Wyoming Occupational Therapy Assistant license renewal and CE requirements
Wyoming occupational therapy assistants must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Wyoming Board of Occupational Therapy.
All Wyoming occupational therapy licenses expire annually on July 31 and are renewed every year, and the Board publishes a single generic OT and OTA renewal form for both credentials. The Board's continuing education answer refers to a June 1 renewal deadline: a licensee who does not meet the June 1 deadline must provide verification of 24 contact hours of continuing education completed during the previous three years. Under Chapter 8, Section 2(d) of the Board's rules, quoted on the Board's renewal page, a renewal application may still be submitted up to one year after the license expires, but the licensee may not practice after the expiration date until the Board issues the renewal, and after that one year period the applicant must seek re-entry.
Summary
Wyoming occupational therapy assistants must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Wyoming Board of Occupational Therapy. All Wyoming occupational therapy licenses expire annually on July 31 and are renewed every year, and the Board publishes a single generic OT and OTA renewal form for both credentials. The Board's continuing education answer refers to a June 1 renewal deadline: a licensee who does not meet the June 1 deadline must provide verification of 24 contact hours of continuing education completed during the previous three years. Under Chapter 8, Section 2(d) of the Board's rules, quoted on the Board's renewal page, a renewal application may still be submitted up to one year after the license expires, but the licensee may not practice after the expiration date until the Board issues the renewal, and after that one year period the applicant must seek re-entry.
Wyoming Occupational Therapy Assistant renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Annual (12 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Same date for every licensee, 07/31 each cycle |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 24 contact hoursCounted over a two-year window, separate from the renewal cycle. |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | Not stated |
| First renewal exempt | Not stated |
| Other accepted activities | In-service; Coursework; Conference or workshop attendance; Presentation |
The license renews every year but continuing education is counted on a two year rhythm, so the 24 hour total is recorded against a 24 month continuing education cycle rather than the 12 month renewal cycle. The Board states that licensees renew annually and that in even numbered years only licensees selected for audit have to provide verification of completing 24 contact hours of continuing education, which must have been completed in the previous three years. A licensee who misses the June 1 deadline also has to provide that verification. One contact hour is one hour or 60 minutes; the Board states .1 AOTA CEU equals one contact hour and 1.25 NBCOT PDUs equal one contact hour. The Board does not pre-approve classes: the licensee is responsible for choosing continuing education with significant intellectual or practical content whose primary objective is to increase competence in occupational therapy practice, and the Board verifies that the objective was met. Each class submitted needs a relevance statement saying how the licensee used it to practice occupational therapy in their setting. Supervision of an occupational therapy assistant is a practice requirement, not continuing education, and is not counted here. Training for practice privileges is also separate from the 24 hour total: Chapter 3, Section 5 of the rules, as described by the Board, requires an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant to have 6 hours of training in each physical agent modality used plus supervision during 5 treatments for each modality, and dry needling may not be performed by an occupational therapy assistant at all.
Required CE topics for Wyoming occupational therapy assistants
The Wyoming Board of Occupational Therapy pages and rules we read do not mandate specific subject areas for this license type. Hours may be in any approved subject.
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | No, attestation only |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | Not stated |
| Board audits compliance | Yes |
| Approved providers | The Board does not pre-approve continuing education classes. Responsibility sits with the licensee to pick education with significant intellectual or practical content aimed at increasing competence in occupational therapy practice, and the Board verifies that the objective was met. No approving organization is named. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Wyoming OTA need to renew?
