Utah Licensed Practical Nurse license renewal and CE requirements
Utah licensed practical nurses must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Utah Division of Professional Licensing, Board of Nursing.
Licensed practical nurse licenses run on a two year cycle and expire January 31 of even numbered years. DOPL mails a renewal notice at least 60 days before expiration, and renewal is filed online or on the LPN renewal form with an attestation that the competency and suicide prevention requirements were met.
Summary
Utah licensed practical nurses must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Utah Division of Professional Licensing, Board of Nursing. Licensed practical nurse licenses run on a two year cycle and expire January 31 of even numbered years. DOPL mails a renewal notice at least 60 days before expiration, and renewal is filed online or on the LPN renewal form with an attestation that the competency and suicide prevention requirements were met. Utah also mandates specific subjects. Approved suicide prevention training: 0.5 contact hours every renewal cycle.
Utah Licensed Practical Nurse renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Two-year (24 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Same date for every licensee, 01/31 each cycle |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 30 contact hours |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | Not stated |
| First renewal exempt | Not stated |
| Other accepted activities | Licensed practice of at least 400 hours in the two years before renewal (R156-31b-303(3)(a)(i)); Licensed practice of at least 200 hours plus 15 contact hours of approved continuing education (R156-31b-303(3)(a)(ii)) |
R156-31b-303(3)(a) applies the same continuing competency test to an LPN and an RN: in the two years before renewal, 400 hours of licensed practice, or 200 hours of licensed practice plus 15 contact hours of approved continuing education, or 30 contact hours of approved continuing education. The 30 contact hours recorded here is the pure continuing education path. The board's LPN renewal form quotes this subsection directly. Every renewing nurse must also complete approved suicide prevention training regardless of which competency path is used.
Required CE topics for Utah licensed practical nurses
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Approved suicide prevention trainingThe LPN renewal form states: Approved Suicide Prevention Training, required by Utah Code 58-31b-305, can be found at the board's nursing resources page. The DOPL renewal page lists three approved online trainings, each worth 0.5 credit, and requires at least one: Suicide Safety Planning with Patients, Talking to Patients About Suicide, and Counseling on Access to Lethal Means. They qualify for continuing education credit. | 0.5 contact hours | Every renewal | All licensees | Utah Code 58-31b-305 |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | No, attestation only |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | Not stated |
| Board audits compliance | Yes |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Utah LPN/LVN need to renew?
- Utah licensed practical nurses must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Utah Division of Professional Licensing, Board of Nursing. R156-31b-303(3)(a) applies the same continuing competency test to an LPN and an RN: in the two years before renewal, 400 hours of licensed practice, or 200 hours of licensed practice plus 15 contact hours of approved continuing education, or 30 contact hours of approved continuing education. The 30 contact hours recorded here is the pure continuing education path. The board's LPN renewal form quotes this subsection directly. Every renewing nurse must also complete approved suicide prevention training regardless of which competency path is used.
- How often does a Utah LPN/LVN license need to be renewed?
- Licensed Practical Nurse licenses in Utah renew every two years. Licensed practical nurse licenses run on a two year cycle and expire January 31 of even numbered years. DOPL mails a renewal notice at least 60 days before expiration, and renewal is filed online or on the LPN renewal form with an attestation that the competency and suicide prevention requirements were met.
- What specific CE topics are required for Utah licensed practical nurses?
- Approved suicide prevention training: 0.5 contact hours every renewal cycle. Citations: approved suicide prevention training (Utah Code 58-31b-305).
- Do Utah licensed practical nurses have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates and the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation.
Sources
Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- Registered Nurse or Licensed Practice Nurse renewal, Utah Division of Professional LicensingState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
- Licensed Practical Nurse Renewal/Reinstatement Form, Utah DOPL (v.20231030)State board page, accessed September 7, 2026
- Utah Admin. Code R156-31b-303, LPN, RN, and APRN License Renewal, Continuing Education (Cornell LII mirror)Third-party summary, accessed September 7, 2026
- Utah Admin. Code R156-1-308a, Renewal Dates (Cornell LII mirror)Third-party summary, accessed September 7, 2026
- Nursing, Utah Division of Professional LicensingState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
R156-31b-303(3)(a) states one continuing competency requirement for an LPN or an RN, so the same source supports both the LPN and the RN record; the LPN renewal form repeats the subsection for practical nurses specifically. The LPN expiration date of January 31 of even numbered years comes from R156-1-308a and from the board's LPN renewal form, and is one year offset from the RN date. adminrules.utah.gov returned 404 for the R156-31b rule page, so the rule text was read on the Cornell LII mirror and cited as third_party_summary. The LPN form says not to submit documentation of hours unless audited, so proof_at_renewal is false and audited is true. The pages read do not name the bodies that approve continuing education and do not state a record retention period, so those fields are null.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Utah Division of Professional Licensing, Board of Nursing before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.