Physician Assistant CE requirements by state
How physician assistants renew in each state: cycle, deadline basis, continuing education hours, and mandated topics. 39 of 51 jurisdictions verified so far; the rest are coming soon and are not estimated.
Jump to a state for physician assistants
Verified states
| State | Renewal | Deadline | CE per cycle | Mandated topics | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | Annual | Same date for every licensee | 50 CME credits every two years | Navigating Professional Boundaries in Medicine; Controlled substance prescribing CME for holders of a Qualified Alabama Controlled Substances Certificate (QACSC) | September 8, 2026 |
| Arizona | Two-year | Tied to the licensee's birth date | 40 CME credits | Opioid related, substance use disorder related or addiction related continuing medical education | September 8, 2026 |
| Arkansas | Annual | Tied to the licensee's birth month | 20 CME credits | Prescribing of opioids and benzodiazepines; Pain management education for prescribers of Schedule II hydrocodone products | September 8, 2026 |
| California | Two-year | Tied to the licensee's birth month | 50 CME credits | Controlled substance education course | September 8, 2026 |
| Connecticut | Annual | Tied to the licensee's birth month | 100 CME credits every two years | Prescribing controlled substances and pain management; Screening for post-traumatic stress disorder, risk of suicide, depression and grief, and suicide prevention training | September 8, 2026 |
| District of Columbia | Two-year | Tied to the licensee's birth month | 100 CME credits | LGBTQ cultural competency; Topics designated by the Director of the Department of Health as public health priorities | September 8, 2026 |
| Florida | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 100 CME credits | Prevention of Medical Errors; Domestic Violence; HIV/AIDS; Safe and effective prescribing of controlled substance medications | September 8, 2026 |
| Georgia | Two-year | Tied to the licensee's birth month | 40 CME credits | Continuing medical education directly related to the specialty of the Board approved primary supervising physician; Practice specific pharmaceuticals in which the physician assistant has prescription order privileges; Appropriate ordering and use of hydrocodone, oxycodone, or compounds thereof; Recognition and documentation of the causes of death and appropriate execution of death certificates | September 8, 2026 |
| Hawaii | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 100 CME credits | None listed | September 8, 2026 |
| Illinois | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 50 contact hours | Sexual harassment prevention training; Implicit bias awareness training; Cultural competency training; Alzheimer's disease and other dementias training; Continuing education on safe opioid prescribing practices | September 8, 2026 |
| Indiana | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | None | None listed | September 8, 2026 |
| Iowa | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 100 contact hours | Continuing education on the CDC guidelines for prescribing opioids; Mandatory reporter training, child abuse identification and reporting; Mandatory reporter training, dependent adult abuse identification and reporting | September 8, 2026 |
| Kansas | Annual | Same date for every licensee | 50 credit hours | Category III continuing education: acute or chronic pain management, appropriate prescribing of opioids, or use of prescription drug monitoring programs | September 8, 2026 |
| Kentucky | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 100 contact hours | Controlled substance diversion, pain management, addiction disorders, or use of KASPER; Addiction medicine, for buprenorphine prescribers; Recognition and prevention of pediatric abusive head trauma; Alzheimer's and other forms of dementia | September 8, 2026 |
| Louisiana | Annual | Tied to the licensee's birth month | Required, hours not stated | Controlled dangerous substance prescribing practices; Treatment of sickle cell disease; Nutrition and metabolic health | September 8, 2026 |
| Maine | Two-year | Tied to the licensee's birth month | 100 CME credits | Prescribing of opioid medication; Online jurisprudence examination on the board's laws and rules | September 8, 2026 |
| Maryland | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 50 contact hours | Category 1 education on pharmacology topics; Implicit bias and structural racism training | September 8, 2026 |
| Massachusetts | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 100 contact hours | Pharmacology or pharmacokinetics; Prescriber training on pain management and opioid misuse | September 8, 2026 |
| Michigan | Three-year | Tied to the original issue date | None | Implicit bias training; Opioids and other controlled substances awareness training; Training in identifying victims of human trafficking | September 8, 2026 |
| Minnesota | Annual | Tied to the licensee's birth month | 50 contact hours every two years | None listed | September 8, 2026 |
| Mississippi | Annual | Same date for every licensee | 100 CME credits every two years | Prescribing of medications with an emphasis on controlled substances | September 8, 2026 |
| Nebraska | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 50 CME credits | Continuing education regarding prescribing opiates, including the prescription drug monitoring program | September 8, 2026 |
| Nevada | Two-year | Board-specific schedule | 40 CME credits | Course of instruction on the medical consequences of an act of terrorism that involves the use of a weapon of mass destruction; Evidence-based suicide prevention and awareness; Continuing medical education relating to persons with substance use and other addictive disorders and the prescribing of opioids; Instruction relating to cultural competency and diversity, equity and inclusion; Training on stigma and bias toward persons who have or are at risk of acquiring human immunodeficiency virus | September 8, 2026 |
| New York | Three-year | Tied to the licensee's birth month | None | Coursework or training in infection control and barrier precautions to prevent transmission of HIV and hepatitis B; Mandatory prescriber education in pain management, palliative care and addiction | September 8, 2026 |
| North Carolina | Annual | Tied to the licensee's birth month | 50 CME credits every two years | Controlled substance continuing medical education | September 8, 2026 |
| Ohio | Two-year | Tied to the original issue date | 100 CME credits | Continuing education in pharmacology | September 8, 2026 |
| Oregon | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 60 CME credits | Oregon Pain Management Commission pain management education; Cultural competency continuing education | September 8, 2026 |
| Pennsylvania | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 100 CME credits | Child abuse recognition and reporting; Pain management, the identification of addiction, or the practices of prescribing or dispensing opioids | September 8, 2026 |
| Rhode Island | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 25 CME credits every year | None listed | September 8, 2026 |
| South Carolina | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 100 CME credits | Approved procedures of prescribing and monitoring controlled substances listed in Schedules II, III, and IV | September 8, 2026 |
| South Dakota | Annual | Not stated by the board | 30 contact hours | None listed | September 8, 2026 |
| Texas | Two-year | Staggered by license number | 40 CME credits | Pain management and opioid prescribing; Human trafficking prevention; Forensic evidence collection | September 8, 2026 |
| Utah | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 40 CME credits | Online suicide prevention training; Controlled substance continuing education | September 8, 2026 |
| Vermont | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 100 CME credits | Controlled substances prescribing | September 8, 2026 |
| Virginia | Two-year | Tied to the licensee's birth month | Required, hours not stated | None listed | September 8, 2026 |
| Washington | Two-year | Tied to the licensee's birth date | 100 CME credits | Training in suicide assessment, treatment, and management; Health equity continuing education training; Best practices in the prescribing of opioids | September 8, 2026 |
| West Virginia | Two-year | Board-specific schedule | 100 CME credits | Risk Assessment and Responsible Prescribing of Controlled Substances, or Drug Diversion Training and Best Practice Prescribing of Controlled Substances | September 8, 2026 |
| Wisconsin | Two-year | Same date for every licensee | 30 CME credits | Responsible controlled substances prescribing | September 8, 2026 |
| Wyoming | Annual | Same date for every licensee | 60 CME credits every three years | None listed | September 8, 2026 |
Coming soon
12 jurisdictions are coming soon for physician assistants.
- Alaska
- Colorado
- Delaware
- Idaho
- Missouri
- Montana
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- North Dakota
- Oklahoma
- Tennessee