- Wyoming occupational therapy assistants must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Wyoming Board of Occupational Therapy. The license renews every year but continuing education is counted on a two year rhythm, so the 24 hour total is recorded against a 24 month continuing education cycle rather than the 12 month renewal cycle. The Board states that licensees renew annually and that in even numbered years only licensees selected for audit have to provide verification of completing 24 contact hours of continuing education, which must have been completed in the previous three years. A licensee who misses the June 1 deadline also has to provide that verification. One contact hour is one hour or 60 minutes; the Board states .1 AOTA CEU equals one contact hour and 1.25 NBCOT PDUs equal one contact hour. The Board does not pre-approve classes: the licensee is responsible for choosing continuing education with significant intellectual or practical content whose primary objective is to increase competence in occupational therapy practice, and the Board verifies that the objective was met. Each class submitted needs a relevance statement saying how the licensee used it to practice occupational therapy in their setting. Supervision of an occupational therapy assistant is a practice requirement, not continuing education, and is not counted here. Training for practice privileges is also separate from the 24 hour total: Chapter 3, Section 5 of the rules, as described by the Board, requires an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant to have 6 hours of training in each physical agent modality used plus supervision during 5 treatments for each modality, and dry needling may not be performed by an occupational therapy assistant at all.
- How often does a Wyoming OTA license need to be renewed?
- Occupational Therapy Assistant licenses in Wyoming renew every year. All Wyoming occupational therapy licenses expire annually on July 31 and are renewed every year, and the Board publishes a single generic OT and OTA renewal form for both credentials. The Board's continuing education answer refers to a June 1 renewal deadline: a licensee who does not meet the June 1 deadline must provide verification of 24 contact hours of continuing education completed during the previous three years. Under Chapter 8, Section 2(d) of the Board's rules, quoted on the Board's renewal page, a renewal application may still be submitted up to one year after the license expires, but the licensee may not practice after the expiration date until the Board issues the renewal, and after that one year period the applicant must seek re-entry.
- Does Wyoming require specific CE topics for occupational therapy assistants?
- The Wyoming Board of Occupational Therapy does not list mandated subject areas for OTA renewal on the pages we verified; the 24 contact hours may be in any approved subject.
- Do Wyoming occupational therapy assistants have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates and the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation. The Board does not pre-approve continuing education classes. Responsibility sits with the licensee to pick education with significant intellectual or practical content aimed at increasing competence in occupational therapy practice, and the Board verifies that the objective was met. No approving organization is named.
Sources
Last verified September 10, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- Frequently Asked Questions, Wyoming Board of Occupational TherapyState board page, accessed September 10, 2026
- Renewal Information, Wyoming Board of Occupational TherapyState board page, accessed September 10, 2026
- Applications for Licensure, Wyoming Board of Occupational TherapyState board page, accessed September 10, 2026
- Rules and Statutes, Wyoming Board of Occupational TherapyState board page, accessed September 10, 2026
- Occupational Therapy Board (083) current rules listing, Wyoming Administrative RulesStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 10, 2026
Wyoming occupational therapy has its own board, the Wyoming Board of Occupational Therapy, staffed through the Professional Licensing Boards Office in the Department of Administration and Information. It licenses both occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants. Wyoming states one requirement for both credentials rather than a separate assistant figure, and that was confirmed rather than assumed: the Board's FAQ answers the renewal and continuing education questions for all licensees without distinguishing the two credentials, the renewal page offers a single generic OT and OTA renewal form, and the applications page lists shared application routes and a shared re-entry route for anyone who has practiced as an OT or OTA. The 24 contact hour total, the annual July 31 expiration, the even year continuing education reporting, the three year window for earning hours, the contact hour and AOTA CEU and NBCOT PDU conversions, the absence of mandated subjects and the absence of course pre-approval were all read on the Board's own FAQ page. No Wyoming source states a different number for occupational therapy assistants, and none of the Wyoming physical therapy or physical therapist assistant figures were reused. The Board's rules themselves are published only as PDFs: the Wyoming Administrative Rules listing for agency 083 shows Chapter 8, Renewal, reference number 083.0001.8.05102023 effective 05/10/2023, with a download link that returns a PDF, and the Board's rules and statutes page links the practice act as a PDF on Google Drive. Neither was opened, so if Chapter 8 contains an assistant specific subsection it was not read; first renewal proration, any first year or partial year continuing education allowance, retention period, category caps and carryover are therefore null. NBCOT is not a renewal condition and is not a substitute for hours; the Board relies on the NBCOT examination for initial licensure and states there is no Wyoming occupational therapy examination.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Wyoming Board of Occupational Therapy before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.