Skip to main content
CredNet

Virginia Physical Therapist license renewal and CE requirements

Virginia physical therapists must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Virginia Board of Physical Therapy.

A physical therapist renews the license biennially by December 31 in each even-numbered year (18VAC112-20-130). A license not renewed by the first day of the following month incurs a late fee. Renewal also requires at least 320 hours of active practice in the preceding four years and compliance with the continued competency requirements of 18VAC112-20-131.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Same date for every licensee
CE per cycle
30
contact hours
Mandated topics
0
required subjects
Last verified
September 7, 2026
15 days ago

Summary

Virginia physical therapists must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Virginia Board of Physical Therapy. A physical therapist renews the license biennially by December 31 in each even-numbered year (18VAC112-20-130). A license not renewed by the first day of the following month incurs a late fee. Renewal also requires at least 320 hours of active practice in the preceding four years and compliance with the continued competency requirements of 18VAC112-20-131. The first renewal is exempt.

Virginia Physical Therapist renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineSame date for every licensee, 12/31 each cycle
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle30 contact hours
Category 1 minimum20 contact hours
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNot stated
First renewal exemptYes
Other accepted activitiesCollege coursework (one college credit = 15 Type 1 contact hours); Consultation with colleagues (Type 2); Independent study (Type 2); Research or writing on subjects related to practice (Type 2); Volunteer service (Type 2); Attendance at board meetings (Type 2); Instructional delivery (Type 2); Clinical supervision of students (40 hours of supervision = 1 Type 2 contact hour)

18VAC112-20-131 requires at least 30 contact hours of continuing learning activities within the two years immediately preceding renewal. A minimum of 20 hours for physical therapists must be Type 1: an organized program of study, classroom experience, or similar educational experience directly related to the clinical practice of physical therapy and approved or provided by an organization approved by the board. No more than 10 hours may be Type 2 activities (consultation with colleagues, independent study, research or writing, volunteer service, board meetings, instructional delivery, student clinical supervision). Independent study falls under the 10-hour Type 2 cap; the rule states no separate cap on online Type 1 courses, so max_self_study_or_online is null. A licensee is exempt from the continued competency requirements for the first biennial renewal following initial licensure by examination in Virginia. The board may grant an extension of up to one year or an exemption for circumstances beyond the licensee's control on written request before the renewal date. Carryover is not addressed. In choosing activities licensees are to consider ethical practice, standard of care, patient safety, new medical technology, communication with patients, and the changing health care system, but no specific subject is mandated.

Required CE topics for Virginia physical therapists

The Virginia Board of Physical Therapy pages and rules we read do not mandate specific subject areas for this license type. Hours may be in any approved subject.

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records for4 years
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersType 1 hours must be approved or provided by a board-approved organization (the board's CE page lists the APTA, the Virginia Physical Therapy Association, regionally accredited colleges and universities, and other state physical therapy licensing boards, with the full list in the board's Type 1 provider policy); the Board does not pre-approve individual courses. Licensees document hours on the board's Continued Competency Activity and Assessment Form and keep it with supporting documentation for four years following renewal. Licensees selected for random audit must provide the documentation within 30 days of notification (18VAC112-20-131).

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Virginia PT need to renew?
Virginia physical therapists must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Virginia Board of Physical Therapy. 18VAC112-20-131 requires at least 30 contact hours of continuing learning activities within the two years immediately preceding renewal. A minimum of 20 hours for physical therapists must be Type 1: an organized program of study, classroom experience, or similar educational experience directly related to the clinical practice of physical therapy and approved or provided by an organization approved by the board. No more than 10 hours may be Type 2 activities (consultation with colleagues, independent study, research or writing, volunteer service, board meetings, instructional delivery, student clinical supervision). Independent study falls under the 10-hour Type 2 cap; the rule states no separate cap on online Type 1 courses, so max_self_study_or_online is null. A licensee is exempt from the continued competency requirements for the first biennial renewal following initial licensure by examination in Virginia. The board may grant an extension of up to one year or an exemption for circumstances beyond the licensee's control on written request before the renewal date. Carryover is not addressed. In choosing activities licensees are to consider ethical practice, standard of care, patient safety, new medical technology, communication with patients, and the changing health care system, but no specific subject is mandated.
How often does a Virginia PT license need to be renewed?
Physical Therapist licenses in Virginia renew every two years. A physical therapist renews the license biennially by December 31 in each even-numbered year (18VAC112-20-130). A license not renewed by the first day of the following month incurs a late fee. Renewal also requires at least 320 hours of active practice in the preceding four years and compliance with the continued competency requirements of 18VAC112-20-131.
Does Virginia require specific CE topics for physical therapists?
The Virginia Board of Physical Therapy does not list mandated subject areas for PT renewal on the pages we verified; the 30 contact hours may be in any approved subject.
Do Virginia physical therapists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 4 years. Type 1 hours must be approved or provided by a board-approved organization (the board's CE page lists the APTA, the Virginia Physical Therapy Association, regionally accredited colleges and universities, and other state physical therapy licensing boards, with the full list in the board's Type 1 provider policy); the Board does not pre-approve individual courses. Licensees document hours on the board's Continued Competency Activity and Assessment Form and keep it with supporting documentation for four years following renewal. Licensees selected for random audit must provide the documentation within 30 days of notification (18VAC112-20-131).
Is the first Virginia PT renewal exempt from CE?
Yes. Virginia does not require continuing education for a PT's first renewal.

Sources

Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

Cycle and December 31 even-year deadline read from 18VAC112-20-130; hours, Type 1 minimum, Type 2 cap, first-renewal exemption, four-year retention, and 30-day audit response read from 18VAC112-20-131 on the Virginia Law Library site and matched to the board's CE page and FAQ. Virginia mandates no specific CE subject for PTs; the rule only lists considerations. Not stated: carryover, live or interactive minimum, proration of the first renewal, and the audit sample size. The board's CE page also notes the 320-hour active practice requirement over four years, which is a renewal condition separate from CE.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Virginia Board of Physical Therapy before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.