Utah Physician (MD) license renewal and CE requirements
Utah physicians (MD) must complete 40 CME credits of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Utah Division of Professional Licensing, Physicians Licensing Board.
Physician and Surgeon licenses expire January 31 of even numbered years and renew on a two year cycle. DOPL emails a renewal notice to the licensee's address of record at least 60 days before expiration, but the licensee is responsible for renewing whether or not the notice arrives.
Summary
Utah physicians (MD) must complete 40 CME credits of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Utah Division of Professional Licensing, Physicians Licensing Board. Physician and Surgeon licenses expire January 31 of even numbered years and renew on a two year cycle. DOPL emails a renewal notice to the licensee's address of record at least 60 days before expiration, but the licensee is responsible for renewing whether or not the notice arrives. Utah also mandates specific subjects. Online suicide prevention training: 0.5 CME credits every renewal cycle. Controlled substance prescriber continuing education: required every renewal cycle (physicians who hold a Utah controlled substance license, which renews at the same time as the physician license).
Utah Physician (MD) renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Two-year (24 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Same date for every licensee, 01/31 each cycle |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 40 CME credits |
| Category 1 minimum | 34 CME credits |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | Not stated |
| First renewal exempt | Not stated |
| Other accepted activities | Up to six hours may come from the Division; Up to 15 percent may come from providing volunteer health care services under Utah Code 58-13-3, at one hour of CE credit for every four documented hours of volunteer service; Participation in a residency program approved by the AOA or the ACCME satisfies the requirement pro rata for any part of the two year licensure cycle |
At least 40 hours of qualified continuing professional education during each two year licensure cycle, of which a minimum of 34 hours must be ACCME category 1 offerings. Credit is recognized in 50 minute hour blocks for formally established classroom courses, seminars, lectures, conferences, or training sessions. Education must be relevant to the licensee's professional practice, prepared and presented by people qualified by education, training and experience, and have a method of verifying attendance and completion, which may include a CME self reporting log.
Required CE topics for Utah physician (md)s
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Online suicide prevention trainingDOPL's renewal page lists this among the requirements that must be met to renew. The licensee completes at least one of three online trainings offered through the Division: Suicide Safety Planning with Patients, Talking to Patients About Suicide, or Counseling on Access to Lethal Means, each 0.5 credit, and the page states these qualify for CE credit toward the 40 hours. The page does not say whether the training is one time or repeated each cycle; it is listed as a renewal requirement. | 0.5 CME credits | Every renewal | All licensees | Not stated |
| Controlled substance prescriber continuing educationDOPL's physician renewal page states that controlled substance licensees must complete the required hours of CE indicated in Utah Code 58-37-6.5 but does not state the number of hours, so hours is left null. Courses must be prepared and presented by qualified individuals and must include a method of verifying attendance plus a post-course knowledge assessment or examination; the Division posts the approved controlled substance prescribing classes and SBIRT training on its website. The required half hour of CE for the controlled substance database online tutorial and test can be waived if the prescriber attests on the renewal form that they accessed the database during the past license period and believe that use reduced unprofessional or unlawful opioid prescribing. Records must be kept two years after the end of the renewal cycle. | Not stated | Every renewal | Physicians who hold a Utah controlled substance license, which renews at the same time as the physician license | Utah Code 58-37-6.5; Utah Admin. Code R156-37-402 |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | Not stated |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | 2 years |
| Board audits compliance | Not stated |
| Approved providers | A minimum of 34 of the 40 hours must be category 1 offerings as established by the ACCME. All continuing education must be relevant to the licensee's practice, prepared and presented by individuals qualified by education, training and experience, and have a method of verification of attendance and completion, which may include a CME self reporting log. The licensee must keep documentation sufficient to prove compliance for two years after the end of the licensure cycle for which the CME is due. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Utah MD need to renew?
- Utah physicians (MD) must complete 40 CME credits of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Utah Division of Professional Licensing, Physicians Licensing Board. At least 40 hours of qualified continuing professional education during each two year licensure cycle, of which a minimum of 34 hours must be ACCME category 1 offerings. Credit is recognized in 50 minute hour blocks for formally established classroom courses, seminars, lectures, conferences, or training sessions. Education must be relevant to the licensee's professional practice, prepared and presented by people qualified by education, training and experience, and have a method of verifying attendance and completion, which may include a CME self reporting log.
- How often does a Utah MD license need to be renewed?
- Physician (MD) licenses in Utah renew every two years. Physician and Surgeon licenses expire January 31 of even numbered years and renew on a two year cycle. DOPL emails a renewal notice to the licensee's address of record at least 60 days before expiration, but the licensee is responsible for renewing whether or not the notice arrives.
- What specific CE topics are required for Utah physicians (MD)?
- Online suicide prevention training: 0.5 CME credits every renewal cycle. Controlled substance prescriber continuing education: required every renewal cycle (physicians who hold a Utah controlled substance license, which renews at the same time as the physician license). Citations: controlled substance prescriber continuing education (Utah Code 58-37-6.5; Utah Admin. Code R156-37-402).
- Do Utah physicians (MD) have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Records must be kept for 2 years. A minimum of 34 of the 40 hours must be category 1 offerings as established by the ACCME. All continuing education must be relevant to the licensee's practice, prepared and presented by individuals qualified by education, training and experience, and have a method of verification of attendance and completion, which may include a CME self reporting log. The licensee must keep documentation sufficient to prove compliance for two years after the end of the licensure cycle for which the CME is due.
Sources
Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- Renew a Physician and Surgeon License, Utah Division of Professional LicensingState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
- Physician and Surgeon Laws and Rules, Utah Division of Professional LicensingState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
- Utah Admin. Code R156-67-304, Qualified Continuing Professional EducationThird-party summary, accessed September 7, 2026
- Utah Admin. Code R156-67-303, Renewal Cycle and ProceduresThird-party summary, accessed September 7, 2026
- Utah Admin. Code R156-1-308a, Renewal Dates tableThird-party summary, accessed September 7, 2026
- Utah Admin. Code R156-37-402, Continuing Education for Controlled Substance PrescribersThird-party summary, accessed September 7, 2026
Utah's Division of Professional Licensing licenses MDs and DOs separately, under the Physicians Licensing Board with rule R156-67 for MDs and the Osteopathic Physician and Surgeon's Licensing Board with rule R156-68 for DOs, and the two have different expiration dates: January 31 of even years for MDs and May 31 of even years for DOs. This record cites only the physician rule and the physician pages. Utah's official rule site, adminrules.utah.gov, is a JavaScript application whose rule routes returned 404 to every automated client tried, and the older rules.utah.gov static pages now redirect and return 403, so the rule text was read from Cornell LII, which mirrors it; DOPL's own laws and rules page names R156-67 and DOPL's renewal page directs licensees to R156-67-304 for the hours. The renewal date was confirmed on DOPL's renewal page and in the R156-1-308a renewal date table. Carryover, a first renewal exemption, and whether the Division audits CME were not stated in the rule or on the pages read and are left null. The controlled substance CE hour count is not stated on the physician renewal page, so it is null here even though DOPL's osteopathic page states 3.5 hours under the same statute.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Utah Division of Professional Licensing, Physicians Licensing Board before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.