Skip to main content
CredNet

Idaho Physical Therapist license renewal and CE requirements

Idaho physical therapists must complete 32 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Idaho Physical Therapy Licensure Board (Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses).

Licenses expire on the licensee's birthday and can be renewed up to 60 days before expiration. Beginning October 14, 2025 the Division moved physical therapy licenses from one-year to two-year terms: licensees born in odd years received a two-year license at their first renewal on or after that date, and licensees born in even years renewed for one more year in 2025 and move to the two-year cycle starting in 2026.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Tied to the licensee's birth date
CE per cycle
32
contact hours
Mandated topics
0
required subjects
Last verified
September 7, 2026
15 days ago

Summary

Idaho physical therapists must complete 32 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Idaho Physical Therapy Licensure Board (Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses). Licenses expire on the licensee's birthday and can be renewed up to 60 days before expiration. Beginning October 14, 2025 the Division moved physical therapy licenses from one-year to two-year terms: licensees born in odd years received a two-year license at their first renewal on or after that date, and licensees born in even years renewed for one more year in 2025 and move to the two-year cycle starting in 2026.

Idaho Physical Therapist renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineTied to the licensee's birth date
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle32 contact hours
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNot stated
First renewal exemptNot stated
Other accepted activitiesPresenting professional programs germane to the profession (2 hours of credit per hour presented); Academic coursework germane to physical therapy (1 semester hour equals 15 hours, 1 trimester hour equals 12 hours, 1 quarter hour equals 10 hours); Authoring research or other work published in a recognized professional publication (5 hours per page); Viewing videotaped presentations with a sponsoring agency and a facilitator present; Home study courses that issue a certificate of completion; Supervising a PT or PTA student in an accredited program (4 hours per year); ABPTS board certification or recertification (16 hours in the year received); Courses on business, personal skills, or general health topics (marketing, communication, CPR, child abuse reporting, and similar)

IDAPA 24.13.01.100.02.a: every person holding a license issued by the Board must complete thirty-two (32) contact hours of continuing education every two years, in areas germane to the practice of physical therapy, with a certificate of completion or transcript. The board's CE guidance states one contact hour equals one hour of credit and that the Board does not pre-approve courses. The board's press release on the two-year transition states the 32 hours per two years requirement is unchanged. Neither the rule nor the guidance states a cap on home study or online hours, a carryover provision, or a first-renewal exemption.

Required CE topics for Idaho physical therapists

The Idaho Physical Therapy Licensure Board (Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses) pages and rules we read do not mandate specific subject areas for this license type. Hours may be in any approved subject.

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records for2 years
Board audits complianceNot stated
Approved providersThe Board does not pre-approve continuing education. Activities must be germane to the profession and conducted by individuals with specialized education, training, and experience in the subject; the Board may request documentation of presenter qualifications. Recommended sources include APTA and its sections or chapters, CAPTE, the National Athletic Trainers Association, and accredited colleges or universities. Licensees must keep documentation of attendance (date, location, title, presenter, contact hours, and the sponsor's signature or verification) for two years and provide it to the Board on request (IDAPA 24.13.01.100.02.d and the board's CE guidance).

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Idaho PT need to renew?
Idaho physical therapists must complete 32 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Idaho Physical Therapy Licensure Board (Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses). IDAPA 24.13.01.100.02.a: every person holding a license issued by the Board must complete thirty-two (32) contact hours of continuing education every two years, in areas germane to the practice of physical therapy, with a certificate of completion or transcript. The board's CE guidance states one contact hour equals one hour of credit and that the Board does not pre-approve courses. The board's press release on the two-year transition states the 32 hours per two years requirement is unchanged. Neither the rule nor the guidance states a cap on home study or online hours, a carryover provision, or a first-renewal exemption.
How often does a Idaho PT license need to be renewed?
Physical Therapist licenses in Idaho renew every two years. Licenses expire on the licensee's birthday and can be renewed up to 60 days before expiration. Beginning October 14, 2025 the Division moved physical therapy licenses from one-year to two-year terms: licensees born in odd years received a two-year license at their first renewal on or after that date, and licensees born in even years renewed for one more year in 2025 and move to the two-year cycle starting in 2026.
Does Idaho require specific CE topics for physical therapists?
The Idaho Physical Therapy Licensure Board (Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses) does not list mandated subject areas for PT renewal on the pages we verified; the 32 contact hours may be in any approved subject.
Do Idaho physical therapists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates and records must be kept for 2 years. The Board does not pre-approve continuing education. Activities must be germane to the profession and conducted by individuals with specialized education, training, and experience in the subject; the Board may request documentation of presenter qualifications. Recommended sources include APTA and its sections or chapters, CAPTE, the National Athletic Trainers Association, and accredited colleges or universities. Licensees must keep documentation of attendance (date, location, title, presenter, contact hours, and the sponsor's signature or verification) for two years and provide it to the Board on request (IDAPA 24.13.01.100.02.d and the board's CE guidance).

Sources

Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

The 32 contact hours every two years figure appears in the administrative rule, the board's CE guidance document, the board home page, and the transition press release. The renewal basis (expiration on the licensee's birthday) and the 2025 to 2026 transition to two-year licenses come from the press release and board home page. The rule compilation still lists annual renewal fees while the board page lists biennial fees, consistent with a transition in progress; a person should confirm that a given licensee's current term is two years. The rule contains no mandatory subject requirements, no online cap, no carryover, and no first-renewal exemption; those fields are null rather than inferred. Audit practice is not described beyond documentation being provided on the Board's request.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Idaho Physical Therapy Licensure Board (Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses) before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.