Skip to main content
CredNet

Wyoming Occupational Therapist license renewal and CE requirements

Wyoming occupational therapists must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Wyoming Board of Occupational Therapy.

All Wyoming occupational therapy licenses expire annually on July 31 and are renewed every year. The Board's continuing education answer refers to a June 1 renewal deadline: a licensee who does not meet the June 1 deadline must provide verification of 24 contact hours of continuing education completed during the previous three years. Under Chapter 8, Section 2(d) of the Board's rules, quoted on the Board's renewal page, a renewal application may still be submitted up to one year after the license expires, but the licensee may not practice after the expiration date until the Board issues the renewal, and after that one year period the applicant must seek re-entry.

Renewal cycle
Annual
Same date for every licensee
CE per cycle
24
contact hours every two years
Mandated topics
0
required subjects
Last verified
September 10, 2026
12 days ago

Summary

Wyoming occupational therapists must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Wyoming Board of Occupational Therapy. All Wyoming occupational therapy licenses expire annually on July 31 and are renewed every year. The Board's continuing education answer refers to a June 1 renewal deadline: a licensee who does not meet the June 1 deadline must provide verification of 24 contact hours of continuing education completed during the previous three years. Under Chapter 8, Section 2(d) of the Board's rules, quoted on the Board's renewal page, a renewal application may still be submitted up to one year after the license expires, but the licensee may not practice after the expiration date until the Board issues the renewal, and after that one year period the applicant must seek re-entry.

Wyoming Occupational Therapist renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleAnnual (12 months)
Renewal deadlineSame date for every licensee, 07/31 each cycle
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle24 contact hoursCounted over a two-year window, separate from the renewal cycle.
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNot stated
First renewal exemptNot stated
Other accepted activitiesIn-service; Coursework; Conference or workshop attendance; Presentation

The license renews every year but continuing education is counted on a two year rhythm, so the 24 hour total is recorded against a 24 month continuing education cycle rather than the 12 month renewal cycle. The Board states that licensees renew annually and that in even numbered years only licensees selected for audit have to provide verification of completing 24 contact hours of continuing education, which must have been completed in the previous three years. A licensee who misses the June 1 deadline also has to provide that verification. One contact hour is one hour or 60 minutes; the Board states .1 AOTA CEU equals one contact hour and 1.25 NBCOT PDUs equal one contact hour. The Board does not pre-approve classes: the licensee is responsible for choosing continuing education with significant intellectual or practical content whose primary objective is to increase competence in occupational therapy practice, and the Board verifies that the objective was met. Each class submitted needs a relevance statement saying how the licensee used it to practice occupational therapy in their setting, which is not the same as the course description. The Board provides a continuing education log sheet and an example.

Required CE topics for Wyoming occupational therapists

The Wyoming Board of Occupational Therapy pages and rules we read do not mandate specific subject areas for this license type. Hours may be in any approved subject.

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records forNot stated
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersThe Board does not pre-approve continuing education classes. Responsibility sits with the licensee to pick education with significant intellectual or practical content aimed at increasing competence in occupational therapy practice, and the Board verifies that the objective was met. No approving organization is named.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Wyoming OT need to renew?
Wyoming occupational therapists must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Wyoming Board of Occupational Therapy. The license renews every year but continuing education is counted on a two year rhythm, so the 24 hour total is recorded against a 24 month continuing education cycle rather than the 12 month renewal cycle. The Board states that licensees renew annually and that in even numbered years only licensees selected for audit have to provide verification of completing 24 contact hours of continuing education, which must have been completed in the previous three years. A licensee who misses the June 1 deadline also has to provide that verification. One contact hour is one hour or 60 minutes; the Board states .1 AOTA CEU equals one contact hour and 1.25 NBCOT PDUs equal one contact hour. The Board does not pre-approve classes: the licensee is responsible for choosing continuing education with significant intellectual or practical content whose primary objective is to increase competence in occupational therapy practice, and the Board verifies that the objective was met. Each class submitted needs a relevance statement saying how the licensee used it to practice occupational therapy in their setting, which is not the same as the course description. The Board provides a continuing education log sheet and an example.
How often does a Wyoming OT license need to be renewed?
Occupational Therapist licenses in Wyoming renew every year. All Wyoming occupational therapy licenses expire annually on July 31 and are renewed every year. The Board's continuing education answer refers to a June 1 renewal deadline: a licensee who does not meet the June 1 deadline must provide verification of 24 contact hours of continuing education completed during the previous three years. Under Chapter 8, Section 2(d) of the Board's rules, quoted on the Board's renewal page, a renewal application may still be submitted up to one year after the license expires, but the licensee may not practice after the expiration date until the Board issues the renewal, and after that one year period the applicant must seek re-entry.
Does Wyoming require specific CE topics for occupational therapists?
The Wyoming Board of Occupational Therapy does not list mandated subject areas for OT renewal on the pages we verified; the 24 contact hours may be in any approved subject.
Do Wyoming occupational therapists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates and the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation. The Board does not pre-approve continuing education classes. Responsibility sits with the licensee to pick education with significant intellectual or practical content aimed at increasing competence in occupational therapy practice, and the Board verifies that the objective was met. No approving organization is named.

Sources

Last verified September 10, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

Wyoming occupational therapy has its own board, the Wyoming Board of Occupational Therapy, staffed through the Professional Licensing Boards Office in the Department of Administration and Information. It is not the physical therapy board and not a combined allied health board. None of the Wyoming physical therapy figures were reused; physical therapists count 30 contact hours while occupational therapy licensees count 24. The 24 contact hour total, the annual July 31 expiration, the even year continuing education reporting, the three year window for earning hours, the contact hour and AOTA CEU and NBCOT PDU conversions, the absence of mandated subjects and the absence of course pre-approval were all read on the Board's own FAQ page. The Board's rules themselves are published only as PDFs: the Wyoming Administrative Rules listing for agency 083 shows Chapter 8, Renewal, reference number 083.0001.8.05102023 effective 05/10/2023, with a download link that returns a PDF, and the Board's rules and statutes page links the practice act as a PDF on Google Drive. Neither was opened, so the rule text was not read and any figure that appears only in those PDFs is not recorded here: first renewal proration, any first year or partial year continuing education allowance, retention period, category caps and carryover are therefore null. NBCOT is not a renewal condition and is not a substitute for hours; the Board relies on the NBCOT examination for initial licensure and states there is no Wyoming occupational therapy examination. The Board states there are no specific areas or courses required, so mandatory_topics is empty. The Board does not accept credit cards for renewal fees.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Wyoming Board of Occupational Therapy before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.