Illinois Physician (MD) license renewal and CE requirements
Illinois physicians (MD) must complete 150 CME credits of continuing education every three years to renew their license with the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation, Division of Professional Regulation (Illinois State Medical Board).
Every license issued under the Medical Practice Act of 1987 expires on July 31 every third year, so the Physician and Surgeon license is a three year license with a July 31 deadline. The most recent renewal year was 2026 and the next one is 2029. A license can be renewed during the month before the expiration date, and it can still be renewed within 90 days after expiration by meeting the renewal requirements and paying an additional fee, with that late renewal effective back to the expiration date. Practicing on an expired license is unlicensed activity.
Summary
Illinois physicians (MD) must complete 150 CME credits of continuing education every three years to renew their license with the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation, Division of Professional Regulation (Illinois State Medical Board). Every license issued under the Medical Practice Act of 1987 expires on July 31 every third year, so the Physician and Surgeon license is a three year license with a July 31 deadline. The most recent renewal year was 2026 and the next one is 2029. A license can be renewed during the month before the expiration date, and it can still be renewed within 90 days after expiration by meeting the renewal requirements and paying an additional fee, with that late renewal effective back to the expiration date. Practicing on an expired license is unlicensed activity. Illinois also mandates specific subjects. Sexual harassment prevention training: 1 CME credit every renewal cycle (all persons holding a professional license issued by the Division who are subject to a continuing education requirement). Implicit bias awareness training: 1 CME credit every renewal cycle (named health care licenses including Physician (medical) and Physician (osteopathic)). Cultural competency training: 1 CME credit on a periodic schedule set by the board (named health care licenses including Physician (medical) and Physician (osteopathic)). Alzheimer's disease and other dementias training: 1 CME credit on a periodic schedule set by the board (only health care professionals who provide health care services to and have direct patient interactions with adults age 26 or older. It does not apply to a physician whose practice is limited to persons under age 26.). Continuing education on safe opioid prescribing practices: 1 CME credit every renewal cycle (every prescriber who is licensed to prescribe controlled substances. A physician who does not hold controlled substance prescribing authority is not covered.). No more than 90 CME credits may be self-study or online, hours do not carry over between cycles, and the first renewal is exempt.
Illinois Physician (MD) renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Three-year (36 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Same date for every licensee, 07/31 each cycle |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 150 CME credits |
| Self-study or online cap | At most 90 CME credits |
| Carryover to next cycle | No |
| First renewal exempt | Yes |
| Other accepted activities | An AMA Physician Recognition Award certificate is accepted as documentation of compliance with the 150 hours; Up to 12.5 hours for each month of approved postgraduate clinical training; CME programs required for certification or recertification by specialty boards and professional associations; CME hours used to satisfy another jurisdiction's requirement, if verified as approved by that jurisdiction; Informal activities including teaching health professionals, medical writing, self-assessment activities, preceptorship participation, formal peer review and quality assurance, preparation of educational exhibits, consultation with peers and medical experts, use of electronic databases in patient care, unstructured online searching, and journal reading |
150 hours of CME per prerenewal period, which the rule defines as the 36 months preceding July 31 in the renewal year. One CME hour equals 60 minutes, and after the first hour credit may be given in 30 minute increments. At least 60 of the 150 hours must be formal CME programs and no more than 90 may be informal CME activities; max_self_study_or_online records that 90 hour informal cap, but note that Illinois draws the line between formal and informal rather than between live and self study, and formal programs may include enduring materials, journal based CME, internet point-of-care learning and webinars. No CME is required for the first renewal of an Illinois license or for the renewal of a license that was reinstated to active status during the prerenewal period. Hours used for one renewal cannot be used again for another renewal period. Physicians licensed in Illinois but living and practicing in another state must still meet the requirement. The Division may waive the requirement for extreme hardship, defined as full-time armed forces service during a substantial part of the prerenewal period, a temporary incapacitating illness documented by a licensed physician, temporary undue hardship such as prolonged hospitalization or family illness, or a similar extenuating circumstance; the waiver request must be filed before the renewal date.
