Wyoming Certified Nurse-Midwife license renewal and CE requirements
Wyoming does not require continuing education for CNM license renewal, which happens every two years.
The board renews all nursing licensure and certificates biennially in every even numbered calendar year under Wyoming Statute 33-21-129. The renewal period opens October 1 and closes December 31 of the renewal year, so the 2026 window runs October 1 to December 31, 2026, and a nurse who received an initial license earlier in the same year still has to renew. Renewal is filed in the Nurse Portal, with a separate application for each license a nurse holds. A license that is not renewed expires, and practising on an expired license is grounds for discipline. An advanced practice registered nurse renewal requires current national certification in the role and population focus, and a licensee who holds prescriptive authority uploads proof of the three hour controlled substance continuing education at the same time.
Summary
Wyoming does not require continuing education for CNM license renewal, which happens every two years. The board renews all nursing licensure and certificates biennially in every even numbered calendar year under Wyoming Statute 33-21-129. The renewal period opens October 1 and closes December 31 of the renewal year, so the 2026 window runs October 1 to December 31, 2026, and a nurse who received an initial license earlier in the same year still has to renew. Renewal is filed in the Nurse Portal, with a separate application for each license a nurse holds. A license that is not renewed expires, and practising on an expired license is grounds for discipline. An advanced practice registered nurse renewal requires current national certification in the role and population focus, and a licensee who holds prescriptive authority uploads proof of the three hour controlled substance continuing education at the same time. Wyoming also mandates specific subjects. Responsible prescribing of controlled substances or treatment of substance use disorders: 3 hours every renewal cycle (advanced practice registered nurses who hold prescriptive authority, which would include a nurse-midwife who prescribes).
Wyoming Certified Nurse-Midwife renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Two-year (24 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Same date for every licensee, 12/31 each cycle |
| Continuing education required | No |
Wyoming states it plainly in its own renewal FAQ: Wyoming does not have any mandatory continuing education, and continuing education is an optional competency, with renewal requirements set out in Chapter 2, Section 14 of the board's rules. What an advanced practice registered nurse must show at renewal instead is current national certification in the role and population focus, which is a credentialing condition rather than an hour count. For a nurse-midwife that certification is the American Midwifery Certification Board credential, so a Wyoming nurse-midwife's real recurring obligation runs through the AMCB Certificate Maintenance Program on its own five year clock rather than through a state hour total. Nothing on the board's pages adopts AMCB module or credit totals as a Wyoming requirement, so none are recorded here. There is no layering question to answer. Wyoming does not require an advanced practice registered nurse to hold an additional Wyoming registered nurse license, and the board says so directly, citing Wyo. Stat. Ann. 33-21-127(a) and Chapter 2, Section 3(a) of its rules. A nurse-midwife who does also hold a Wyoming registered nurse license meets that license's competency separately, by 400 hours of practice as an RN, or 40 hours of continuing education, or passing the NCLEX, or completing a refresher course, or completing a nursing education program conferring a degree beyond the basic nursing education, any one of which suffices. The one exception to the no mandatory continuing education rule is scoped to prescribing and is recorded as a mandatory topic below. Where a licensee does use continuing education, the board does not approve programs itself: it accepts nursing or medical contact hours approved by an accredited provider or approver, and its example list names bodies including the ACCME, ACPE, AANP, AANA, the Emergency Nurses Association, the National Association of Nurse Practitioners in Women's Health, NAPNAP, the University of Wyoming and the Wyoming Nurses Association. The list is given as examples rather than as a closed set, and a licensee unsure whether an activity counts can submit the details to the board's practice mailbox.
