Virginia Certified Nurse-Midwife license renewal and CE requirements
Virginia nurse-midwives must complete continuing education to renew every two years, but the Virginia Board of Nursing and Virginia Board of Medicine (jointly, through the Committee of the Joint Boards of Nursing and Medicine, Department of Health Professions) does not publish a fixed hour count.
Licensure as an advanced practice registered nurse in the certified nurse midwife category is renewed biennially at the same time the Virginia registered nurse license is renewed. A nurse-midwife practicing on a multistate registered nurse licensure privilege instead renews by the last day of the birth month, in even numbered years if born in an even numbered year and in odd numbered years if born in an odd numbered year. A renewal notice goes to the last known address of record, but failure to receive it does not relieve the licensee of the responsibility for renewing by the expiration date. At renewal the licensee attests to compliance with the continuing competency requirements of current professional certification or continuing education as prescribed in 18VAC90-30-105 and pays the renewal fee. The license lapses automatically if it is not renewed by the expiration date, and practising during a lapse is grounds for discipline.
Summary
Virginia nurse-midwives must complete continuing education to renew every two years, but the Virginia Board of Nursing and Virginia Board of Medicine (jointly, through the Committee of the Joint Boards of Nursing and Medicine, Department of Health Professions) does not publish a fixed hour count. Licensure as an advanced practice registered nurse in the certified nurse midwife category is renewed biennially at the same time the Virginia registered nurse license is renewed. A nurse-midwife practicing on a multistate registered nurse licensure privilege instead renews by the last day of the birth month, in even numbered years if born in an even numbered year and in odd numbered years if born in an odd numbered year. A renewal notice goes to the last known address of record, but failure to receive it does not relieve the licensee of the responsibility for renewing by the expiration date. At renewal the licensee attests to compliance with the continuing competency requirements of current professional certification or continuing education as prescribed in 18VAC90-30-105 and pays the renewal fee. The license lapses automatically if it is not renewed by the expiration date, and practising during a lapse is grounds for discipline. Virginia also mandates specific subjects. Continuing education in pharmacology or pharmacotherapeutics: 8 contact hours every renewal cycle (certified nurse-midwives with prescriptive authority).
Virginia Certified Nurse-Midwife renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Two-year (24 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Tied to the licensee's birth month |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | Not stated |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | Not stated |
| First renewal exempt | Not stated |
| Other accepted activities | Current professional certification in the area of specialty practice from a certifying agency designated in 18VAC90-30-90, which for a nurse-midwife is the American Midwifery Certification Board. For anyone initially licensed on or after May 8, 2002 this is not an alternative but the requirement itself; For an advanced practice registered nurse licensed before May 8, 2002, at least 40 hours of continuing education in the area of specialty practice approved by a designated certifying agency or approved by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education as Category I CME, in place of holding current certification |
Virginia sets no general continuing education hour count for a nurse-midwife. Under 18VAC90-30-105(A), an advanced practice registered nurse initially licensed on or after May 8, 2002 renews by holding current professional certification in the area of specialty practice from one of the certifying agencies designated in 18VAC90-30-90, and 18VAC90-30-90(A)(1) names the American Midwifery Certification Board first on that list. Only an advanced practice registered nurse licensed before May 8, 2002, and a clinical nurse specialist who had been registered with a retired certification, may choose instead under 18VAC90-30-105(B) to complete at least 40 hours of continuing education in the area of specialty practice approved by a designated certifying agency or as ACCME Category I CME. So for practically every nurse-midwife practising today the requirement is maintained AMCB certification and no hours. Virginia replaces rather than stacks, which is the pattern the brief flags for this state: 18VAC90-19-160(C)(2) says that registered nurses who also hold an active license as a nurse practitioner shall only meet the requirements of 18VAC90-30-105 and, for those with prescriptive authority, 18VAC90-40-55. The 30 contact hour option that a plain registered nurse can use to satisfy 18VAC90-19-160 is therefore not an additional obligation. The one figure that does stack is for prescribers: 18VAC90-40-55(B) requires an advanced practice registered nurse with prescriptive authority to obtain a total of eight hours of continuing education in pharmacology or pharmacotherapeutics each biennium in addition to the minimal requirements for compliance with subsection B of 18VAC90-30-105. Evidence of compliance and all supporting documentation is kept for four years following the renewal period, and the boards conduct periodic random audits with 30 days to produce the records. The boards may grant an extension or an exemption for all or part of the requirements for circumstances beyond the licensee's control such as temporary disability, mandatory military service or an officially declared disaster.
