Skip to main content
CredNet

Georgia Occupational Therapy Assistant license renewal and CE requirements

Georgia occupational therapy assistants must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Georgia State Board of Occupational Therapy (Licensing Division, Georgia Secretary of State).

Occupational therapist and occupational therapy assistant licenses expire March 31 of every even numbered year, and the 24 continuing education hours must be completed before that expiration date. A license not renewed by March 31 of the renewal year is lapsed; late renewal is possible from April 1 through April 30 with a late fee, proof of continuing education and all required forms. As of May 1 of the renewal year an unrenewed license is expired and revoked by operation of law, and only reinstatement under Rule 671-3-.09 will restore it. The board emails a notice when renewal opens, or mails a postcard if it has no email address on file, but the licensee is responsible for renewing on time.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Same date for every licensee
CE per cycle
24
contact hours
Mandated topics
1
required subject
Last verified
September 10, 2026
12 days ago

Summary

Georgia occupational therapy assistants must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Georgia State Board of Occupational Therapy (Licensing Division, Georgia Secretary of State). Occupational therapist and occupational therapy assistant licenses expire March 31 of every even numbered year, and the 24 continuing education hours must be completed before that expiration date. A license not renewed by March 31 of the renewal year is lapsed; late renewal is possible from April 1 through April 30 with a late fee, proof of continuing education and all required forms. As of May 1 of the renewal year an unrenewed license is expired and revoked by operation of law, and only reinstatement under Rule 671-3-.09 will restore it. The board emails a notice when renewal opens, or mails a postcard if it has no email address on file, but the licensee is responsible for renewing on time. Georgia also mandates specific subjects. Ethics of occupational therapy practice: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle. No more than 10 contact hours may be self-study or online and the first renewal is exempt.

Georgia Occupational Therapy Assistant renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineSame date for every licensee, 03/31 each cycle
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle24 contact hours
Category 1 minimum12 contact hours
Live or interactive minimum12 contact hours
Self-study or online capAt most 10 contact hours
Carryover to next cycleNot stated
First renewal exemptYes
Other accepted activitiesServing as the primary clinical fieldwork educator for a Level II occupational therapy or occupational therapy assistant fieldwork student, counted in the General category; Published professional writing and applied research, counted in the General category; Instructional presentations, including a first time or significantly revised presentation, academic class session, workshop, seminar, in-service or professional meeting session, counted in the General category; Formal academic coursework, which can count toward the 12 direct patient care hours; Pre-recorded electronic or web based courses, formal self-study courses, satellite broadcasts, computer learning activities, non-interactive webinars and viewing videotapes in a professional setting, counted in the General category

Rule 671-3-.08(4) requires each licensee, occupational therapist and occupational therapy assistant alike, to complete a minimum of 24 continuing education hours during each two year renewal period, before the license expiration date. A continuing education hour is actual time spent in instruction or organized learning, excluding meals, breaks, welcomes, introductions and business meetings. At least 12 of the 24 must be on a topic related to direct patient care, meaning occupational therapy assessment, treatment planning, implementation and diagnostic related information, and those hours must come from attendance at a live presentation such as a workshop, seminar or conference, from formal academic coursework, or from a real time interactive webinar where you can ask questions, get an answer and interact with other attendees during the session; a pre-recorded session does not qualify. At least 2 of the 24 must be in the ethics of occupational therapy practice and those may be taken online. A maximum of 10 of the 24 may be General hours, which is the category holding Level II fieldwork supervision, published professional writing, instructional presentations, pre-recorded or web based courses, formal self-study, satellite broadcasts, computer learning activities, non-interactive webinars and videotape viewing, and which may also cover administration, supervision, documentation, quality assurance and research. Continuing education is required only if the licensee applies to renew: a licensee who lets the license lapse or moves it to inactive status before expiration does not need the hours until attempting reinstatement. Hours earned before the Georgia license was issued cannot be used. Physical agent modalities certification is separate from renewal continuing education: Rule 671-6-.02 requires 90 contact hours of board approved instruction, at least 36 of them directly related to the theory and practical application of physical agent modalities, as a one time qualification to use those modalities, and it is not part of the 24 hour renewal total.

