Virginia Occupational Therapy Assistant license renewal and CE requirements
Virginia occupational therapy assistants must complete 10 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Virginia Board of Medicine.
An occupational therapy assistant renews biennially during the licensee's birth month in each even-numbered year, by paying the renewal fee and attesting to completion of the continued competency requirements. 18VAC85-80-70(A) names occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants in the same sentence, so the schedule is identical for both. A license not renewed by the first day of the month after the month in which renewal was due carries an additional late fee. Renewal is done online through the Department of Health Professions.
Summary
Virginia occupational therapy assistants must complete 10 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Virginia Board of Medicine. An occupational therapy assistant renews biennially during the licensee's birth month in each even-numbered year, by paying the renewal fee and attesting to completion of the continued competency requirements. 18VAC85-80-70(A) names occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants in the same sentence, so the schedule is identical for both. A license not renewed by the first day of the month after the month in which renewal was due carries an additional late fee. Renewal is done online through the Department of Health Professions. The first renewal is exempt.
Virginia Occupational Therapy Assistant renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Two-year (24 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Tied to the licensee's birth month |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 10 contact hours |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | Not stated |
| First renewal exempt | Yes |
| Other accepted activities | Delivering occupational therapy services without compensation to low-income individuals through a local health department or a free clinic (1 hour of credit per 3 hours of volunteer service, up to 2 hours); Supervision or experiences that promote the education of students (1 hour of credit per 8 hours of supervision, up to 2 hours) |
18VAC85-80-71 requires at least 10 contact hours of continuing learning activities per biennial renewal from a licensee, and 18VAC85-80-70(A) applies that renewal to occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants alike, so the assistant total is the same 10 contact hours and not a reduced figure. The activity must be an organized program of study, classroom experience or similar educational experience related to the licensee's current or anticipated roles and responsibilities in occupational therapy, and must be approved or provided by the Virginia Occupational Therapy Association, the American Occupational Therapy Association, NBCOT, a local, state or federal government agency, a regionally accredited college or university, a health care organization accredited by a national accrediting organization with CMS deeming authority, or an AMA Category 1 CME program. A licensee is exempt from the requirement for the first biennial renewal after initial Virginia licensure. The board may extend the deadline up to one year for good cause on a written request made before the renewal date, and may exempt all or part of the requirement for circumstances beyond the licensee's control such as temporary disability, mandatory military service or an officially declared disaster. Being supervised by an occupational therapist is a practice requirement for an assistant and is not continuing education, but supervising students can earn up to 2 of the 10 hours.
Required CE topics for Virginia occupational therapy assistants
The Virginia Board of Medicine pages and rules we read do not mandate specific subject areas for this license type. Hours may be in any approved subject.
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | No, attestation only |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | 6 years |
| Board audits compliance | Not stated |
| Approved providers | Activities must be approved or provided by one of seven named sources or any of its components: the Virginia Occupational Therapy Association, the American Occupational Therapy Association, the National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy, a local, state or federal government agency, a regionally accredited college or university, a health care organization accredited by a national accrediting organization granted authority by CMS to ensure compliance with Medicare conditions of participation, or an American Medical Association Category 1 Continuing Medical Education program. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Virginia OTA need to renew?
- Virginia occupational therapy assistants must complete 10 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Virginia Board of Medicine. 18VAC85-80-71 requires at least 10 contact hours of continuing learning activities per biennial renewal from a licensee, and 18VAC85-80-70(A) applies that renewal to occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants alike, so the assistant total is the same 10 contact hours and not a reduced figure. The activity must be an organized program of study, classroom experience or similar educational experience related to the licensee's current or anticipated roles and responsibilities in occupational therapy, and must be approved or provided by the Virginia Occupational Therapy Association, the American Occupational Therapy Association, NBCOT, a local, state or federal government agency, a regionally accredited college or university, a health care organization accredited by a national accrediting organization with CMS deeming authority, or an AMA Category 1 CME program. A licensee is exempt from the requirement for the first biennial renewal after initial Virginia licensure. The board may extend the deadline up to one year for good cause on a written request made before the renewal date, and may exempt all or part of the requirement for circumstances beyond the licensee's control such as temporary disability, mandatory military service or an officially declared disaster. Being supervised by an occupational therapist is a practice requirement for an assistant and is not continuing education, but supervising students can earn up to 2 of the 10 hours.
- How often does a Virginia OTA license need to be renewed?
- Occupational Therapy Assistant licenses in Virginia renew every two years. An occupational therapy assistant renews biennially during the licensee's birth month in each even-numbered year, by paying the renewal fee and attesting to completion of the continued competency requirements. 18VAC85-80-70(A) names occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants in the same sentence, so the schedule is identical for both. A license not renewed by the first day of the month after the month in which renewal was due carries an additional late fee. Renewal is done online through the Department of Health Professions.
- Does Virginia require specific CE topics for occupational therapy assistants?
- The Virginia Board of Medicine does not list mandated subject areas for OTA renewal on the pages we verified; the 10 contact hours may be in any approved subject.
- Do Virginia occupational therapy assistants have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates and records must be kept for 6 years. Activities must be approved or provided by one of seven named sources or any of its components: the Virginia Occupational Therapy Association, the American Occupational Therapy Association, the National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy, a local, state or federal government agency, a regionally accredited college or university, a health care organization accredited by a national accrediting organization granted authority by CMS to ensure compliance with Medicare conditions of participation, or an American Medical Association Category 1 Continuing Medical Education program.
- Is the first Virginia OTA renewal exempt from CE?
- Yes. Virginia does not require continuing education for a OTA's first renewal.
Sources
Last verified September 9, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- 18VAC85-80-71, Continued competency requirements for renewal of an active license, Virginia Administrative CodeStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 9, 2026
- 18VAC85-80-70, Biennial renewal of licensure, Virginia Administrative CodeStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 9, 2026
- Continuing Education: Occupational Therapy, Virginia Board of MedicineState board page, accessed September 9, 2026
- Virginia Board of Medicine, Department of Health ProfessionsState board page, accessed September 9, 2026
The assistant figures were read as assistant figures: 18VAC85-80-70(A) states that an occupational therapist or an occupational therapy assistant shall renew biennially during the birth month in each even-numbered year, and 18VAC85-80-71 sets one 10 contact hour requirement for a licensee under that chapter, which covers both credentials. The regulator is worth noting: occupational therapy in Virginia sits under the Virginia Board of Medicine, alongside behavior analysis, chiropractic, genetic counseling, medicine, osteopathic medicine, podiatry, polysomnographic technology, radiologic technology and respiratory therapy, and the rules are Chapter 80 of Board of Medicine agency 85. It is not the Virginia Board of Physical Therapy, which is a separate board whose physical therapist assistants need 30 contact hours, so none of those figures were reused: the occupational therapy assistant figure is 10 contact hours. Hours, cycle, the first renewal exemption, the six year retention period, the volunteer and student supervision credits and the approved source list were read in 18VAC85-80-70 and 18VAC85-80-71 on the General Assembly's official administrative code site, and the board reproduces 18VAC85-80-71 verbatim on its own continuing education page. The rule sets no mandated subject areas, no category minimum, no self-study cap and no carryover, and it does not describe an audit program, so those fields are null or empty. NBCOT is listed as one of the seven organizations that may approve or provide qualifying activities; current NBCOT certification is not a renewal condition and does not substitute for hours.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Virginia Board of Medicine before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.