Required CE topics for Wyoming certified nurse-midwifes
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Responsible prescribing of controlled substances or treatment of substance use disordersThree hours of continuing education related to the responsible prescribing of controlled substances or the treatment of substance abuse disorders, with proof of completion uploaded at renewal. The title of the activity must be specific to prescribing controlled substances or treating substance use disorders, and a licensee using conference sessions should keep the agenda identifying them. Note a small tension in the board's own wording: the renewal page lists the three hours under the prescriptive authority line, while the education page says the rules require each APRN to document them without limiting it to prescribers. The narrower renewal page scoping is recorded here. | 3 hours | Every renewal | Advanced practice registered nurses who hold prescriptive authority, which would include a nurse-midwife who prescribes | Rules Wyo. Bd. of Nursing, Chapter 2, Section 14(c)(i)(C) |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | Yes |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | Not stated |
| Board audits compliance | Not stated |
| Approved providers | The board does not approve continuing education programs itself. It accepts courses approved for nursing or medical contact hours by an accredited provider or approver of continuing education, and lists examples including the ACCME, ACPE, AAFP, AANP, AAPA, AANA, APA, APNA, the Commission on Dietetic Registration, the Emergency Nurses Association, IPCE, NPWH, NAPNAP, the University of Wyoming and the Wyoming Nurses Association. Proof of completion is uploaded to the Nurse Portal at renewal. CE Broker is the board's official continuing education tracking system. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Wyoming CNM need to renew?
- Wyoming does not require continuing education for CNM license renewal, which happens every two years. Wyoming states it plainly in its own renewal FAQ: Wyoming does not have any mandatory continuing education, and continuing education is an optional competency, with renewal requirements set out in Chapter 2, Section 14 of the board's rules. What an advanced practice registered nurse must show at renewal instead is current national certification in the role and population focus, which is a credentialing condition rather than an hour count. For a nurse-midwife that certification is the American Midwifery Certification Board credential, so a Wyoming nurse-midwife's real recurring obligation runs through the AMCB Certificate Maintenance Program on its own five year clock rather than through a state hour total. Nothing on the board's pages adopts AMCB module or credit totals as a Wyoming requirement, so none are recorded here. There is no layering question to answer. Wyoming does not require an advanced practice registered nurse to hold an additional Wyoming registered nurse license, and the board says so directly, citing Wyo. Stat. Ann. 33-21-127(a) and Chapter 2, Section 3(a) of its rules. A nurse-midwife who does also hold a Wyoming registered nurse license meets that license's competency separately, by 400 hours of practice as an RN, or 40 hours of continuing education, or passing the NCLEX, or completing a refresher course, or completing a nursing education program conferring a degree beyond the basic nursing education, any one of which suffices. The one exception to the no mandatory continuing education rule is scoped to prescribing and is recorded as a mandatory topic below. Where a licensee does use continuing education, the board does not approve programs itself: it accepts nursing or medical contact hours approved by an accredited provider or approver, and its example list names bodies including the ACCME, ACPE, AANP, AANA, the Emergency Nurses Association, the National Association of Nurse Practitioners in Women's Health, NAPNAP, the University of Wyoming and the Wyoming Nurses Association. The list is given as examples rather than as a closed set, and a licensee unsure whether an activity counts can submit the details to the board's practice mailbox.
- How often does a Wyoming CNM license need to be renewed?
- Certified Nurse-Midwife licenses in Wyoming renew every two years. The board renews all nursing licensure and certificates biennially in every even numbered calendar year under Wyoming Statute 33-21-129. The renewal period opens October 1 and closes December 31 of the renewal year, so the 2026 window runs October 1 to December 31, 2026, and a nurse who received an initial license earlier in the same year still has to renew. Renewal is filed in the Nurse Portal, with a separate application for each license a nurse holds. A license that is not renewed expires, and practising on an expired license is grounds for discipline. An advanced practice registered nurse renewal requires current national certification in the role and population focus, and a licensee who holds prescriptive authority uploads proof of the three hour controlled substance continuing education at the same time.
- What specific CE topics are required for Wyoming nurse-midwives?
- Responsible prescribing of controlled substances or treatment of substance use disorders: 3 hours every renewal cycle (advanced practice registered nurses who hold prescriptive authority, which would include a nurse-midwife who prescribes). Citations: responsible prescribing of controlled substances or treatment of substance use disorders (Rules Wyo. Bd. of Nursing, Chapter 2, Section 14(c)(i)(C)).
