Illinois Occupational Therapy Assistant license renewal and CE requirements
Illinois occupational therapy assistants must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation, Occupational Therapy Licensure Board.
Every license issued under the Illinois Occupational Therapy Practice Act expires on December 31 of each odd-numbered year, so renewal is every two years. The license may be renewed during the month preceding the expiration date by paying the renewal fee, and 24 contact hours of continuing education must be completed in the 24 months preceding that December 31. Not receiving a renewal form from the Division is not an excuse for failing to renew, and practicing on an expired license counts as unlicensed practice.
Summary
Illinois occupational therapy assistants must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation, Occupational Therapy Licensure Board. Every license issued under the Illinois Occupational Therapy Practice Act expires on December 31 of each odd-numbered year, so renewal is every two years. The license may be renewed during the month preceding the expiration date by paying the renewal fee, and 24 contact hours of continuing education must be completed in the 24 months preceding that December 31. Not receiving a renewal form from the Division is not an excuse for failing to renew, and practicing on an expired license counts as unlicensed practice. Illinois also mandates specific subjects. Ethics: 1 contact hour every renewal cycle. Sexual harassment prevention training: 1 contact hour every renewal cycle. Implicit bias awareness training: 1 contact hour every renewal cycle. Alzheimer's disease and other dementias: 1 contact hour on a periodic schedule set by the board (licensees who provide health care services to, and have direct patient interactions with, adult populations age 26 or older). Cultural competency training: 1 contact hour on a periodic schedule set by the board. Mandated reporter training: 1 contact hour on a periodic schedule set by the board (medical personnel who work with children in their professional or official capacity). The first renewal is exempt.
Illinois Occupational Therapy Assistant renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Two-year (24 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Same date for every licensee, 12/31 each cycle |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 24 contact hours |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | Not stated |
| First renewal exempt | Yes |
| Other accepted activities | Independent study such as reading books or journal articles (maximum 4 contact hours per renewal period); Professional or online study group (maximum 12 contact hours); Formal mentorship as mentor or mentee (maximum 8 contact hours); Serving as primary clinical fieldwork educator for Level I or Level II OT or OTA students (1 contact hour per week of supervision, maximum 12 contact hours); Serving as primary capstone mentor for an entry level OTD doctoral capstone (1 contact hour per week, maximum 14 contact hours); Professional writing (18 hours authoring a book, 12 a chapter, 12 an article in a professional publication, 6 an article in a non-professional publication, 12 editing a book); First time or significantly revised presentation or instruction (presentation time plus up to 2 hours preparation per hour, maximum 12 contact hours); Research or evidence based project participation (maximum 12 contact hours); Grant proposal development (maximum 12 contact hours); Board or committee service in professionally related community based programs (2 contact hours per one year appointment, maximum 8 contact hours); Volunteer service using occupational therapy skills (2 contact hours per 5 hours of service, maximum 12 contact hours); Advanced competence recognition or specialty certification from a nationally recognized certifying body (12 contact hours per credential earned); AOTA approved post-professional clinical residency or fellowship (1 contact hour per 2 hours, maximum 24 contact hours); Academic coursework (15 CE hours per semester hour, 10 per quarter hour, no limit per renewal period) |
68 Ill. Adm. Code 1315.145(a)(1) states the requirement for occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants in one sentence: every occupational therapist and occupational therapy assistant must complete 24 contact hours of CE relevant to the practice of occupational therapy during each prerenewal period, and the prerenewal period is the 24 months preceding December 31 in the year of renewal. The rule adds that 24 contact hours of CE is equivalent to 12 units of Continued Competency Activities, at 2 contact hours per unit. A contact hour equals 50 minutes, and after the first hour credit may be given in half hour increments. There is no first renewal requirement: a renewal applicant does not have to comply with CE for the first renewal following original issuance of the license. Distance learning from an approved sponsor is expressly allowed with no stated cap; the only self-directed cap read is 4 contact hours per renewal period for independent study such as reading books or journal articles. Illinois licensees residing and practicing in other states must still meet these requirements.