Required CE topics for Illinois physician (md)s
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sexual harassment prevention trainingOne hour, repeated for each renewal period, and it counts toward the 150 hour total. The course must come from a Division approved continuing education provider, an entity recognized as a CE provider under an Act the Division administers, a State of Illinois agency, an Illinois county or municipality, a federal agency, an accredited community college, college or university, or a licensed health care institution for its own employees. A course developed or offered by the Illinois Department of Human Rights, or by the licensee's employer if it meets the Illinois Human Rights Act minimums, also counts. A licensee who holds several Division licenses takes it once and applies it to each. | 1 CME credit | Every renewal | All persons holding a professional license issued by the Division who are subject to a continuing education requirement | 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1130.400 |
| Implicit bias awareness trainingOne hour, effective for applicable renewals on or after January 1, 2023 and repeated for each subsequent renewal period. It counts toward the 150 hour total. Content must cover an explanation of implicit bias and how it differs from explicit bias, causes, effects and harms, and how to recognize, interrupt and mitigate it. A course taken to meet another state licensure requirement, a professional accreditation or certification requirement, a health care institutional practice agreement, or an employer's own compliant course may be counted. | 1 CME credit | Every renewal | Named health care licenses including Physician (medical) and Physician (osteopathic) | 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1130.500 |
| Cultural competency trainingOne hour, effective for the first applicable renewal on or after January 1, 2025, then repeated once every six years rather than every renewal. It counts toward the 150 hour total, but no more than one credit hour for any one renewal period. A cultural competency course taken for another state licensure requirement, professional accreditation or certification, or a health care institutional practice agreement may be counted. | 1 CME credit | Periodic | Named health care licenses including Physician (medical) and Physician (osteopathic) | 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1130.525; 20 ILCS 2105/2105-370 and 2105-375 |
| Alzheimer's disease and other dementias trainingOne hour on the diagnosis, treatment and care of individuals with Alzheimer's disease and other dementias, effective for the first applicable renewal on or after January 1, 2023, then repeated once every six years rather than every renewal. It counts toward the 150 hour total, but no more than one credit hour for any one renewal period. A physician not subject to the requirement who takes the course anyway may still count one hour. | 1 CME credit | Periodic | Only health care professionals who provide health care services to and have direct patient interactions with adults age 26 or older. It does not apply to a physician whose practice is limited to persons under age 26. | 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1130.550; 20 ILCS 2105/2105-365 and 2105-375 |
| Continuing education on safe opioid prescribing practicesOne hour during the prerenewal period, offered or accredited by a professional association or a state or federal government agency. The section was rewritten by Public Act 103-531 effective January 1, 2025 and ties the requirement to the federal prescriber training rule in Section 1263 of the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2023. The hour may be counted toward the total continuing education hours required for renewal of the professional license, and safe opioid prescribing education applied to another state licensure, accreditation or certification requirement may be used for it. | 1 CME credit | Every renewal | Every prescriber who is licensed to prescribe controlled substances. A physician who does not hold controlled substance prescribing authority is not covered. | 720 ILCS 570/315.5 |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | No, attestation only |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | Not stated |
| Board audits compliance | Yes |
| Approved providers | Formal CME must come from an approved sponsor. For physicians licensed to practice medicine in all of its branches the sponsors are the Accreditation Council on Continuing Medical Education and organizations it accredits, the Illinois State Medical Society or its affiliates, the Council on Continuing Medical Education for the American Osteopathic Association and the Illinois Osteopathic Medical Society or its affiliates, and any other organization approved by the Division. Each renewal applicant certifies full compliance on the renewal application rather than sending certificates, and the Division may require additional evidence such as a certificate of attendance; it is the applicant's responsibility to retain or produce evidence of compliance. The rule sets no retention period for the licensee, though a sponsor must keep attendance records for at least five years. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Illinois MD need to renew?
- Illinois physicians (MD) must complete 150 CME credits of continuing education every three years to renew their license with the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation, Division of Professional Regulation (Illinois State Medical Board). 150 hours of CME per prerenewal period, which the rule defines as the 36 months preceding July 31 in the renewal year. One CME hour equals 60 minutes, and after the first hour credit may be given in 30 minute increments. At least 60 of the 150 hours must be formal CME programs and no more than 90 may be informal CME activities; max_self_study_or_online records that 90 hour informal cap, but note that Illinois draws the line between formal and informal rather than between live and self study, and formal programs may include enduring materials, journal based CME, internet point-of-care learning and webinars. No CME is required for the first renewal of an Illinois license or for the renewal of a license that was reinstated to active status during the prerenewal period. Hours used for one renewal cannot be used again for another renewal period. Physicians licensed in Illinois but living and practicing in another state must still meet the requirement. The Division may waive the requirement for extreme hardship, defined as full-time armed forces service during a substantial part of the prerenewal period, a temporary incapacitating illness documented by a licensed physician, temporary undue hardship such as prolonged hospitalization or family illness, or a similar extenuating circumstance; the waiver request must be filed before the renewal date.
- How often does a Illinois MD license need to be renewed?
- Physician (MD) licenses in Illinois renew every three years. Every license issued under the Medical Practice Act of 1987 expires on July 31 every third year, so the Physician and Surgeon license is a three year license with a July 31 deadline. The most recent renewal year was 2026 and the next one is 2029. A license can be renewed during the month before the expiration date, and it can still be renewed within 90 days after expiration by meeting the renewal requirements and paying an additional fee, with that late renewal effective back to the expiration date. Practicing on an expired license is unlicensed activity.