Required CE topics for Georgia occupational therapy assistants

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Ethics of occupational therapy practiceA minimum of 2 of the 24 required hours, counted within the 24 rather than on top of them. These hours may be obtained online.2 contact hoursEvery renewalAll licenseesGa. Comp. R. & Regs. r. 671-3-.08(6)(b)

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalYes
Keep records for4 years
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersThe board does not pre-approve continuing education courses or providers. Acceptable activities must be relevant to occupational therapy practice and must update or enhance knowledge and skills beyond entry level; orientation, meetings held to make policy decisions, non-educational meetings, annual compliance training and cardiopulmonary resuscitation courses are all unacceptable. Since April 1, 2018 every licensee must register and report coursework and proof of completion in CE Broker, at no cost for the basic account, and each licensee is deemed to consent to the board accessing that record for audit. A licensee who has not registered the credits in CE Broker must include all certificates of completion with the renewal application. Licensees answer the continuing education questions on the renewal application accurately, keep original documentation for at least four years from the beginning date of the renewal period or reinstatement, and produce it if selected for a random audit. The rule spells out what proof each activity type needs, including a certificate signed by a program official plus a program description for live courses, and a description of the facility, the fieldwork educator and supervision time for Level II fieldwork.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Georgia OTA need to renew?
Georgia occupational therapy assistants must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Georgia State Board of Occupational Therapy (Licensing Division, Georgia Secretary of State). Rule 671-3-.08(4) requires each licensee, occupational therapist and occupational therapy assistant alike, to complete a minimum of 24 continuing education hours during each two year renewal period, before the license expiration date. A continuing education hour is actual time spent in instruction or organized learning, excluding meals, breaks, welcomes, introductions and business meetings. At least 12 of the 24 must be on a topic related to direct patient care, meaning occupational therapy assessment, treatment planning, implementation and diagnostic related information, and those hours must come from attendance at a live presentation such as a workshop, seminar or conference, from formal academic coursework, or from a real time interactive webinar where you can ask questions, get an answer and interact with other attendees during the session; a pre-recorded session does not qualify. At least 2 of the 24 must be in the ethics of occupational therapy practice and those may be taken online. A maximum of 10 of the 24 may be General hours, which is the category holding Level II fieldwork supervision, published professional writing, instructional presentations, pre-recorded or web based courses, formal self-study, satellite broadcasts, computer learning activities, non-interactive webinars and videotape viewing, and which may also cover administration, supervision, documentation, quality assurance and research. Continuing education is required only if the licensee applies to renew: a licensee who lets the license lapse or moves it to inactive status before expiration does not need the hours until attempting reinstatement. Hours earned before the Georgia license was issued cannot be used. Physical agent modalities certification is separate from renewal continuing education: Rule 671-6-.02 requires 90 contact hours of board approved instruction, at least 36 of them directly related to the theory and practical application of physical agent modalities, as a one time qualification to use those modalities, and it is not part of the 24 hour renewal total.
How often does a Georgia OTA license need to be renewed?
Occupational Therapy Assistant licenses in Georgia renew every two years. Occupational therapist and occupational therapy assistant licenses expire March 31 of every even numbered year, and the 24 continuing education hours must be completed before that expiration date. A license not renewed by March 31 of the renewal year is lapsed; late renewal is possible from April 1 through April 30 with a late fee, proof of continuing education and all required forms. As of May 1 of the renewal year an unrenewed license is expired and revoked by operation of law, and only reinstatement under Rule 671-3-.09 will restore it. The board emails a notice when renewal opens, or mails a postcard if it has no email address on file, but the licensee is responsible for renewing on time.
What specific CE topics are required for Georgia occupational therapy assistants?
Ethics of occupational therapy practice: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle. Citations: ethics of occupational therapy practice (Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. r. 671-3-.08(6)(b)).
Do Georgia occupational therapy assistants have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Proof of completion must be submitted with the renewal, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 4 years. The board does not pre-approve continuing education courses or providers. Acceptable activities must be relevant to occupational therapy practice and must update or enhance knowledge and skills beyond entry level; orientation, meetings held to make policy decisions, non-educational meetings, annual compliance training and cardiopulmonary resuscitation courses are all unacceptable. Since April 1, 2018 every licensee must register and report coursework and proof of completion in CE Broker, at no cost for the basic account, and each licensee is deemed to consent to the board accessing that record for audit. A licensee who has not registered the credits in CE Broker must include all certificates of completion with the renewal application. Licensees answer the continuing education questions on the renewal application accurately, keep original documentation for at least four years from the beginning date of the renewal period or reinstatement, and produce it if selected for a random audit. The rule spells out what proof each activity type needs, including a certificate signed by a program official plus a program description for live courses, and a description of the facility, the fieldwork educator and supervision time for Level II fieldwork.
Is the first Georgia OTA renewal exempt from CE?
Yes. Georgia does not require continuing education for a OTA's first renewal.