Required CE topics for Illinois occupational therapy assistants
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| EthicsIn each renewal period one of the 24 contact hours must be a course in ethics. | 1 contact hour | Every renewal | All licensees | 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1315.145(a)(2) |
| Sexual harassment prevention trainingApplies to every individual license holder, beginning with the first renewal after initial licensure. Counts toward the 24 hours. Training must come from the licensee's employer, the Illinois Department of Human Rights, or a CE provider authorized under an Act the Department administers. | 1 contact hour | Every renewal | All licensees | 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1315.145(a)(3); 20 ILCS 2105/2105-15.5; 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1130.400 |
| Implicit bias awareness trainingOne hour per renewal period starting with the first renewal that requires CE. Counts toward the 24 hours. Effective July 1, 2026 licensees who report that they provide maternal health care services must take implicit bias training that covers maternal health risk factors for marginalized racial and ethnic groups. | 1 contact hour | Every renewal | All licensees | 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1315.145(a)(4); 20 ILCS 2105/2105-15.7; 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1130.500 |
| Alzheimer's disease and other dementiasRequired for renewals occurring on or after January 1, 2025. Taken before the first renewal that requires CE and retaken once every six years. Counts toward the 24 hours. | 1 contact hour | Periodic | Licensees who provide health care services to, and have direct patient interactions with, adult populations age 26 or older | 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1315.145(a)(5); 20 ILCS 2105/2105-365 |
| Cultural competency trainingIDFPR lists the Illinois Occupational Therapy Practice Act among the Acts this applies to. Required for renewals occurring on or after January 1, 2025, taken before the first renewal that requires CE and retaken once every six years. Counts toward the 24 hours. This requirement is on the Department's continuing education page rather than in 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1315.145. | 1 contact hour | Periodic | All licensees | 20 ILCS 2105/2105-370 |
| Mandated reporter trainingSet by the Illinois Department of Children and Family Services, not by IDFPR. IDFPR lists occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants as medical personnel mandated reporters, who must complete the training at least every six years. Since January 1, 2021 the hour may count toward the CE requirement. Every mandated reporter also attests at each renewal. | 1 contact hour | Periodic | Medical personnel who work with children in their professional or official capacity | 325 ILCS 5/4 |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | No, attestation only |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | Not stated |
| Board audits compliance | Not stated |
| Approved providers | CE must be earned from an approved sponsor listed in 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1315.145(d)(1): AOTA and its affiliates and AOTA approved sponsors, APTA and the Illinois Physical Therapy Association, ASHA and the Illinois Speech and Hearing Association, AMA and the Illinois State Medical Society, colleges and universities with ACOTE accredited OT or OTA programs, regionally accredited colleges and universities, the American Society of Hand Therapists, licensed hospitals, state agencies, educational institutions that provide occupational therapy services, educational associations such as NEA and IEA, the Illinois State Board of Education, and any other entity the Division licenses as a CE sponsor. Credit is not given for courses taken in Illinois from unapproved sponsors. Hours earned in another jurisdiction from a non-approved sponsor need a separate approval application and fee. Licensees certify compliance on the renewal application; the Division may require additional evidence and it is the applicant's responsibility to retain or produce it, but the rules read do not set a retention period for licensees. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Illinois OTA need to renew?
- Illinois occupational therapy assistants must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation, Occupational Therapy Licensure Board. 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1315.145(a)(1) states the requirement for occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants in one sentence: every occupational therapist and occupational therapy assistant must complete 24 contact hours of CE relevant to the practice of occupational therapy during each prerenewal period, and the prerenewal period is the 24 months preceding December 31 in the year of renewal. The rule adds that 24 contact hours of CE is equivalent to 12 units of Continued Competency Activities, at 2 contact hours per unit. A contact hour equals 50 minutes, and after the first hour credit may be given in half hour increments. There is no first renewal requirement: a renewal applicant does not have to comply with CE for the first renewal following original issuance of the license. Distance learning from an approved sponsor is expressly allowed with no stated cap; the only self-directed cap read is 4 contact hours per renewal period for independent study such as reading books or journal articles. Illinois licensees residing and practicing in other states must still meet these requirements.
- How often does a Illinois OTA license need to be renewed?
- Occupational Therapy Assistant licenses in Illinois renew every two years. Every license issued under the Illinois Occupational Therapy Practice Act expires on December 31 of each odd-numbered year, so renewal is every two years. The license may be renewed during the month preceding the expiration date by paying the renewal fee, and 24 contact hours of continuing education must be completed in the 24 months preceding that December 31. Not receiving a renewal form from the Division is not an excuse for failing to renew, and practicing on an expired license counts as unlicensed practice.
