Skip to main content
CredNet

Idaho Occupational Therapist license renewal and CE requirements

Idaho occupational therapists must complete 20 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Idaho Occupational Therapy Licensure Board (Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses).

Licenses are issued for a term of two years and expire on the licensee's birthday unless renewed (Idaho Code 54-3711). Renewal can be filed up to 60 days before the expiration date. A licensee who lets the license expire pays reinstatement fees plus a two year licence fee, and the next renewal falls at least two years later on the licensee's birthday.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Tied to the licensee's birth date
CE per cycle
20
contact hours
Mandated topics
0
required subjects
Last verified
September 9, 2026
13 days ago

Summary

Requirements are changing. Idaho moved this board from annual to two year licences on October 14, 2025, phased by birth year: licensees born in odd years shifted at their 2025 renewal and licensees born in even years at their 2026 renewal, with the fee doubling at the first two year renewal. The continuing education requirement itself did not change, and it is still counted per year of the cycle. If your last renewal was for one year, check your expiration date and the number of years your next renewal covers with the division.

Idaho occupational therapists must complete 20 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Idaho Occupational Therapy Licensure Board (Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses). Licenses are issued for a term of two years and expire on the licensee's birthday unless renewed (Idaho Code 54-3711). Renewal can be filed up to 60 days before the expiration date. A licensee who lets the license expire pays reinstatement fees plus a two year licence fee, and the next renewal falls at least two years later on the licensee's birthday.

Idaho Occupational Therapist renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineTied to the licensee's birth date
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle20 contact hours
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNot stated
First renewal exemptNot stated

The division states the requirement per year: occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants must complete, and keep proof of, ten hours of germane continuing education each year during the licensee's renewal cycle. On the two year cycle that is 20 hours per renewal, 10 for each year, and the division confirmed that the move to two year licences did not change the continuing education requirement. The detail behind the word germane, along with any category limits, carryover, first renewal proration and audit procedure, is in IDAPA 24.06.01, which the division and the state administrative rules site publish only as a PDF that was not opened, so those fields are left null.

Required CE topics for Idaho occupational therapists

The Idaho Occupational Therapy Licensure Board (Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses) pages and rules we read do not mandate specific subject areas for this license type. Hours may be in any approved subject.

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records forNot stated
Board audits complianceNot stated
Approved providersThe division's statement requires the licensee to complete and maintain proof of completion of the hours rather than to file certificates with the renewal. A reinstatement application must include proof of completion of the continuing education required by the rules. Provider approval requirements, if any, are in IDAPA 24.06.01, which was not read.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Idaho OT need to renew?
Idaho occupational therapists must complete 20 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Idaho Occupational Therapy Licensure Board (Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses). The division states the requirement per year: occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants must complete, and keep proof of, ten hours of germane continuing education each year during the licensee's renewal cycle. On the two year cycle that is 20 hours per renewal, 10 for each year, and the division confirmed that the move to two year licences did not change the continuing education requirement. The detail behind the word germane, along with any category limits, carryover, first renewal proration and audit procedure, is in IDAPA 24.06.01, which the division and the state administrative rules site publish only as a PDF that was not opened, so those fields are left null.
How often does a Idaho OT license need to be renewed?
Occupational Therapist licenses in Idaho renew every two years. Licenses are issued for a term of two years and expire on the licensee's birthday unless renewed (Idaho Code 54-3711). Renewal can be filed up to 60 days before the expiration date. A licensee who lets the license expire pays reinstatement fees plus a two year licence fee, and the next renewal falls at least two years later on the licensee's birthday.
Does Idaho require specific CE topics for occupational therapists?
The Idaho Occupational Therapy Licensure Board (Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses) does not list mandated subject areas for OT renewal on the pages we verified; the 20 contact hours may be in any approved subject.
Do Idaho occupational therapists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates. The division's statement requires the licensee to complete and maintain proof of completion of the hours rather than to file certificates with the renewal. A reinstatement application must include proof of completion of the continuing education required by the rules. Provider approval requirements, if any, are in IDAPA 24.06.01, which was not read.

Sources

Last verified September 9, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

Board pattern correction worth recording: the head start map flagged Idaho as a possible combined physical and occupational therapy board, and it is not. Idaho's Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses runs two separate boards, the Physical Therapy Board at dopl.idaho.gov/pht and the Occupational Therapy Licensure Board at dopl.idaho.gov/oct, each with its own statute and its own rule chapter, and the physical therapy figures do not apply here. The two year term expiring on the licensee's birthday was read in Idaho Code 54-3711 on the legislature's site. The hour figure was read on the division's own occupational therapy announcement about the renewal cycle change, which states the requirement per year and confirms the change to two year licences did not alter it. The rule chapter, IDAPA 24.06.01, Rules for the Licensure of Occupational Therapists and Occupational Therapy Assistants, is published only as a PDF by both the division and adminrules.idaho.gov and was not opened, so category limits, carryover, first renewal treatment, audit practice and record retention are null rather than guessed. The board mandates no subject: no ethics, jurisprudence or other topic requirement appears in any readable source. NBCOT certification is not a renewal condition in anything read. Idaho does have an advanced practice style requirement, supervised hours for performing physical modalities and wound care, but the board describes it as supervised practice documentation rather than continuing education, so nothing was added to the hour total for it.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Idaho Occupational Therapy Licensure Board (Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses) before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.