Utah Osteopathic Physician (DO) license renewal and CE requirements
Utah osteopathic physicians (DO) must complete 40 CME credits of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Utah Division of Professional Licensing, Osteopathic Physician and Surgeon's Licensing Board.
Osteopathic Physician and Surgeon licenses expire May 31 of even numbered years and renew on a two year cycle. DOPL emails a renewal notice to the address of record 90 days before expiration. Practicing after the license expires is unlawful conduct under Utah Code 58-1-501.
Summary
Utah osteopathic physicians (DO) must complete 40 CME credits of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Utah Division of Professional Licensing, Osteopathic Physician and Surgeon's Licensing Board. Osteopathic Physician and Surgeon licenses expire May 31 of even numbered years and renew on a two year cycle. DOPL emails a renewal notice to the address of record 90 days before expiration. Practicing after the license expires is unlawful conduct under Utah Code 58-1-501. Utah also mandates specific subjects. Online suicide prevention training: 0.5 CME credits every renewal cycle. Controlled substance prescriber continuing education: 3.5 CME credits every renewal cycle (osteopathic physicians who hold a Utah controlled substance license, which renews at the same time as the main license).
Utah Osteopathic Physician (DO) renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Two-year (24 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Same date for every licensee, 05/31 each cycle |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 40 CME credits |
| Category 1 minimum | 34 CME credits |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | Not stated |
| First renewal exempt | Not stated |
| Other accepted activities | Up to six hours may come from the Division; Up to 15 percent may come from providing volunteer health care services under Utah Code 58-13-3, at one hour of CE credit for every four documented hours of volunteer service; Participation in a residency program approved by the AOA or the ACCME may satisfy the requirement pro rata for any part of the two year licensure cycle |
At least 40 hours of qualified continuing professional education during each two year licensure cycle, of which a minimum of 34 hours must be category 1 offerings established by the AOA or the ACCME. Credit is recognized in 50 minute hour blocks for formally established classroom courses, seminars, lectures, conferences, or training sessions. Education must be relevant to the licensee's professional practice, prepared and presented by people qualified by education, training and experience, and have a method of verifying attendance and completion, which may include a CME self reporting log.
Required CE topics for Utah osteopathic physician (do)s
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Online suicide prevention trainingDOPL's osteopathic renewal page lists this among the renewal requirements. The licensee completes at least one of three online trainings offered through the Division: Suicide Safety Planning with Patients, Talking to Patients About Suicide, or Counseling on Access to Lethal Means, each 0.5 credit. The page does not say whether the training is one time or repeated each cycle; it is listed as a renewal requirement. | 0.5 CME credits | Every renewal | All licensees | Not stated |
| Controlled substance prescriber continuing educationDOPL's osteopathic renewal page states 3.5 controlled substance CE credit hours approved by the Division. Courses must be prepared and presented by qualified individuals and must include a method of verifying attendance plus a post-course knowledge assessment or examination; the Division posts approved controlled substance prescribing classes and SBIRT training on its website. The required half hour of CE for the controlled substance database online tutorial and test can be waived if the prescriber attests on the renewal form that they accessed the database during the past license period and believe that use reduced unprofessional or unlawful opioid prescribing. Records must be kept two years after the end of the renewal cycle. | 3.5 CME credits | Every renewal | Osteopathic physicians who hold a Utah controlled substance license, which renews at the same time as the main license | Utah Code 58-37-6.5; Utah Admin. Code R156-37-402 |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | Not stated |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | 2 years |
| Board audits compliance | Not stated |
| Approved providers | A minimum of 34 of the 40 hours must be category 1 offerings as established by the AOA or the ACCME. All continuing education must be relevant to the licensee's practice, prepared and presented by individuals qualified by education, training and experience, and have a method of verification of attendance and completion, which may include a CME self reporting log. The licensee must keep documentation sufficient to prove compliance for two years after the end of the renewal cycle for which the CME is due. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Utah DO need to renew?
- Utah osteopathic physicians (DO) must complete 40 CME credits of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Utah Division of Professional Licensing, Osteopathic Physician and Surgeon's Licensing Board. At least 40 hours of qualified continuing professional education during each two year licensure cycle, of which a minimum of 34 hours must be category 1 offerings established by the AOA or the ACCME. Credit is recognized in 50 minute hour blocks for formally established classroom courses, seminars, lectures, conferences, or training sessions. Education must be relevant to the licensee's professional practice, prepared and presented by people qualified by education, training and experience, and have a method of verifying attendance and completion, which may include a CME self reporting log.
- How often does a Utah DO license need to be renewed?
- Osteopathic Physician (DO) licenses in Utah renew every two years. Osteopathic Physician and Surgeon licenses expire May 31 of even numbered years and renew on a two year cycle. DOPL emails a renewal notice to the address of record 90 days before expiration. Practicing after the license expires is unlawful conduct under Utah Code 58-1-501.
- What specific CE topics are required for Utah osteopathic physicians (DO)?
- Online suicide prevention training: 0.5 CME credits every renewal cycle. Controlled substance prescriber continuing education: 3.5 CME credits every renewal cycle (osteopathic physicians who hold a Utah controlled substance license, which renews at the same time as the main license). Citations: controlled substance prescriber continuing education (Utah Code 58-37-6.5; Utah Admin. Code R156-37-402).
- Do Utah osteopathic physicians (DO) have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Records must be kept for 2 years. A minimum of 34 of the 40 hours must be category 1 offerings as established by the AOA or the ACCME. All continuing education must be relevant to the licensee's practice, prepared and presented by individuals qualified by education, training and experience, and have a method of verification of attendance and completion, which may include a CME self reporting log. The licensee must keep documentation sufficient to prove compliance for two years after the end of the renewal cycle for which the CME is due.
Sources
Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- Renew an Osteopathic Physician and Surgeon License, Utah Division of Professional LicensingState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
- Osteopathic Physician and Surgeon Laws and Rules, Utah Division of Professional LicensingState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
- Utah Admin. Code R156-68-304, Qualified Continuing Professional EducationThird-party summary, accessed September 7, 2026
- Utah Admin. Code R156-1-308a, Renewal Dates tableThird-party summary, accessed September 7, 2026
- Utah Admin. Code R156-37-402, Continuing Education for Controlled Substance PrescribersThird-party summary, accessed September 7, 2026
Utah runs a separate Osteopathic Physician and Surgeon's Licensing Board with its own rule, R156-68, and a different expiration date from MDs: May 31 of even years for DOs versus January 31 of even years for MDs. This record cites only the osteopathic pages and R156-68. The 40 hour total, the 34 hour AOA or ACCME category 1 minimum, the expiration date, the suicide prevention training, and the 3.5 hour controlled substance CE requirement were all read on DOPL's osteopathic renewal page and confirmed in R156-68-304 where applicable. Utah's official rule site, adminrules.utah.gov, is a JavaScript application whose rule routes returned 404 to every automated client tried, and the older rules.utah.gov static pages redirect and return 403, so rule text was read from Cornell LII, which mirrors it. Carryover, a first renewal exemption, and whether the Division audits CME were not stated in the rule or on the pages read and are left null.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Utah Division of Professional Licensing, Osteopathic Physician and Surgeon's Licensing Board before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.