- What specific CE topics are required for Illinois occupational therapy assistants?
- Ethics: 1 contact hour every renewal cycle. Sexual harassment prevention training: 1 contact hour every renewal cycle. Implicit bias awareness training: 1 contact hour every renewal cycle. Alzheimer's disease and other dementias: 1 contact hour on a periodic schedule set by the board (licensees who provide health care services to, and have direct patient interactions with, adult populations age 26 or older). Cultural competency training: 1 contact hour on a periodic schedule set by the board. Mandated reporter training: 1 contact hour on a periodic schedule set by the board (medical personnel who work with children in their professional or official capacity). Citations: ethics (68 Ill. Adm. Code 1315.145(a)(2)), sexual harassment prevention training (68 Ill. Adm. Code 1315.145(a)(3); 20 ILCS 2105/2105-15.5; 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1130.400), implicit bias awareness training (68 Ill. Adm. Code 1315.145(a)(4); 20 ILCS 2105/2105-15.7; 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1130.500), Alzheimer's disease and other dementias (68 Ill. Adm. Code 1315.145(a)(5); 20 ILCS 2105/2105-365), cultural competency training (20 ILCS 2105/2105-370), and mandated reporter training (325 ILCS 5/4).
- Do Illinois occupational therapy assistants have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates. CE must be earned from an approved sponsor listed in 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1315.145(d)(1): AOTA and its affiliates and AOTA approved sponsors, APTA and the Illinois Physical Therapy Association, ASHA and the Illinois Speech and Hearing Association, AMA and the Illinois State Medical Society, colleges and universities with ACOTE accredited OT or OTA programs, regionally accredited colleges and universities, the American Society of Hand Therapists, licensed hospitals, state agencies, educational institutions that provide occupational therapy services, educational associations such as NEA and IEA, the Illinois State Board of Education, and any other entity the Division licenses as a CE sponsor. Credit is not given for courses taken in Illinois from unapproved sponsors. Hours earned in another jurisdiction from a non-approved sponsor need a separate approval application and fee. Licensees certify compliance on the renewal application; the Division may require additional evidence and it is the applicant's responsibility to retain or produce it, but the rules read do not set a retention period for licensees.
- Is the first Illinois OTA renewal exempt from CE?
- Yes. Illinois does not require continuing education for a OTA's first renewal.
Sources
Last verified September 9, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1315.145, Continuing Education (Illinois Occupational Therapy Practice Act rules)Statute or administrative rule, accessed September 9, 2026
- 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1315.140, Renewal (Illinois Occupational Therapy Practice Act rules)Statute or administrative rule, accessed September 9, 2026
- Continuing Education, Illinois Department of Financial and Professional RegulationState board page, accessed September 9, 2026
- Occupational Therapy, Illinois Department of Financial and Professional RegulationState board page, accessed September 9, 2026
- Occupational Therapy Licensure Board, Illinois Department of Financial and Professional RegulationState board page, accessed September 9, 2026
One rule covers both credentials. 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1315.145(a)(1) names occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants together and sets the same 24 contact hours for both, and 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1315.140(a) sets the same December 31 odd-numbered-year expiration for every license issued under the Act, so the occupational therapy assistant figures here are not carried over from the other credential, they are the same sentence of the rule. Nothing in Part 1315 sets a different total, a different renewal date, or a different mandated topic for assistants. Hours, cycle, first renewal exemption, the ethics, sexual harassment, implicit bias and dementia mandates, the independent study cap and the alternative activity conversions were read in 1315.145 as amended at 48 Ill. Reg. 5980, effective April 5, 2024. The cultural competency and mandated reporter requirements were read on the Department's own continuing education page, which names the Illinois Occupational Therapy Practice Act and lists occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants; they are not restated in Part 1315. Illinois licenses both credentials, both renew on the same date, and NBCOT certification is not mentioned as a renewal condition anywhere read. Not stated in the sources read: whether hours carry over, a licensee record retention period, and whether the Division runs a routine audit as opposed to requesting evidence when noncompliance appears. Supervision of occupational therapy assistants is governed by 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1315.163 and is not continuing education.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation, Occupational Therapy Licensure Board before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.