 (842 IAC 1-7-1).
Is the first Indiana PTA renewal exempt from CE?
Yes. Indiana does not require continuing education for a PTA's first renewal.

Sources

Last verified September 8, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

Indiana is one of the states where the PTA requirement is identical to the PT requirement rather than smaller. 842 IAC 1-7-3 states the 22 hour total for a physical therapist or a physical therapist's assistant in one sentence, and the PLA's Physical Therapy Licensing Information page separately states 22 hours and the two hour ethics and Indiana jurisprudence course for physical therapy assistant certifications, along with the June 30 even-year expiration and the $100 PTA renewal fee. Indiana uses the word certification rather than license for PTAs; the credential still renews on the same date as the PT license. The rule text was read on the Cornell LII mirror because the Indiana Administrative Code site returns no content to automated clients; the board page independently confirms the hours and the expiration date, which is why confidence is high. The only PTA-specific figure in the rules is the 5 hour Category II cap for the APTA PTA Certificate of Advanced Proficiency. Not stated in the sources read: carryover beyond the no-carryover rule, an online or self-study cap, or a live hours minimum.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Indiana Physical Therapy Board (Indiana Professional Licensing Agency) before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.