Required CE topics for Virginia certified nurse-midwifes
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Continuing education in pharmacology or pharmacotherapeuticsEight hours each biennium, in addition to the minimal requirements for compliance with 18VAC90-30-105(B). The rule is written for an advanced practice registered nurse with prescriptive authority without limiting it to any one category, so it reaches a nurse-midwife who prescribes. Evidence is retained four years and is subject to the same random audit with a 30 day production window. | 8 contact hours | Every renewal | Certified nurse-midwives with prescriptive authority | 18VAC90-40-55(B) |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | No, attestation only |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | 4 years |
| Board audits compliance | Yes |
| Approved providers | Professional certification must come from a certifying agency designated in 18VAC90-30-90: the American Midwifery Certification Board, the American Nurses Credentialing Center, the National Board of Certification and Recertification for Nurse Anesthetists, the Pediatric Nursing Certification Board, the National Certification Corporation, the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners, or the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses Certification Corporation. Continuing education used under 18VAC90-30-105(B) must be approved by one of those agencies or be ACCME Category I CME. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Virginia CNM need to renew?
- Virginia nurse-midwives must complete continuing education to renew every two years, but the Virginia Board of Nursing and Virginia Board of Medicine (jointly, through the Committee of the Joint Boards of Nursing and Medicine, Department of Health Professions) does not publish a fixed hour count. Virginia sets no general continuing education hour count for a nurse-midwife. Under 18VAC90-30-105(A), an advanced practice registered nurse initially licensed on or after May 8, 2002 renews by holding current professional certification in the area of specialty practice from one of the certifying agencies designated in 18VAC90-30-90, and 18VAC90-30-90(A)(1) names the American Midwifery Certification Board first on that list. Only an advanced practice registered nurse licensed before May 8, 2002, and a clinical nurse specialist who had been registered with a retired certification, may choose instead under 18VAC90-30-105(B) to complete at least 40 hours of continuing education in the area of specialty practice approved by a designated certifying agency or as ACCME Category I CME. So for practically every nurse-midwife practising today the requirement is maintained AMCB certification and no hours. Virginia replaces rather than stacks, which is the pattern the brief flags for this state: 18VAC90-19-160(C)(2) says that registered nurses who also hold an active license as a nurse practitioner shall only meet the requirements of 18VAC90-30-105 and, for those with prescriptive authority, 18VAC90-40-55. The 30 contact hour option that a plain registered nurse can use to satisfy 18VAC90-19-160 is therefore not an additional obligation. The one figure that does stack is for prescribers: 18VAC90-40-55(B) requires an advanced practice registered nurse with prescriptive authority to obtain a total of eight hours of continuing education in pharmacology or pharmacotherapeutics each biennium in addition to the minimal requirements for compliance with subsection B of 18VAC90-30-105. Evidence of compliance and all supporting documentation is kept for four years following the renewal period, and the boards conduct periodic random audits with 30 days to produce the records. The boards may grant an extension or an exemption for all or part of the requirements for circumstances beyond the licensee's control such as temporary disability, mandatory military service or an officially declared disaster.
- How often does a Virginia CNM license need to be renewed?
- Certified Nurse-Midwife licenses in Virginia renew every two years. Licensure as an advanced practice registered nurse in the certified nurse midwife category is renewed biennially at the same time the Virginia registered nurse license is renewed. A nurse-midwife practicing on a multistate registered nurse licensure privilege instead renews by the last day of the birth month, in even numbered years if born in an even numbered year and in odd numbered years if born in an odd numbered year. A renewal notice goes to the last known address of record, but failure to receive it does not relieve the licensee of the responsibility for renewing by the expiration date. At renewal the licensee attests to compliance with the continuing competency requirements of current professional certification or continuing education as prescribed in 18VAC90-30-105 and pays the renewal fee. The license lapses automatically if it is not renewed by the expiration date, and practising during a lapse is grounds for discipline.
- What specific CE topics are required for Virginia nurse-midwives?
- Continuing education in pharmacology or pharmacotherapeutics: 8 contact hours every renewal cycle (certified nurse-midwives with prescriptive authority). Citations: continuing education in pharmacology or pharmacotherapeutics (18VAC90-40-55(B)).
- Do Virginia nurse-midwives have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 4 years. Professional certification must come from a certifying agency designated in 18VAC90-30-90: the American Midwifery Certification Board, the American Nurses Credentialing Center, the National Board of Certification and Recertification for Nurse Anesthetists, the Pediatric Nursing Certification Board, the National Certification Corporation, the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners, or the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses Certification Corporation. Continuing education used under 18VAC90-30-105(B) must be approved by one of those agencies or be ACCME Category I CME.
