California Nurse Practitioner license renewal and CE requirements
California nurse practitioners must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the California Board of Registered Nursing.
A California nurse practitioner holds an RN license plus a Nurse Practitioner certificate, and a Nurse Practitioner Furnishing number if the nurse furnishes drugs or devices. The board states that a first RN license is issued for two birthdays rather than two years and expires the last day of the month following the birth date, and expires every two years after that. The nurse practitioner certificate and the furnishing number renew at the same time as the RN license and carry their own fees. Renewal notices go out about three months before expiration, but the licensee is responsible for renewing whether or not the notice arrives.
Summary
California nurse practitioners must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the California Board of Registered Nursing. A California nurse practitioner holds an RN license plus a Nurse Practitioner certificate, and a Nurse Practitioner Furnishing number if the nurse furnishes drugs or devices. The board states that a first RN license is issued for two birthdays rather than two years and expires the last day of the month following the birth date, and expires every two years after that. The nurse practitioner certificate and the furnishing number renew at the same time as the RN license and carry their own fees. Renewal notices go out about three months before expiration, but the licensee is responsible for renewing whether or not the notice arrives. California also mandates specific subjects. Gerontology, the special care needs of patients with dementia, or the care of older patients: 6 contact hours every renewal cycle (nurse practitioners who provide primary care to a patient population of which over 25 percent are 65 years of age or older). Implicit bias course: 1 contact hour at the first renewal only (licensees still within the first two years immediately following initial licensure). Schedule II controlled substances and the risks of addiction associated with their use: required every renewal cycle (nurse practitioners with a furnishing number who are authorized to furnish Schedule II controlled substances). The first renewal is exempt.
California Nurse Practitioner renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Two-year (24 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Tied to the licensee's birth monthFirst renewal is prorated. |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 30 contact hours |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | Not stated |
| First renewal exempt | Yes |
| Other accepted activities | Homestudy courses, accepted with no hour cap; CME Category 1 courses; College courses, converted to contact hours using the board's formula |
California does not add a separate nurse practitioner hour total on top of the registered nurse requirement. Every RN who wants an active license completes 30 contact hours of board recognized continuing education each two year renewal, and the nurse practitioner certificate and furnishing number renew alongside the RN license with additional fees but no additional hour count. What California layers on instead are targeted subject mandates that fall inside the 30 hours: six of the 30 must be gerontology or dementia content for a nurse practitioner whose primary care population is more than 25 percent aged 65 or older, and a nurse practitioner who furnishes Schedule II controlled substances must include education on Schedule II substances and the risks of addiction. A licensee is exempt from the 30 hours during the first two years immediately following initial licensure, except for the implicit bias hour.
Required CE topics for California nurse practitioners
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gerontology, the special care needs of patients with dementia, or the care of older patientsThe board states these six hours count within the 30 hours required to renew the registered nurse license rather than adding to them. This is one of the few California requirements written specifically for nurse practitioners. | 6 contact hours | Every renewal | nurse practitioners who provide primary care to a patient population of which over 25 percent are 65 years of age or older | Not stated |
| Implicit bias courseOne hour of direct participation in an implicit bias course from a board approved continuing education provider, required since January 1, 2023. This is the one requirement a first time renewer is not exempt from. | 1 contact hour | First renewal only | licensees still within the first two years immediately following initial licensure | Business and Professions Code 2811.5 (AB 1407, Chapter 445, Statutes of 2021) |
| Schedule II controlled substances and the risks of addiction associated with their useThe statute requires that a nurse practitioner authorized to furnish Schedule II controlled substances complete continuing education that includes Schedule II substances and the risks of addiction, and leaves the board to set what satisfies it. No hour count appears in the statute, and none was found on the board pages read, so hours is null. | Not stated | Every renewal | nurse practitioners with a furnishing number who are authorized to furnish Schedule II controlled substances | Business and Professions Code 2836.1 |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | No, attestation only |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | 4 years |
| Board audits compliance | Yes |
| Approved providers | Courses must be taken through a continuing education provider recognized by the Board of Registered Nursing, with a CEP number verifiable through the DCA license search. The board notes that approving a provider is not an endorsement of specific course content. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a California NP need to renew?
