Skip to main content
CredNet

Wyoming Physical Therapist license renewal and CE requirements

Wyoming physical therapists must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Wyoming Board of Physical Therapy.

The license must be renewed annually by October 1; a license not renewed by then is expired (Rules Ch. 3, Sec. 4). The 2026 renewal packet states paper renewals must be postmarked by October 1 with no grace period and no exceptions. Continuing competence is reported every other year: the CCU reporting cycle runs October 2 through October 1 of the second year and the board assigns reporting groups, so check the board's license lookup to see whether CCUs are due in a given year.

Renewal cycle
Annual
Same date for every licensee
CE per cycle
30
contact hours every two years
Mandated topics
1
required subject
Last verified
September 7, 2026
15 days ago

Summary

Wyoming physical therapists must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Wyoming Board of Physical Therapy. The license must be renewed annually by October 1; a license not renewed by then is expired (Rules Ch. 3, Sec. 4). The 2026 renewal packet states paper renewals must be postmarked by October 1 with no grace period and no exceptions. Continuing competence is reported every other year: the CCU reporting cycle runs October 2 through October 1 of the second year and the board assigns reporting groups, so check the board's license lookup to see whether CCUs are due in a given year. Wyoming also mandates specific subjects. Wyoming jurisprudence examination: required every renewal cycle. No more than 15 contact hours may be self-study or online and hours do not carry over between cycles.

Wyoming Physical Therapist renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleAnnual (12 months)
Renewal deadlineSame date for every licensee, 10/01 each cycle
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle30 contact hoursCounted over a two-year window, separate from the renewal cycle.
Category 1 minimum15 contact hours
Live or interactive minimum15 contact hours
Self-study or online capAt most 15 contact hours
Carryover to next cycleNo
First renewal exemptNot stated
Other accepted activitiesCategory B: self-study by correspondence, video, internet, or satellite program; Category B: in-service programs on safety or governmental regulation; Category B: teaching or lecturing principally for health care professionals; Category B: author or reviewer of a peer-reviewed publication; Category B: clinical instruction (not to exceed 5 hours); Category B: PT association or licensing board and committee work; Category B: structured interactive group study

Rules Chapter 6, Section 1 requires 30 continuing competence units (CCUs) every two years to be eligible for renewal, with no carryover to the next reporting period; the board's statement form records CCUs in an hours column, so the units are treated as contact hours. At least 15 of the 30 must be Category A: registered attendance at courses or conferences offered live, in person or by live interactive audio and video, from approved providers (APTA and its sections, credentialed residencies and fellowships, state APTA chapters, FSBPT, and providers they approve), or Wyoming Department of Health or Department of Education activities directly related to PT. Category B (self-study and the other activities listed) may make up the remaining 15, which is why max_self_study_or_online is recorded as 15. Excluded: staff meetings, lay-audience presentations, routine job teaching, rounds, breaks, and repeats of the same activity. Renewal itself is annual, so continuing_education.cycle_months (24) differs from the renewal cycle. The board's 2026 statement form says CE for that cycle must fall between October 2, 2024 and October 1, 2026. Active-duty military members are exempt from CE requirements and the renewal fee (2026 renewal application). The rules do not state a first-renewal exemption.

Required CE topics for Wyoming physical therapists

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Wyoming jurisprudence examinationRenewal requires successful completion of the jurisprudence examination every two years, on the same cycle as the 30 CCUs, with a score of at least 75 percent. The exam is submitted online through the board website during the renewal that falls in a CCU reporting year; the form states it is in addition to the 30 CCUs.Not statedEvery renewalAll licenseesRules Ch. 3, Sec. 4(c)(i)

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records for1 years
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersThe board cannot pre-approve courses. Category A credit requires a live or live-interactive course approved or sponsored by APTA, a state APTA chapter, FSBPT, or their approved providers (or Wyoming DOH/DOE PT-related activities); everything else falls to Category B. At renewal the licensee submits a signed Statement of Continuing Competency Units listing each activity, and the board may require additional evidence. The board periodically audits a sample and licensees must retain evidence for one year after the reporting period (Ch. 6, Sec. 4).

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Wyoming PT need to renew?
Wyoming physical therapists must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Wyoming Board of Physical Therapy. Rules Chapter 6, Section 1 requires 30 continuing competence units (CCUs) every two years to be eligible for renewal, with no carryover to the next reporting period; the board's statement form records CCUs in an hours column, so the units are treated as contact hours. At least 15 of the 30 must be Category A: registered attendance at courses or conferences offered live, in person or by live interactive audio and video, from approved providers (APTA and its sections, credentialed residencies and fellowships, state APTA chapters, FSBPT, and providers they approve), or Wyoming Department of Health or Department of Education activities directly related to PT. Category B (self-study and the other activities listed) may make up the remaining 15, which is why max_self_study_or_online is recorded as 15. Excluded: staff meetings, lay-audience presentations, routine job teaching, rounds, breaks, and repeats of the same activity. Renewal itself is annual, so continuing_education.cycle_months (24) differs from the renewal cycle. The board's 2026 statement form says CE for that cycle must fall between October 2, 2024 and October 1, 2026. Active-duty military members are exempt from CE requirements and the renewal fee (2026 renewal application). The rules do not state a first-renewal exemption.
How often does a Wyoming PT license need to be renewed?
Physical Therapist licenses in Wyoming renew every year. The license must be renewed annually by October 1; a license not renewed by then is expired (Rules Ch. 3, Sec. 4). The 2026 renewal packet states paper renewals must be postmarked by October 1 with no grace period and no exceptions. Continuing competence is reported every other year: the CCU reporting cycle runs October 2 through October 1 of the second year and the board assigns reporting groups, so check the board's license lookup to see whether CCUs are due in a given year.
What specific CE topics are required for Wyoming physical therapists?
Wyoming jurisprudence examination: required every renewal cycle. Citations: wyoming jurisprudence examination (Rules Ch. 3, Sec. 4(c)(i)).
Do Wyoming physical therapists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 1 years. The board cannot pre-approve courses. Category A credit requires a live or live-interactive course approved or sponsored by APTA, a state APTA chapter, FSBPT, or their approved providers (or Wyoming DOH/DOE PT-related activities); everything else falls to Category B. At renewal the licensee submits a signed Statement of Continuing Competency Units listing each activity, and the board may require additional evidence. The board periodically audits a sample and licensees must retain evidence for one year after the reporting period (Ch. 6, Sec. 4).

Sources

Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

Rule text was retrieved from the Secretary of State rules database (rules.wyo.gov), which serves chapter text through its search interface for agency 062; the cited search URL is the entry point the board's own rules page links to. Chapter 6 and Chapter 3 supplied the 30 CCUs per two years, October 2 to October 1 reporting cycle, 15 Category A minimum, no carryover, one-year retention, audits, waiver, annual October 1 renewal, and the biennial jurisprudence exam at 75 percent. The renewal form and CCU statement are Google Drive files linked from the board's forms page. The rules do not define a CCU in minutes, do not state a first-renewal exemption or proration, and do not assign an hour value to the jurisprudence exam. The Category B cap of 15 is arithmetic from the Category A minimum, not a separately stated number.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Wyoming Board of Physical Therapy before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.