- What specific CE topics are required for Illinois physicians (MD)?
- Sexual harassment prevention training: 1 CME credit every renewal cycle (all persons holding a professional license issued by the Division who are subject to a continuing education requirement). Implicit bias awareness training: 1 CME credit every renewal cycle (named health care licenses including Physician (medical) and Physician (osteopathic)). Cultural competency training: 1 CME credit on a periodic schedule set by the board (named health care licenses including Physician (medical) and Physician (osteopathic)). Alzheimer's disease and other dementias training: 1 CME credit on a periodic schedule set by the board (only health care professionals who provide health care services to and have direct patient interactions with adults age 26 or older. It does not apply to a physician whose practice is limited to persons under age 26.). Continuing education on safe opioid prescribing practices: 1 CME credit every renewal cycle (every prescriber who is licensed to prescribe controlled substances. A physician who does not hold controlled substance prescribing authority is not covered.). Citations: sexual harassment prevention training (68 Ill. Adm. Code 1130.400), implicit bias awareness training (68 Ill. Adm. Code 1130.500), cultural competency training (68 Ill. Adm. Code 1130.525; 20 ILCS 2105/2105-370 and 2105-375), Alzheimer's disease and other dementias training (68 Ill. Adm. Code 1130.550; 20 ILCS 2105/2105-365 and 2105-375), and continuing education on safe opioid prescribing practices (720 ILCS 570/315.5).
- Do Illinois physicians (MD) have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates and the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation. Formal CME must come from an approved sponsor. For physicians licensed to practice medicine in all of its branches the sponsors are the Accreditation Council on Continuing Medical Education and organizations it accredits, the Illinois State Medical Society or its affiliates, the Council on Continuing Medical Education for the American Osteopathic Association and the Illinois Osteopathic Medical Society or its affiliates, and any other organization approved by the Division. Each renewal applicant certifies full compliance on the renewal application rather than sending certificates, and the Division may require additional evidence such as a certificate of attendance; it is the applicant's responsibility to retain or produce evidence of compliance. The rule sets no retention period for the licensee, though a sponsor must keep attendance records for at least five years.
- Is the first Illinois MD renewal exempt from CE?
- Yes. Illinois does not require continuing education for a MD's first renewal.
Sources
Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1285, Medical Practice Act of 1987, including Section 1285.110 Continuing Medical Education and Section 1285.120 Renewals, Joint Committee on Administrative RulesStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 7, 2026
- 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1130, including Sections 1130.400 Sexual Harassment Prevention Training, 1130.500 Implicit Bias Awareness Training, 1130.525 Cultural Competency Training and 1130.550 Alzheimer's Disease and Other Dementias TrainingStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 7, 2026
- 720 ILCS 570/315.5, Opioid education for prescribers, Illinois Controlled Substances ActStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 7, 2026
- 225 ILCS 60/21, License renewal, reinstatement, inactive status, Medical Practice Act of 1987Statute or administrative rule, accessed September 7, 2026
- Physicians, Illinois Department of Financial and Professional RegulationState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
Illinois licenses MDs and DOs under one statute, the Medical Practice Act of 1987, and one license, Physician and Surgeon, issued by IDFPR's Division of Professional Regulation with the Illinois State Medical Board advising. There is no separate Illinois osteopathic board. The requirements were compared line by line and they do not differ: 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1285.110 and 1285.120 apply to physicians licensed to practice medicine in all of its branches, which covers both degrees, and the approved sponsor list in 1285.110(c)(1)(A) names the AOA Council on Continuing Medical Education and the Illinois Osteopathic Medical Society alongside ACCME and the Illinois State Medical Society for the same group of licensees. 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1130 lists Physician (medical) and Physician (osteopathic) as separate line items but attaches identical requirements to both. The MD and DO records therefore carry the same values and cite the same sources. The 150 hours, the 36 month prerenewal period, the 60 hour formal minimum and 90 hour informal maximum, the first renewal exemption and the waiver grounds were read in the JCAR text of Part 1285. The five mandated subjects were read in the JCAR text of Part 1130 and in 720 ILCS 570/315.5 on the General Assembly's site. Two topic keys are outside the canonical list: sexual_harassment_prevention, because no canonical key covers it, and the cultural_competency and dementia entries use canonical keys but are marked periodic because Illinois repeats them every six years rather than every renewal. IDFPR's physician page carried a notice that the 2026 renewal deadline for the Physician and Surgeon license and the Licensed Physician Controlled Substance license was extended by variance from July 31, 2026 to August 31, 2026; that was a one time extension for the 2026 cycle and the rule deadline is still July 31. The rule does not set a retention period for the licensee's own CME records, so retention_years is null.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation, Division of Professional Regulation (Illinois State Medical Board) before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.