Sources

Last verified September 10, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

Verified as an assistant figure at its own source: Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. r. 671-3-.08(4) applies to each licensee of this board rather than to therapists only, and the board's FAQ states the requirement in both credentials' names, a minimum 24 contact clock hours of continuing education for every renewal for each licensed OT and OTA, with 12 hours of hands on patient care and 2 hours of ethics. The expiration answer in the same FAQ is written the same way: all OT and OTA licenses expire on March 31 of all even numbered years. There is no reduced assistant total, no different category minimum, no separate assistant renewal date and no assistant specific mandated subject. Georgia licenses the assistant credential, it does not certify or register it. Two rules name the assistant separately without changing the continuing education total: Rule 671-6-.02 applies the same 90 contact hour physical agent modalities training to an assistant who wants to use those modalities, and Rules 671-2-.02 and 671-2-.03 govern supervision of the assistant, which is a practice requirement and not continuing education. Serving as the primary clinical fieldwork educator for a Level II occupational therapy assistant fieldwork student is a creditable General activity for the supervising licensee. Georgia follows the third board pattern: occupational therapy has its own board, the Georgia State Board of Occupational Therapy, administered by the Licensing Division of the Secretary of State, with its own rules at Department 671. The Georgia State Board of Physical Therapy is a separate board in the same division, so no physical therapy figure was carried over. Both the rule and the board's FAQ were read this cycle on official state hosts; both hosts return 403 to plain automated clients and were read in a browser instead. One stale detail on the board's own site: the board home page says proof of continuing education is submitted for annual license renewal, while Rule 671-3-.08(1) and the board FAQ both say licenses expire March 31 of even numbered years, which is a two year cycle. The 24 hour total, the 12 direct patient care hours, the 2 ethics hours and the March 31 even year expiration agree between the rule and the FAQ. They differ on one secondary limit: the rule as amended June 25, 2026, effective July 15, 2026, caps the General category at 10 of the 24 hours, while the FAQ still says up to 12 hours may be obtained online or by home study. The rule is the dated, current text, current through rules filed September 2, 2026, so 10 is recorded and the older FAQ wording is noted here rather than treated as an unresolved conflict. Note also that the recorded self study cap of 10 is the General category cap; the 2 ethics hours may separately be taken online, so as much as 12 of the 24 can be earned online in practice. NBCOT is a licensure requirement in Georgia rather than a renewal requirement: Rules 671-3-.03 and 671-3-.04 adopt the NBCOT examination and its passing score, and the board FAQ says licensure requirements include NBCOT certification, but nothing in the renewal rule requires current NBCOT certification at renewal or substitutes NBCOT units for the 24 hours. The first renewal exemption is conditional: under 671-3-.08(7) only a first time Georgia licensee who is licensed during the second year of the biennium is excused, and only for that initial renewal period. Supervision of an occupational therapy assistant is a practice requirement under Rules 671-2-.02 and 671-2-.03 and is not continuing education; supervising a Level II fieldwork student is a creditable General activity.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Georgia State Board of Occupational Therapy (Licensing Division, Georgia Secretary of State) before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.