Skip to main content
CredNet

Connecticut Physical Therapist Assistant license renewal and CE requirements

Connecticut does not require continuing education for PTA license renewal, which happens every year.

Each person holding a physical therapist assistant license registers annually with the Department of Public Health during the month of that person's birth (Conn. Gen. Stat. 19a-88(c)(5)(B)). The renewal fee is $65. Physical therapist assistant is not on the department's list of license types that expire biennially, so the registration period is twelve months.

Renewal cycle
Annual
Tied to the licensee's birth month
CE per cycle
None
no CE requirement
Mandated topics
0
required subjects
Last verified
September 8, 2026
14 days ago

Summary

Connecticut does not require continuing education for PTA license renewal, which happens every year. Each person holding a physical therapist assistant license registers annually with the Department of Public Health during the month of that person's birth (Conn. Gen. Stat. 19a-88(c)(5)(B)). The renewal fee is $65. Physical therapist assistant is not on the department's list of license types that expire biennially, so the registration period is twelve months.

Connecticut Physical Therapist Assistant renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleAnnual (12 months)
Renewal deadlineTied to the licensee's birth month
Continuing education requiredNo

Connecticut imposes no continuing education requirement on physical therapist assistants. The statutory requirement of twenty hours per registration period in Conn. Gen. Stat. 20-73b(a) is written for 'each physical therapist licensed pursuant to this chapter', and Conn. Gen. Stat. 20-66(1) defines 'physical therapist' as a person licensed to practice physical therapy, a separate credential from the physical therapist assistant license that the chapter regulates elsewhere (for example 20-73c and 20-73f, which name both). The Department of Public Health's page 'License Types With Continuing Education Requirements' lists the professions that require continuing education for renewal; it includes Physical Therapist, and also Occupational Therapist and Occupational Therapist Assistant, but it does not include Physical Therapist Assistant. The two-hour training on screening for post-traumatic stress disorder, risk of suicide, depression and grief and on suicide prevention that 20-73b(a) adds is part of that PT requirement and therefore does not reach PTAs.

Required CE topics for Connecticut physical therapist assistants

The Connecticut Department of Public Health, Practitioner Licensing and Investigations Section pages and rules we read do not mandate specific subject areas for this license type. Hours may be in any approved subject.

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNot stated
Keep records forNot stated
Board audits complianceNot stated

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Connecticut PTA need to renew?
Connecticut does not require continuing education for PTA license renewal, which happens every year. Connecticut imposes no continuing education requirement on physical therapist assistants. The statutory requirement of twenty hours per registration period in Conn. Gen. Stat. 20-73b(a) is written for 'each physical therapist licensed pursuant to this chapter', and Conn. Gen. Stat. 20-66(1) defines 'physical therapist' as a person licensed to practice physical therapy, a separate credential from the physical therapist assistant license that the chapter regulates elsewhere (for example 20-73c and 20-73f, which name both). The Department of Public Health's page 'License Types With Continuing Education Requirements' lists the professions that require continuing education for renewal; it includes Physical Therapist, and also Occupational Therapist and Occupational Therapist Assistant, but it does not include Physical Therapist Assistant. The two-hour training on screening for post-traumatic stress disorder, risk of suicide, depression and grief and on suicide prevention that 20-73b(a) adds is part of that PT requirement and therefore does not reach PTAs.
How often does a Connecticut PTA license need to be renewed?
Physical Therapist Assistant licenses in Connecticut renew every year. Each person holding a physical therapist assistant license registers annually with the Department of Public Health during the month of that person's birth (Conn. Gen. Stat. 19a-88(c)(5)(B)). The renewal fee is $65. Physical therapist assistant is not on the department's list of license types that expire biennially, so the registration period is twelve months.

Sources

Last verified September 8, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

This is a state where the PTA requirement is not a smaller version of the PT requirement but a different answer entirely. Three readings support it. First, the statute: 20-73b(a) applies its twenty-hour requirement to 'each physical therapist licensed pursuant to this chapter', a term the chapter defines separately from physical therapist assistant. Second, the Department of Public Health's own list of professions that require continuing education for renewal includes Physical Therapist and omits Physical Therapist Assistant, while including Occupational Therapist Assistant, so the omission is not an oversight of assistant-level credentials. Third, the PTA licensure page carries no continuing education section, only fees and licensing routes. The annual birth-month registration comes from 19a-88(c)(5)(B), which is written specifically for the physical therapist assistant license, and is confirmed by the department's renewal page and by the absence of PTA from the biennial list. Nothing was found on record retention or audits because there is no continuing education requirement to document. Connecticut licenses PTAs; licensure began when the Commissioner published implementation notice on April 11, 2006.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Connecticut Department of Public Health, Practitioner Licensing and Investigations Section before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.