- Do Wyoming nurse-midwives have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Proof of completion must be submitted with the renewal. The board does not approve continuing education programs itself. It accepts courses approved for nursing or medical contact hours by an accredited provider or approver of continuing education, and lists examples including the ACCME, ACPE, AAFP, AANP, AAPA, AANA, APA, APNA, the Commission on Dietetic Registration, the Emergency Nurses Association, IPCE, NPWH, NAPNAP, the University of Wyoming and the Wyoming Nurses Association. Proof of completion is uploaded to the Nurse Portal at renewal. CE Broker is the board's official continuing education tracking system.
Sources
Last verified September 10, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- Renewal, Wyoming State Board of NursingState board page, accessed September 10, 2026
- Practice, Wyoming State Board of Nursing (APRN scope, four roles and six population foci, no additional RN license required)State board page, accessed September 10, 2026
- Education, Wyoming State Board of Nursing (continuing education acceptance and the three hour controlled substance requirement)State board page, accessed September 10, 2026
- Licensing, Wyoming State Board of NursingState board page, accessed September 10, 2026
- CE Broker, Wyoming State Board of NursingState board page, accessed September 10, 2026
Wyoming does not appear to issue a separately named certified nurse-midwife credential, and this record says so rather than manufacturing one. The Wyoming State Board of Nursing licenses a single advanced practice registered nurse license and ties the specialty to national certification: its practice page states that Wyoming has followed the national APRN Consensus Model of Regulation since 2007, licensing independent practitioners at the level of one of the four APRN roles within at least one of six identified population foci, with education, certification and licensure congruent in role and population focus, and its renewal page states the advanced practice competency as current national certification in role and population focus. None of the board's public pages that were read names the certified nurse-midwife role in words. The statutory definitions in Wyo. Stat. Ann. 33-21-120 could not be read on an official host, because the Wyoming Legislature publishes Title 33 only as a PDF, which the no download rule excludes; the one third party mirror that rendered the section blocked every automated re-check, so it is not cited here and nothing is recorded from it. A Wyoming nurse-midwife therefore holds the general APRN license with a nurse-midwife role established by AMCB certification, and every figure in this record is the board's own figure for advanced practice registered nurses rather than anything scoped to midwifery. Because there is no CNM specific state rule to read, the credential trap the brief warns about does not arise in the usual way here: there is no midwifery chapter whose scoping could be misread. No separate Wyoming licensed midwife or certified professional midwife credential appeared in the sources read either, so nothing from any such scheme is recorded. The regulator is the nursing board, the common pattern. AMCB certification functions as a renewal condition rather than as a substitute for state hours, because Wyoming sets no state hours to substitute for, and per the brief's rule no AMCB Certificate Maintenance Program total is recorded. Two source limits are worth stating. The board's Administrative Rules and Regulations, including Chapter 2 which carries the Section 14 renewal requirements the board cites, are distributed as Google Drive documents, which the no download rule excludes, so Chapter 2 Section 14 was not read directly and is cited here only as the board itself cites it on its renewal and education pages. The Wyoming Legislature's statute pages for Title 33 return only a PDF. The topic key controlled_substances is not on the canonical list and is used because the requirement is written as controlled substance prescribing or substance use disorder treatment rather than as opioids specifically. Compared with the existing Wyoming records: this one agrees with wy-rn, wy-np and wy-crna on the biennial even year cycle, the October 1 to December 31 window and the December 31 expiration, and it agrees with wy-crna that Wyoming states no mandatory continuing education and that the three hour controlled substance item is the sole exception. It records the same gap wy-crna records, that the board's public pages do not name the role in words, for the nurse-midwife role instead of the nurse anesthetist role. It differs from wy-np only in that wy-np records three contact hours as the cycle total while this record leaves hours_per_cycle null and keeps the three conditional prescriber hours in mandatory_topics, which is the shape wy-crna also uses.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Wyoming State Board of Nursing before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.