Skip to main content
CredNet

California Occupational Therapist license renewal and CE requirements

California occupational therapists must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the California Board of Occupational Therapy.

The term of a license is two years. Licenses expire at midnight on the last day of the licensee's birth month, in odd or even years depending on birth year. There is no grace period: practice must stop when the license expires, and the delinquent fee applies if the renewal is not postmarked by the expiration date.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Tied to the licensee's birth month
CE per cycle
24
contact hours
Mandated topics
0
required subjects
Last verified
September 9, 2026
13 days ago

Summary

California occupational therapists must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the California Board of Occupational Therapy. The term of a license is two years. Licenses expire at midnight on the last day of the licensee's birth month, in odd or even years depending on birth year. There is no grace period: practice must stop when the license expires, and the delinquent fee applies if the renewal is not postmarked by the expiration date. Up to 6 excess contact hours carry over to the next cycle.

California Occupational Therapist renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineTied to the licensee's birth month
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle24 contact hours
Category 1 minimum12 contact hours
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleYes, up to 6 contact hours
First renewal exemptNot stated
Other accepted activitiesStructured special interest or study groups (3 hours equals 1 PDU, maximum 6 PDUs per renewal period); Being mentored by a skilled individual (20 hours equals 3 PDUs, maximum 6 PDUs); Mentoring a colleague (20 hours equals 3 PDUs, maximum 6 PDUs); Supervising Level I fieldwork students (1 PDU per student) and Level II fieldwork students (1 PDU per 40 hours), maximum 12 PDUs combined; Publication of an article in a non-peer reviewed publication (5 PDUs each, maximum 10 PDUs); Post-professional coursework at an approved or accredited educational institution (1 academic credit equals 10 PDUs)

The board counts professional development units (PDUs). One hour of participation in a professional development activity equals one PDU, so 24 PDUs is 24 contact hours; 1 CEU or 1 academic credit equals 10 PDUs (16 CCR 4161(a)). The board states the same 24 PDU total for occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants, and 12 of the 24 must be directly related to the delivery of occupational therapy services. Online, DVD and home study courses count with no cap as long as a completion certificate is issued. PDUs must be earned during the renewal period, which runs from the day after the previous expiration through the expiration date.

Required CE topics for California occupational therapists

The California Board of Occupational Therapy pages and rules we read do not mandate specific subject areas for this license type. Hours may be in any approved subject.

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records for4 years
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersThe board does not approve continuing competency courses and does not require an approved provider. Activities must be pertinent to occupational therapy practice, objectively measurable in hours, and either sponsored by AOTA or the Occupational Therapy Association of California, completed through an approved or accredited educational institution, or meet the criteria in 16 CCR 4161(b). Activities are listed on the renewal form; the board runs periodic random audits.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a California OT need to renew?
California occupational therapists must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the California Board of Occupational Therapy. The board counts professional development units (PDUs). One hour of participation in a professional development activity equals one PDU, so 24 PDUs is 24 contact hours; 1 CEU or 1 academic credit equals 10 PDUs (16 CCR 4161(a)). The board states the same 24 PDU total for occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants, and 12 of the 24 must be directly related to the delivery of occupational therapy services. Online, DVD and home study courses count with no cap as long as a completion certificate is issued. PDUs must be earned during the renewal period, which runs from the day after the previous expiration through the expiration date.
How often does a California OT license need to be renewed?
Occupational Therapist licenses in California renew every two years. The term of a license is two years. Licenses expire at midnight on the last day of the licensee's birth month, in odd or even years depending on birth year. There is no grace period: practice must stop when the license expires, and the delinquent fee applies if the renewal is not postmarked by the expiration date.
Does California require specific CE topics for occupational therapists?
The California Board of Occupational Therapy does not list mandated subject areas for OT renewal on the pages we verified; the 24 contact hours may be in any approved subject.
Do California occupational therapists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 4 years. The board does not approve continuing competency courses and does not require an approved provider. Activities must be pertinent to occupational therapy practice, objectively measurable in hours, and either sponsored by AOTA or the Occupational Therapy Association of California, completed through an approved or accredited educational institution, or meet the criteria in 16 CCR 4161(b). Activities are listed on the renewal form; the board runs periodic random audits.

Sources

Last verified September 9, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

California has its own occupational therapy board, the California Board of Occupational Therapy, separate from the Physical Therapy Board of California. The 24 PDU total, the two year birth month cycle, the 12 PDU direct service minimum, the 6 PDU carryover and the four year record retention were read on the board's own continuing competency, renewal and FAQ pages, and the rule text was confirmed in 16 CCR 4161 to 4163 through the Cornell mirror. One rule covers occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants alike: the board's continuing competency page states that all occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants renewing in active status must complete the units, and 16 CCR 4161(a) applies to each licensee renewing under Business and Professions Code 2570.10. The board mandates no specific subject, no jurisprudence or ethics course and no NBCOT certification for renewal. Advanced practice approval in hand therapy, physical agent modalities or swallowing requires additional education and training hours before approval, but the board states it carries no additional continuing competency requirement and does not itself renew. The regulations state no first renewal exemption and no prorated first renewal; the only exemptions in 16 CCR 4163 are residence abroad, military absence, health or other good cause.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the California Board of Occupational Therapy before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.