Sources
Last verified September 10, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- 18VAC90-30-105, Continuing competency requirementsStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 10, 2026
- 18VAC90-30-100, Renewal of licensureStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 10, 2026
- 18VAC90-30-90, Certifying agenciesStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 10, 2026
- 18VAC90-30-70, Categories of licensed advanced practice registered nurses (certified nurse midwife is category 09)Statute or administrative rule, accessed September 10, 2026
- 18VAC90-30-10, Definitions (certified nurse midwife; national certifying body)Statute or administrative rule, accessed September 10, 2026
- 18VAC90-30-123, Practice of advanced practice registered nurses licensed as certified nurse midwivesStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 10, 2026
- 18VAC90-40-55, Continuing education requirements for prescriptive authorityStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 10, 2026
- 18VAC90-19-160, Continued competency requirements for renewal of an active license (registered nurses)Statute or administrative rule, accessed September 10, 2026
- Code of Virginia 54.1-3000, definitions (advanced practice registered nurse includes certified nurse midwife)Statute or administrative rule, accessed September 10, 2026
- 18VAC85-130, Regulations Governing the Practice of Licensed Midwives, Virginia Board of Medicine (the separate midwife credential)Statute or administrative rule, accessed September 10, 2026
- Virginia Board of Nursing, Department of Health ProfessionsState board page, accessed September 10, 2026
Virginia has a distinct nurse-midwife credential and it follows the joint board pattern: 18VAC90-30-10 defines a certified nurse midwife as an advanced practice registered nurse who is certified in the specialty of nurse midwifery and who is jointly licensed by the Boards of Medicine and Nursing, and the Committee of the Joint Boards of Nursing and Medicine administers the chapter. The rule was established as governing the nurse-midwife rather than another kind of midwife from 18VAC90-30-70(A)(6), which lists certified nurse midwife as category 09 of licensed advanced practice registered nurses, and from 18VAC90-30-123, which is written for an advanced practice registered nurse licensed in the category of certified nurse midwife and requires practice in accordance with the American College of Nurse-Midwives Standards for the Practice of Midwifery. Virginia separately licenses midwives who are not nurses through the Board of Medicine under 18VAC85-130, Regulations Governing the Practice of Licensed Midwives, with its own biennial renewal; none of that chapter is recorded here. AMCB certification is not merely required, it is the substance of the continuing competency requirement for anyone initially licensed on or after May 8, 2002, and 18VAC90-30-90(A)(1) names the American Midwifery Certification Board explicitly. Per the brief's rule, the AMCB Certificate Maintenance Program totals are not recorded in hours_per_cycle, which is left null because Virginia states no hour count for this route. On the layering question the brief flagged: Virginia does invert the usual pattern, and 18VAC90-19-160(C)(2) is the operative sentence. One wrinkle is worth recording. That sentence reads, verbatim, that registered nurses who also hold an active license as a nurse practitioner shall only meet the requirements of 18VAC90-30-105 and, for those with prescriptive authority, 18VAC90-40-55. Since the 2021 renaming, Code of Virginia 54.1-3000 treats nurse practitioner as one of four advanced practice registered nurse categories alongside certified nurse midwife rather than as an umbrella term, so read literally the carve-out names a category the nurse-midwife is not in, even though it points at the advanced practice chapter that plainly governs the nurse-midwife. The practical effect is nil either way, which is why this is a note rather than an advisory or a conflict: 18VAC90-19-160(A)(1) lets any registered nurse satisfy the registered nurse requirement with current specialty certification by a national certifying organization, so a nurse-midwife holding the AMCB certification that 18VAC90-30-105 already demands satisfies the registered nurse rule at the same moment under either reading. Compared with the existing Virginia records: this one agrees with va-np and va-crna on the biennial birth month cycle and the joint boards, and agrees with va-crna that the eight pharmacology hours in 18VAC90-40-55 are scoped to prescriptive authority rather than to the role. Where va-crna leaves it unsettled whether that rule reaches a nurse anesthetist, there is no comparable doubt for a nurse-midwife, because 18VAC90-40 governs prescriptive authority for advanced practice registered nurses generally and Virginia nurse-midwives routinely hold it. va-np records eight contact hours as the cycle total; this record leaves hours_per_cycle null because the eight hours are conditional on prescriptive authority and the unconditional requirement is certification with no hour count.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Virginia Board of Nursing and Virginia Board of Medicine (jointly, through the Committee of the Joint Boards of Nursing and Medicine, Department of Health Professions) before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.