- California nurse practitioners must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the California Board of Registered Nursing. California does not add a separate nurse practitioner hour total on top of the registered nurse requirement. Every RN who wants an active license completes 30 contact hours of board recognized continuing education each two year renewal, and the nurse practitioner certificate and furnishing number renew alongside the RN license with additional fees but no additional hour count. What California layers on instead are targeted subject mandates that fall inside the 30 hours: six of the 30 must be gerontology or dementia content for a nurse practitioner whose primary care population is more than 25 percent aged 65 or older, and a nurse practitioner who furnishes Schedule II controlled substances must include education on Schedule II substances and the risks of addiction. A licensee is exempt from the 30 hours during the first two years immediately following initial licensure, except for the implicit bias hour.
- How often does a California NP license need to be renewed?
- Nurse Practitioner licenses in California renew every two years. A California nurse practitioner holds an RN license plus a Nurse Practitioner certificate, and a Nurse Practitioner Furnishing number if the nurse furnishes drugs or devices. The board states that a first RN license is issued for two birthdays rather than two years and expires the last day of the month following the birth date, and expires every two years after that. The nurse practitioner certificate and the furnishing number renew at the same time as the RN license and carry their own fees. Renewal notices go out about three months before expiration, but the licensee is responsible for renewing whether or not the notice arrives.
- What specific CE topics are required for California nurse practitioners?
- Gerontology, the special care needs of patients with dementia, or the care of older patients: 6 contact hours every renewal cycle (nurse practitioners who provide primary care to a patient population of which over 25 percent are 65 years of age or older). Implicit bias course: 1 contact hour at the first renewal only (licensees still within the first two years immediately following initial licensure). Schedule II controlled substances and the risks of addiction associated with their use: required every renewal cycle (nurse practitioners with a furnishing number who are authorized to furnish Schedule II controlled substances). Citations: implicit bias course (Business and Professions Code 2811.5 (AB 1407, Chapter 445, Statutes of 2021)) and Schedule II controlled substances and the risks of addiction associated with their use (Business and Professions Code 2836.1).
- Do California nurse practitioners have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 4 years. Courses must be taken through a continuing education provider recognized by the Board of Registered Nursing, with a CEP number verifiable through the DCA license search. The board notes that approving a provider is not an endorsement of specific course content.
- Is the first California NP renewal exempt from CE?
- Yes. California does not require continuing education for a NP's first renewal.
Sources
Last verified September 8, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- Continuing Education for License Renewal, California Board of Registered NursingState board page, accessed September 8, 2026
- License Renewal, California Board of Registered NursingState board page, accessed September 8, 2026
- California Business and Professions Code 2836.1, nurse practitioner furnishingStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 8, 2026
- California Business and Professions Code 2836.3, nurse practitioner furnishing numberStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 8, 2026
The 30 hour total, the two year birthday cycle, the four year retention, the random audits, the first two year exemption, the implicit bias hour and the six hour gerontology requirement for nurse practitioners were all read on the board's own renewal and continuing education pages. Business and Professions Code 2836.3 states only that the furnishing number is renewable at the time of the registered nurse license renewal and sets no continuing education; 2836.1 requires Schedule II education without stating hours. Several third party summaries assert a fixed pharmacology hour count for California furnishing number renewal, ranging from three to six hours; no such figure appears in either statute or on either board page read, so no pharmacology hour count is recorded here and the field is left null rather than guessed. A board regulation, 16 CCR 1451, is cited on the board page as the source of the audit and retention rules but the regulation text itself was not read. California nurse practitioner records should be revisited if the board publishes a furnishing continuing education standard with an hour figure.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the California Board of Registered Nursing before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.